[SOLVED] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Joss
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:27 pm
Contact:

[SOLVED] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Joss » Thu Mar 30, 2017 1:09 pm

I updated my iphone last night to iOS 10.3

Now I can't establish a connection. When I open iC Pro, it shows my computer, but clicking on it doesn't work.

If I look at the iC Pro window in Devices on my windows machine, it briefly shows connected to my iPhone and then the connection drops.

I did get it to connect at one point by restarting my iPhone, but that hasn't worked again.

Any thoughts? This has happened right at the beginning of a session, of course.
Last edited by Joss on Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro, 14-core i9, 64gb Ram, Focusrite Clarett 8Pre, Windows 10, SSDs everywhere, Samsung CF701 34 monitor - well, you got to spoil yourself!

Joss
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Joss » Thu Mar 30, 2017 2:32 pm

I have tried uninstalling the app and reinstalling it. It worked, briefly, but then dropped the connection. It is still listing my PC, but when I click on it, the rotating icon comes up for a few seconds, then just returns to the logon screen.
Cubase Pro, 14-core i9, 64gb Ram, Focusrite Clarett 8Pre, Windows 10, SSDs everywhere, Samsung CF701 34 monitor - well, you got to spoil yourself!

VVolverine
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by VVolverine » Sat Apr 01, 2017 6:44 pm

Hi,
same issue here. My old iPad is still working, but my iPhone not. Even a reinstall didn"t help. I think maybe it has something to do with the new filesystem used in iOS 10.3.

Regards,
VVolverine

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1322
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by fenderchris » Sat Apr 01, 2017 11:53 pm

Joss wrote:I have tried uninstalling the app and reinstalling it. It worked, briefly, but then dropped the connection. It is still listing my PC, but when I click on it, the rotating icon comes up for a few seconds, then just returns to the logon screen.
Same here. The iphone connection is briefly listed in Device Setup/Steinberg SKI Remote/Devices but disappears after a few seconds.

So now, in addition to the VCA screw-up, IcPro no longer functions at all with current iPhones!

Wonderful.

Steinberg?

@Joss: I suggest you edit the title of your first post to include [BUG] at the beginning.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram.
Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-7.1.40, Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10 Trial, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-5, Halion Sonic 2, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

Joss
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Joss » Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:42 am

Added [bug] - thanks, Chris.

I probably should add to clarify for any Steinbergy-shaped people, it was working fine before the iOS update and I have had no other issues with my iPhone.
Cubase Pro, 14-core i9, 64gb Ram, Focusrite Clarett 8Pre, Windows 10, SSDs everywhere, Samsung CF701 34 monitor - well, you got to spoil yourself!

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1322
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by fenderchris » Mon Apr 03, 2017 12:16 pm

Joss wrote:Added [bug] - thanks, Chris.

I probably should add to clarify for any Steinbergy-shaped people, it was working fine before the iOS update and I have had no other issues with my iPhone.
It's fair to say that this bug is not of Steinberg's making, but nevertheless it now needs to be fixed.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.

PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram.
Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).

Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.

Software: Nuendo-7.1.40, Nuendo-8.1.10, Nuendo-10 Trial, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-5, Halion Sonic 2, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

Joss
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Joss » Mon Apr 03, 2017 2:41 pm

Good point! :)
Cubase Pro, 14-core i9, 64gb Ram, Focusrite Clarett 8Pre, Windows 10, SSDs everywhere, Samsung CF701 34 monitor - well, you got to spoil yourself!

User avatar
bonso
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by bonso » Tue Apr 04, 2017 1:56 am

Hopefully this will get fixed with high priority!

Anyone know if it is working on all models of iPad?
I think that's means iPad 4 or higher for iOS 10.
Cubase Elements 7.0.8
i7 2600 8GB
Windows 7 x64
RME Multiface
Midex 8

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by mkok » Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:27 pm

I've just bought the new ipad and am struggling to get it to work. It will come up now and again and works but then won't connect next time although my pc shows up. Another problem is when it does come up the sliders don't work. Other commands do and the meters are responding but moving the sliders does nothing. I also have an iPhone 7 on the latest IOS and this works fine. Do we know if this is being looked at by Steinberg or has anyone raised an official support request?
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

User avatar
bonso
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by bonso » Tue Apr 04, 2017 8:12 pm

I haven't raised an official support request as I'm still running iOS9 at present.
I hope someone at Steinberg can let us know that a fix will be available soon though, I'd like to update to the new iOS.
Cubase Elements 7.0.8
i7 2600 8GB
Windows 7 x64
RME Multiface
Midex 8

User avatar
bonso
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by bonso » Thu Apr 06, 2017 12:59 am

Not working on iPhone 5 on latest iOS 10 version. Same problem as decribed here.
fenderchris wrote:Same here. The iphone connection is briefly listed in Device Setup/Steinberg SKI Remote/Devices but disappears after a few seconds.
Cubase Elements 7.0.8
i7 2600 8GB
Windows 7 x64
RME Multiface
Midex 8

User avatar
bonso
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by bonso » Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:17 am

Opened a support request about the issues with a link to this thread.
Hopefully this will be looked into soon!
Cubase Elements 7.0.8
i7 2600 8GB
Windows 7 x64
RME Multiface
Midex 8

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by mkok » Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:27 pm

That's good. I have opened one up too so lets see how long it takes to get back to us
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

Dr. Midi
Member
Posts: 302
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 7:02 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Dr. Midi » Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:22 pm

The same here..... :shock:

I spent hours to repair it without effort.
But I tried to connect IC-Pro via Connectify Hotspot.... and it runs.

Just a workaround, not a solution...

Best regards
Windows 10 Home, Intel Core i7-3770, 16 GB RAM, Samsung 840 evo
Cubase 10.0.30 - 64 bit,
Cubase Ic pro
Yamaha N12, Steinberg MR 816x und MR 816csx (Daisy-Chain)
Icon QCon Pro + EX, Novation Zero SL MKII, Steinberg cc121, NI Komplete Kontrol

nikbeat
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by nikbeat » Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:07 pm

Same problem here it can see the Computer and briefly conncects then disconnects.
Anyone tried to roll back the ios to the previous one? Looks pretty risky but possible

xstudio
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by xstudio » Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:21 pm

Same problem here.

I don't think that apple makes it particularly easy to roll back iOS and I would caution that "restore" means restore to factory setting and will involve extra work.

Joss
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Joss » Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:51 am

Not a great idea as this iOS update included a security fix for a javascript security exploit that was opening people up to hoax ransomware demands.
Cubase Pro, 14-core i9, 64gb Ram, Focusrite Clarett 8Pre, Windows 10, SSDs everywhere, Samsung CF701 34 monitor - well, you got to spoil yourself!

Joss
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Joss » Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:08 pm

Just heard back from Support. Unfortunately, they don't support that App through their department, but they said they will send a note to the app team about the issue.

I have thanked them and asked them to ask the app team to post on here so we know what is going on.
Cubase Pro, 14-core i9, 64gb Ram, Focusrite Clarett 8Pre, Windows 10, SSDs everywhere, Samsung CF701 34 monitor - well, you got to spoil yourself!

User avatar
mtrigoboff
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 3:26 am
Location: Tigard, Oregon (near Portland)
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by mtrigoboff » Thu Apr 13, 2017 3:07 am

I submitted a tech support request to Steinberg about this problem earlier this week when it started happening to me. The tech support guy sent me to this forum, where I noticed that many people had been complaining about this problem but there was no response from the app developers. So I sent the following back to the Steinberg tech support guy.

Maybe if we all do something like this, we'll manage to light a fire under Steinberg and get something to happen.


It's starting to look to me like Steinberg, after selling this app to me, is in the process of abandoning it and shunting its customers off to a forum that no one from the company pays attention to where we can uselessly complain to each other about how Cubase iC Pro doesn't work anymore.

This is not the kind of treatment that I expect from Steinberg. I have devoted years to learning to use Cubase (currently updated to 9 Pro). I did this in part because my image of Steinberg was that I could rely on them to support their products. I'm not seeing anything like that in this current situation, and I'm not happy about it.

andydnr
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by andydnr » Thu Apr 13, 2017 4:23 pm

mtrigoboff wrote: I submitted a tech support request to Steinberg about this problem earlier this week when it started happening to me. The tech support guy sent me to this forum, where I noticed that many people had been complaining about this problem but there was no response from the app developers. So I sent the following back to the Steinberg tech support guy.

Maybe if we all do something like this, we'll manage to light a fire under Steinberg and get something to happen.


It's starting to look to me like Steinberg, after selling this app to me, is in the process of abandoning it and shunting its customers off to a forum that no one from the company pays attention to where we can uselessly complain to each other about how Cubase iC Pro doesn't work anymore.

This is not the kind of treatment that I expect from Steinberg. I have devoted years to learning to use Cubase (currently updated to 9 Pro). I did this in part because my image of Steinberg was that I could rely on them to support their products. I'm not seeing anything like that in this current situation, and I'm not happy about it.
Part of the blame is on Apple for breaking stuff with another update. VSL support for the Audiobox 1818 had to be abandoned by Presonus because of changes they made to OS X. However, Steinberg does:

1) Need to support this product or refund the cost since it is a paid for product
2) Stop pointing fingers at other parts of your company. I understand it may be a different group from the primary Cubase developers but it's still one company and it's unprofessional to show internal finger pointing to customers. To me, Cubase iC Pro is a part of Cubase and I don't care who in Steinberg fixes it.

User avatar
mtrigoboff
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 3:26 am
Location: Tigard, Oregon (near Portland)
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10

Post by mtrigoboff » Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:36 pm

I heard back from Steinberg tech support:
I have forwarded the requests to Steinberg Germany. They have been very busy with the recent Musik Messe show, which may be a partial reason for the delay in response. I have subscribed to the posts also.
I suggest that everyone who has this problem should submit a Steinberg tech support request. The more of us they hear from, the more likely they are to do something.

User avatar
mtrigoboff
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 3:26 am
Location: Tigard, Oregon (near Portland)
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by mtrigoboff » Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:00 am

I just heard back from a Steinberg support tech, who said:
I did get an update that there is a known issue currently with iOS 10.3.1 with iC Pro. We do expect that with Germany bank holidays next week, it may take longer than usual to get further information. If I receive further updates from the Developers, I will let you know (assuming they have not already shared that information on the posts I sent). Thank you

andydnr
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by andydnr » Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:03 am

And just to confirm, I got around to trying this on an old iPad 2 which is only on iOS 9.3.5 and iC Pro works fine, slow, but functional.

User avatar
Konrath
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Konrath » Fri Apr 14, 2017 10:53 am

Those apple villains messed up wifi totally.
Even Lemur and Touchosc do not work.
"I don't understand why people are afraid of new ideas. I'm afraid of the old ones." - John Cage

Cubase 10.0.30 / Spectralayers 6.0.10 / Sound Forge Pro 11 / Cubase iC Pro / Win 10 1903 64bit / Tascam us20x20/ Cakewalk 3UMG / Akai MPK88 / Doepfer R2M

Joss
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [bug] Connection probs after IOS 10.3

Post by Joss » Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:43 pm

If this is an iOS bug, then Steinberg may not be able to get around it. In that case, hopefully all app creators who are affected nag Apple to sort it.
Cubase Pro, 14-core i9, 64gb Ram, Focusrite Clarett 8Pre, Windows 10, SSDs everywhere, Samsung CF701 34 monitor - well, you got to spoil yourself!

Locked

Return to “Cubase iC Pro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest