Unable to use the Padshop Pro on retina display.

All topics on Padshop and Padshop Pro
Post Reply
jendakub
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:51 pm
Contact:

Unable to use the Padshop Pro on retina display.

Post by jendakub »

Hello,

I have recently purchased the Padshop Pro VST plugin, however I cannot use it on Retina display Macbook Pro. The UI of Padshop Pro display correctly however somehow the controls are shifted in the view and do not respond. There are many plugins that work normally, however it is impossible to control the UI of Padshop Pro on retina display.

Thanks.

User avatar
Joshua Matlock
Member
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:33 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Unable to use the Padshop Pro on retina display.

Post by Joshua Matlock »

As part of the new MacBook Pro product range, Apple also released a MacBook Pro with a Retina display which offers a much higher display resolution (2880x1800) than previously offered. Any applications that are supposed to support the native resolution of the new displays need to be adapted accordingly. Our programs are currently not able to support the resolution but this is considered for upcoming releases.

If you intend to use e.g. Cubase 6/Cubase 7 on a Retina display MacBook Pro, it can happen that the graphical user interface (GUI) cannot be operated properly and it might not even be possible to select certain elements at all.

* Quit the application if it is currently open
* In the Finder, choose "Applications" from the "Go menu"
* In the applications folder, select the application's icon and press Command+I to open the information window
* Check "Open in Low Resolution" to enable the low resolution mode.
* Close the window and double click the application to reopen it.

Now, it should be possible to operate the application properly again.

Hope this helps.
Joshua Matlock
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

jendakub
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to use the Padshop Pro on retina display.

Post by jendakub »

Hello,

Thanks for reply, I use Pad Shop pro in Logic Pro X. It is currently fine, almost all AU plugins do not have a double resolution UI. However AU plugins run fine on retina display mac book pro. Even the native Logic Pro X plugins such ES2 do not offer double resolution, however the plugin UI in all my third party plugins are operable.

It is fine Padshop Pro not having double resolution UI, the problem is that the plugin is not operable, while all other third party AU plugins do not present this issue.

It would be great at least release an update to fix this problem, not having double resolution is fine if the UI is operable.

Thanks again.

TabSel
Member
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to use the Padshop Pro on retina display.

Post by TabSel »

Any news on this issue?

It seems the AU versions don't get installed by installing Cuabse 7.5? I only had the VST3 versions of Paqdshop/Retrologue in Cubase 7.5, but no AU versions in Live, Reaper etc...

Just this morning I installed the Updates, which install the Mac OS X AU versions of Padshop and Retrologue.

However, I can NOT operate neither Retrologue nor Padshop on my MacBook Pro Retina. ALL OTHER AU's dont have this issue.

Any news on a fix for Padshop/Retrologue?

TabSel
Member
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to use the Padshop Pro on retina display.

Post by TabSel »

Any feedback?

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Unable to use the Padshop Pro on retina display.

Post by Elektrobolt »

TabSel wrote:ALL OTHER AU's dont have this issue.
How about ALL OTHER VST's?
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

TabSel
Member
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to use the Padshop Pro on retina display.

Post by TabSel »

I'm not aware of any vst not working properly.

Post Reply

Return to “Padshop and Padshop Pro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest