How to use Retrologue and Padshop in other trackers?

All topics on Padshop and Padshop Pro
Post Reply
onesnzeros
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:43 am
Contact:

How to use Retrologue and Padshop in other trackers?

Post by onesnzeros »

I'm wondering if it is possible? ...I own Cubase 6.5
I'd like to be able to include Retrologue and Padshop in my live sets.
Do I need to buy seperate VSTis? I can find no 'external VSTi upgrade' option anywhere...
I also updated both synths to v1.1, but I could not see any option to place a VSTi anywhere.

Thank you for your help!

Sorry to post here, but I was unable to post in the Retrologue or Padshop forums.
Live Electronic Ambient Dub Reggae
Psychedelic Dub and more...

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 24181
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: How to use Retrologue and Padshop in other trackers?

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hello,

I found Padshop and Retrologue in the Studio One 2, as VST3. So, it should works. There is no AU version form Mac.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 2023
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: How to use Retrologue and Padshop in other trackers?

Post by Puma0382 »

Martin.Jirsak wrote:Hello,

I found Padshop and Retrologue in the Studio One 2, as VST3. So, it should works. There is no AU version form Mac.
Yes there is.
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20, WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 24181
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: How to use Retrologue and Padshop in other trackers?

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Puma0382 wrote:
Martin.Jirsak wrote:Hello,

I found Padshop and Retrologue in the Studio One 2, as VST3. So, it should works. There is no AU version form Mac.
Yes there is.
Really? Although, you installed it with Cubase only? Not separately buying and installation? I haven't got it in my Components folder. And I'm sure, I always install both VST and AU versions of all plug-ins.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Rosengaertner
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:58 am
Contact:

Re: How to use Retrologue and Padshop in other trackers?

Post by Rosengaertner »

After installing the 1.1 update, I found Retrologue.dll and Padshop.dll in the folder C:\Program Files\Steinberg\Cubase\VSTPlugin\Synth (or something like that... can't check right now). I assume that these are the VST 2.x versions of the instruments.
According to the website there is an AU version, but I know nothing about that.
Also, remember to bring your eLicenser to your live sets :-P

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: How to use Retrologue and Padshop in other trackers?

Post by Elektrobolt »

On Windows 7 (x64), have a look in "C:\Program Files\Common Files\VST3\Steinberg".
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

onesnzeros
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to use Retrologue and Padshop in other trackers?

Post by onesnzeros »

Yes thanks for the reply peoples...
I discovered the VST 3 files, but unfortunately Ableton Live only uses VST 2 plugs.

Is there any way for Cubase 6.5 owners to obtain a VST 2 version of Padshop and/or Retrologue?

Cheers
Live Electronic Ambient Dub Reggae
Psychedelic Dub and more...

onesnzeros
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to use Retrologue and Padshop in other trackers?

Post by onesnzeros »

P.S. Thank you to the moderator who enabled my access to the VST forum :)
Live Electronic Ambient Dub Reggae
Psychedelic Dub and more...

Rosengaertner
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:58 am
Contact:

Re: How to use Retrologue and Padshop in other trackers?

Post by Rosengaertner »

Thanks Elekrobolt, I guess I'm still new here.

onesnzeros: I just checked again, the files I found are located in C:\Program Files\Steinberg\VSTPlugins\Padshop and C:\Program Files\Steinberg\VSTPlugins\Retrologue (most other plugins are in C:\Program Files\Steinberg\Cubase 6\VSTPlugins).

onesnzeros
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to use Retrologue and Padshop in other trackers?

Post by onesnzeros »

Unfortunately there is no "C:\Program Files\Steinberg\VSTPlugins\" folder on my computer. :cry:

[EDIT] I have also just discovered that I still have the 32bit Cubase 6.0.6 installed on my machine also, and it opens. I didn't realise that v6.5 could live beside v6... strange
Live Electronic Ambient Dub Reggae
Psychedelic Dub and more...

onesnzeros
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to use Retrologue and Padshop in other trackers?

Post by onesnzeros »

i reinstalled cubase, and the 2 vst2 dll files were by default placed into my 32bit plugins directory, didn't think to look there :oops:
Live Electronic Ambient Dub Reggae
Psychedelic Dub and more...

Post Reply

Return to “Padshop and Padshop Pro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest