The Root key return to C4 when you save a preset

All topics on Padshop and Padshop Pro
Post Reply
eugey97
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 2:23 pm
Contact:

The Root key return to C4 when you save a preset

Post by eugey97 »

Image
When I save the a preset, the root key returns to default in C4, why? I need to select the right one for the correct tone, but is impossible...
am I the only one with this problem? :cry:

smiler
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 11:45 am
Contact:

Re: The Root key return to C4 when you save a preset

Post by smiler »

Hi. I have very similar problem. When I open a preset root key is D2 for instance but when I hit play it goes back to C3. Did you find any solution yet ?

operator_tank
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 1:51 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: The Root key return to C4 when you save a preset

Post by operator_tank »

Here on macOS 10.14 with Cubase Pro 10.0.10 it resets to C3. I thought it might just reset to the nearest C, but here it resets to C3. Highly annoying. Makes Padshop Pro unusable right now. :(

Update:
• trying to go back to Cubase 9.5.41 makes unfortunately no difference. The version of PadShop installed by Cubase 10 must be the culprit here. I had only Cubase 9.5.41 on this rig without this issue.

Update 2:
• testing this in a completely empty new project, it also resets to C4 on my Mac here.
Last edited by operator_tank on Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
macOS 10.15.6 Catalina, Cubase Pro 10.5.20

sd1989
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: The Root key return to C4 when you save a preset

Post by sd1989 »

it happens for me also

i had to uninstall the new padshop and run 8.5 pro installer for the old version where this problem doesn't exist
windows 8.1, amd fx 6300 3.5ghz , amd radeon 7850 2gb gfx card, GA-78LMT-USB3 rev 6.0 , 16 gb ram , 7200 rpm hd , behringer umc202hd, cubase 8.5 pro , absolute 4

User avatar
Jan Riesener
Moderator
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 3:50 pm
Contact:

Re: The Root key return to C4 when you save a preset

Post by Jan Riesener »

Hi,

The issue is forwared to our developers, so they will take care. The Bug ID is: HALLY-7722

Cheers,

Jan
Jan Riesener, Steinberg Senior Tech Support
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

OnlineMusicFoundry
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:46 am
Contact:

Re: The Root key return to C4 when you save a preset

Post by OnlineMusicFoundry »

I have the same Cubase Pro 10 root note changing back to c4 bug with Padshop Pro.
Many thanks
Gary

Here is a video that I uploaded showing the bug.
https://www.facebook.com/10001228444333 ... 173898425/

sg2015
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: The Root key return to C4 when you save a preset

Post by sg2015 »

In case it isn't clear, this is also effecting the VST versions in other DAWs.

Ableton Live seems to behave as people are reporting here once you save your project, this is pretty disastrous if you load an old project that used the previous Padshop version and then save over it.

Reaper actually seems to manage to save and reload patches with modified root notes without problems, but it can't reliably load presets that don't have a C based root note, or at least not presets that don't come from Steinberg (e.g. the Simon Stockhausen patch sets). The preset loads, you see the correct root note for a moment and then it resets back to C.

It isn't clear to me, with such a bad bug in play that can destroy existing projects, why this update for the VST plugins hasn't been pulled from the support downloads page.

Vitaly Gavrilov
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 12:19 pm
Contact:

Re: The Root key return to C4 when you save a preset

Post by Vitaly Gavrilov »

I have the same problem in FL Studio 20.1.2.

sd1989
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: The Root key return to C4 when you save a preset

Post by sd1989 »

Vitaly Gavrilov wrote:
Fri Apr 12, 2019 12:22 pm
I have the same problem in FL Studio 20.1.2.
if you haven't already you need to download the update it fixed this issue

https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/do ... dshop.html
windows 8.1, amd fx 6300 3.5ghz , amd radeon 7850 2gb gfx card, GA-78LMT-USB3 rev 6.0 , 16 gb ram , 7200 rpm hd , behringer umc202hd, cubase 8.5 pro , absolute 4

Post Reply

Return to “Padshop and Padshop Pro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest