LED Dimmer NOT WORKING

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
Post Reply
hitz101
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 7:33 am
Contact:

LED Dimmer NOT WORKING

Post by hitz101 » Fri May 16, 2014 7:36 am

So i just got the CMC series & i love it. I looked for a way to make the LED lights stay on & found it BUT..When i select the option in cubase it only turns on one of them not all 3.

I use Cubase 7.5

I Have CMC Series CH - AI & TP

The LED Dimming option only turns on all the buttons on AI but NONE on either of the other 2. What is this from? Any advice here?

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: LED Dimmer NOT WORKING

Post by BriHar » Fri May 16, 2014 8:34 am

You need to update the firmware in the others units - each separately.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

hitz101
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 7:33 am
Contact:

Re: LED Dimmer NOT WORKING

Post by hitz101 » Fri May 16, 2014 8:56 am

BriHar wrote:You need to update the firmware in the others units - each separately.
How would i update them separately? I just used the firmware updater & it did them all i believe no? Is there a way to change which one it is updating when you start up the updater?

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: LED Dimmer NOT WORKING

Post by BriHar » Fri May 16, 2014 9:15 am

You can't do them all at once. You have to disconnect them all then connect each one individually to be updated using a direct connection to a port (i.e. no hub).
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

hitz101
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 7:33 am
Contact:

Re: LED Dimmer NOT WORKING

Post by hitz101 » Fri May 16, 2014 10:11 am

BriHar wrote:You can't do them all at once. You have to disconnect them all then connect each one individually to be updated using a direct connection to a port (i.e. no hub).
Wow that worked. Thanks so much for that help. Maybe you could help with these other issues?

1. When cubase is opened since installing these the right side MIDI meter is always ticking up & down. You know on the main transport hub thing F2 where it shows the MIDI meter in? The right one only is ALWAYS ticking now.

2. Has your computer slowed down at all since using these? I have a VERY FAST & custom PC with 24GB RAM that is crazy fast but since installing the drivers for these it's been kind of slow & messing up. I'v checked for viruses & all.

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: LED Dimmer NOT WORKING

Post by BriHar » Fri May 16, 2014 1:27 pm

1. This behaviour, though irksome for many, is by design, and should be considered normal. It is in effect like a midi activity light. If it bothers you (as it seems to some) simply disable it in the transport window.
2. I haven't noticed any system slowdown using 11 CMC units plus a BCF2000. Just make sure you're using a USB 2 port and powered hubs (they should work on a USB3 port, but what's the point?).
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

hitz101
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 7:33 am
Contact:

Re: LED Dimmer NOT WORKING

Post by hitz101 » Fri May 16, 2014 10:27 pm

BriHar wrote:1. This behaviour, though irksome for many, is by design, and should be considered normal. It is in effect like a midi activity light. If it bothers you (as it seems to some) simply disable it in the transport window.
2. I haven't noticed any system slowdown using 11 CMC units plus a BCF2000. Just make sure you're using a USB 2 port and powered hubs (they should work on a USB3 port, but what's the point?).

Thanks a lot for all the help i really didn't think i would get any help on here.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest