CMC controller

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
Post Reply
novice123
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:49 am
Contact:

CMC controller

Post by novice123 » Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:52 am

Hi. I'm planning to buy cubase 7, and the shop is offering a free CMC controller. I have no previous experience with DAW (just a novice starting out...). Which controller is best suited for me? I can choose from

CMC-CH Channel Strip
CMC-FD Faders
CMC-PD Drum Pads
CMC-TP Transport Control

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3698
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC controller

Post by JMCecil » Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:57 am

PD or CH if you ask me. TP would be 3rd. Too bad they aren't offering the QC. That's probably #1.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
papi61
Member
Posts: 520
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:56 pm

Re: CMC controller

Post by papi61 » Wed Dec 18, 2013 1:21 am

IMHO PD's pads are a bit too tiny for my tastes (and fat fingers...) Get an Akai MPD-18. Very cheap (as low as $70 on EBay), MPC-style finger-drumming.

FD's are great, but you'd need at least 2 (better if 4), because IMHO continuously shifting tracks is too much of a hassle. That leaves CH and TP. If you have to choose, I'd say CH because it offers you 8 programmable buttons as opposed to TP's 4.
Last edited by papi61 on Wed Dec 18, 2013 1:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
Desktop: i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, nVidia GTX770 + GT640-DCSL fanless, 3 monitors (30" 2560x1600 + 2x 27" 1920x1080), 256 GB SSD (OS), 2 TB SATA III (audio), 3 TB SATA III (sample libraries), 3x 3 TB USB 3.0 (backup/archives), RME UFX, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Slaves: 2x i7 2700k, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 3 TB SATA III, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Laptop: 17" HP EliteBook 8770w (i7 3820QM 2.7 Ghz/3.7 Ghz max OC, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 1 TB SATA III), RME Babyface, Win 7 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3.

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2707
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: CMC controller

Post by raino » Wed Dec 18, 2013 1:23 am

Think about what tasks you do the most that you'd also like to have a dedicated controler for. For example if most of the time that you'd use the transport is when you are sitting at your computer, the TP is probably not a good choice since the keyboard commands are easy enough to use. But if you plan on recording vocals from five feet away then having a transport control next to your mic might be just what you want. If you think you'll be tapping in lots of drum patterns, go for the pads - if not don't.
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
resomedia
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC controller

Post by resomedia » Thu Dec 19, 2013 8:48 pm

CH. You get a fader, rotary knob and can open just about anything on the channel. It's the one I use most often.
CB Pro 9.5.21 / Elements 8 (MacBook Air) / Mac Pro 2x2 (mid-2010) 4G 8-Core / OSX 10.5 "Yosemite" / 17GB RAM / PCI-e MOTU 2408mk3, MOTU 24 I/O / MOTU USB MIDI Express 128 (2)

Lundin
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:19 am
Contact:

Re: CMC controller

Post by Lundin » Sat Dec 21, 2013 12:48 am

I find the AI, TP and QC the one's i'm using all the time.. The AI was last on the list but it became indispensable after a while.. really glad i got it..
Loading projects at startup, selecting presets in loaded effects and Instruments and from 7.5 it just got even more indispensable for the way it's now possible to load Trackpresets of saved multi out VST instruments.
Jogging in project, setting monitorlevel e.t.c.. shortcuts of the most used functions.. well.. it's maybe not easy to choose if you haven't got a workflow already which you need to enhance, but i found it very hard to choose only one.. the "fun" part is i purchased all 8 units slightly after release and payed a whooping $1800 for the bunch ( in Sweden ...with some slight discount)

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CMC controller

Post by Strophoid » Sun Dec 22, 2013 1:29 pm

CH and/or TP would be my first picks.
A fader unit on its own isn't that valuable I think, the CH would offer almost the same functionality plus a lot more.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC controller

Post by BriHar » Tue Dec 24, 2013 8:15 pm

Go through the CMC catalog and decide which suits you best. On a practical side, if you think you might get further units, remember, the FD is more expensive than the others, so could save a bit if you get one of those free.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest