Mixer view to follow FD assignment ?

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
Post Reply
Potential - o- meter
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:50 pm
Contact:

Mixer view to follow FD assignment ?

Post by Potential - o- meter »

Massively impressed with the FD unit I just got. Really going to speed up my workflow. :D

Hopefully a pretty obvious / simple question:

Does anyone know how I can get the mixer in Cubase 6.5.5 to follow the CMC FD or to jump to display the same channels as currently selected with the FD? I know I can get the FD to display the currently selected track on-screen, but need to do it the other way round too.

For example, If I have a project with loads of tracks then browsing through them with the FD's bank is nice and quick but becomes difficult to keep track compared to the actual project of as the 'highlighted' section of the Cubase mixer does not scroll along with the bank selection.

Am I making any sense ?

P.S. Did anybody get anywhere with solving the 'constant flashing midi message' on transport bar. It's kind of obvious why it's happening, but not very obvious why I would want it to happen.
There is nothing better than relaxing after doing nothing.
Laziness is relaxing before doing nothing.
---
Win 7, six cores at 3.9GHz, 32GB, Full SSD rig, previously MOTU now: RME UFX, Cubase 8.0.30
CMCs: AI, QC, FD, TP, PD, CH

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer view to follow FD assignment ?

Post by BriHar »

An intelligent combination of folders, visibility controlsettings channel types and visibility agents also in conjunction with saved configurations. It requires a bit of experimentation in order to get comfortable with it.

Preplanning of track layout including folder structure and organization should not be underestimated.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 10.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI 10.5 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

Potential - o- meter
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer view to follow FD assignment ?

Post by Potential - o- meter »

I'm kind of OK with that answer, and very grateful for your time, but sometimes I'm working with up to about 70 tracks of audio and corresponding groups. Really I just need to be able to use the FD to scroll through these onscreen as I would with the mouse. Is there no way of getting the mixer to follow the FD ? Seems odd to me ?
There is nothing better than relaxing after doing nothing.
Laziness is relaxing before doing nothing.
---
Win 7, six cores at 3.9GHz, 32GB, Full SSD rig, previously MOTU now: RME UFX, Cubase 8.0.30
CMCs: AI, QC, FD, TP, PD, CH

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer view to follow FD assignment ?

Post by BriHar »

"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 10.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI 10.5 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests