continously Midi-out signal

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
Post Reply
antioid
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 2:26 pm
Contact:

continously Midi-out signal

Post by antioid »

Hi there.

I posted my problem in the german section as well but I have the feeling there not that much action :)
Well, thi is it: Last week I bought the AI and QC . Since then I have a continously midi-out signal shown in the transportation display. It's like a visual metronome. When I disable at "configure devices" the midioutput of the AI and QC it disappears. So, the source of the problem is there. But how to fix? I disconnected the AI and QC from the USB ports but nothing changed. I still have that midi-out action. Anybody know something about that issue and how to fix it?

thanks in advance & cheers

Edit: I found another thread about that spiking midi stuff and I'll unchecked "midi activity". It's gone.

Geppastro
Member
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: continously Midi-out signal

Post by Geppastro »

yes it's gone, but that way you won't see ANY Midi activity...
Paolo (Cubase user since 1995 -> Cubase Audio on Atari Falcon)
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 16 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 10 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 11 v11.0.0 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / SpectraLayers Pro 7 v7.0.21 / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit).

antioid
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 2:26 pm
Contact:

Re: continously Midi-out signal

Post by antioid »

Yes. Are there any alternatives?

cheers

Guest

Re: continously Midi-out signal

Post by Guest »

no we are stuck with it , it's annoying i know as ive always used the midi activity to keep an eye on the activity but now ....it is what it is , steinberg can't be bothered to sort it out

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: continously Midi-out signal

Post by BriHar »

"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 10.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI 10.5 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

Guest

Re: continously Midi-out signal

Post by Guest »

it's not the question of it being active sense it's the fact that steinberg have now changed the whole behaviour of the midi activity , if they wanted to integrate "active sense" then another small activity meter would of been nice , ive been using outboard midi gear since 1989 and to me it is very important not to see this behaviour to keep an eye open for sysex messages being sent and returned ,so to me it's bloody annoying

regards

Geppastro
Member
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: continously Midi-out signal

Post by Geppastro »

+1
Paolo (Cubase user since 1995 -> Cubase Audio on Atari Falcon)
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 16 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 10 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 11 v11.0.0 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / SpectraLayers Pro 7 v7.0.21 / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit).

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: continously Midi-out signal

Post by BriHar »

Posted purely to give a little background for some. Not intended as an excuse.
There's no reason this activity cannot be filtered out, and If I'm not mistaken, a fix for this is under consideration but is probably not a priority.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 10.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI 10.5 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

Guest

Re: continously Midi-out signal

Post by Guest »

well it's been a long time in the waiting and there is no signs that it will be sorted out now we have had the fix for c7

original post where steinberg were going to investigate .......and they have done nothing since ;)

https://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtop ... 59&t=15199

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: continously Midi-out signal

Post by JMCecil »

BriHar wrote: If I'm not mistaken, a fix for this is under consideration but is probably not a priority.
You post crap like this all the time. Do you know someone at Steinberg that is telling you what they are considering? They've pretty much flat out said that this is "working as designed". They've even argued that this is to MIDI Spec, ignoring the fact that it is the spec for a FEATURE that they didn't implement, other than the annoying notification part.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: continously Midi-out signal

Post by BriHar »

https://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtop ... 25#p121534
Stefan Schreiber wrote:]We are aware of this topic and we will take a deeper look into that behaviour since there are several other topics related to this that we need to take under consideration as well.
I simply take that as a ray of hope.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 10.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI 10.5 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: continously Midi-out signal

Post by JMCecil »

BriHar wrote:https://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtop ... 25#p121594
Stefan Schreiber wrote:]We are aware of this topic and we will take a deeper look into that behaviour since there are several other topics related to this that we need to take under consideration as well.
I simply take that as a ray of hope.
You realize that was over a year (and two patches) ago. The last patch being nothing more than getting it working with C7. The prior patch was absolutely trivial tweaking of parameters. So, after what, nearly two years? Almost nothing has been done with these. I'm not hopeful that they even remember that they made them.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Guest

Re: continously Midi-out signal

Post by Guest »

and now they are selling 6 controllers for £244 lol i think they are trying to get rid of the last of the stock :lol: :lol:

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest