CMC-FD USB distance range?

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
Post Reply
User avatar
resomedia
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:06 pm
Contact:

CMC-FD USB distance range?

Post by resomedia »

I've been searching for simple options to replace my big, old Houston midi-controller. All I really need are some faders for automation and the CMC-FD looks like a good possibility, but am concerned about how long a cable run I can go with it. My studio computer is a good 15' away (in the next room) from my mix position. I assume you can't just plug this into the keyboard USB input? Any tech specs on this or experience with distances?
CB Pro 9.5.21 / Elements 8 (MacBook Air) / Mac Pro 2x2 (mid-2010) 4G 8-Core / OSX 10.5 "Yosemite" / 17GB RAM / PCI-e MOTU 2408mk3, MOTU 24 I/O / MOTU USB MIDI Express 128 (2)

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-FD USB distance range?

Post by BriHar »

You could plug it into the keyboard yes, but a better idea, especially if you will be running more than 1 unit (=4 faders), up to a maximum of 4 FD units, would be to use a powered hub which can be on a longer cable. Plugging a hub into the keyboard might also work, I have my units on a daisychained hub. The supplied cables are only @ 1.2 meters long. Installing the SW and ugrading the firmware however should be performed plugged directly into your Comp. with no other units attached. Afterwards, you can move it to the hub.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 10.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI 10.5 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

User avatar
resomedia
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-FD USB distance range?

Post by resomedia »

I finally purchased the FD and discovered that it needs to be connected into the powered hub directly to get the power it needs over that distance. It doesn't work for me going through the keyboard. I just ordered a second FD and the CH. We'll see if they all connect and are consistent project to project...
CB Pro 9.5.21 / Elements 8 (MacBook Air) / Mac Pro 2x2 (mid-2010) 4G 8-Core / OSX 10.5 "Yosemite" / 17GB RAM / PCI-e MOTU 2408mk3, MOTU 24 I/O / MOTU USB MIDI Express 128 (2)

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest