CMC-CH pan pot issue

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
Post Reply
tehlord
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Contact:

CMC-CH pan pot issue

Post by tehlord »

Hi dudes

I recently bought a CMC-CH and i'm having an issue with the pan pot. It keeps getting 'stuck' on certain pan values for a small amount of time, where it'll jump between a couple of concurrent values (say L23-25) for a couple of turns, then carry on working as normal. This can happen at random on any pan value in either direction.

I'm using Cubase 6.5, W7 64 and it's been plugged into a powered hub and direct into 2 USB ports. I've tried Cubase 32 bit and 64 bit and I downloaded the latest 64 bit drivers from Steinberg.

Is this a known, or common fault or perhaps a faulty unit?

Thanks.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-CH pan pot issue

Post by JMCecil »

What pan mode is the channel in?
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

tehlord
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-CH pan pot issue

Post by tehlord »

It doesn't make a difference, it does it in all modes.

I also tested in on my old WinXP machine last night using Cubase LE6 using the drivers on the DVD and it does the same thing.

I suspect it's a hardware issue sadly.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-CH pan pot issue

Post by JMCecil »

I've quit using the units, but I didn't have that problem with CH. The only time I had problem with panning was with the dual panners.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

tehlord
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-CH pan pot issue

Post by tehlord »

I've not been able to find this issue reported elsewhere so far, so i'm thinking it's possible just this unit. Other than that they're excellent so far.

cbdmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:22 am
Contact:

Re: CMC-CH pan pot issue

Post by cbdmusic »

Hi, I am having the same issue with my CMC-CH. It worked fine for about a year, but after I upgrade to C7 it started acting funny, getting stuck in one place no matter how much I twist the pan pot. Did you ever get this resolved? Was there a solution? Is it just faulty hardware?
christiandavismusic.com
Cubase 10.5 _ Mac Mini 2019 _ MacOS Catalina _ UA Apollo _ Too Many Samples!!

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-CH pan pot issue

Post by BriHar »

With the latest "Tools" and Firmware updates, works fine here up 'til now.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 10.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI 10.5 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

cbdmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:22 am
Contact:

Re: CMC-CH pan pot issue

Post by cbdmusic »

BriHar wrote:With the latest "Tools" and Firmware updates, works fine here up 'til now.
@BriHar... your CH is working? I think mine must be a faulty hardware issue than.
christiandavismusic.com
Cubase 10.5 _ Mac Mini 2019 _ MacOS Catalina _ UA Apollo _ Too Many Samples!!

cbdmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:22 am
Contact:

Re: CMC-CH pan pot issue

Post by cbdmusic »

My CH is about 18 months old, out of warranty. Bummer!
christiandavismusic.com
Cubase 10.5 _ Mac Mini 2019 _ MacOS Catalina _ UA Apollo _ Too Many Samples!!

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC-CH pan pot issue

Post by BriHar »

As my time-machine is still in service, :lol: I've no way of knowing what my situation will be in a year from now, the devices I have are about half a year in use.

:idea: Just a thought though, you might use a midi monitor such as midi-yoke or perhaps the plugin one in Cubase to check and see if it is or not in fact transceiving data! ;)
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 10.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI 10.5 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest