CMC PD lights working properly?

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
Post Reply
gabbimark
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 1:20 am
Contact:

CMC PD lights working properly?

Post by gabbimark »

Hi - I thought we were suppose to be able to have feedback with the lights on the PD for example if I am playing a drum track the lights on the pd should respond and also light up based on note assigned. or if I assign one of the pads on the pd to control the mute on the track when the mute is on the pad should light up and when it is off the light on the pad should turn off. This way we are able to monitor whether the mute (only using mute as example) is on or off from just looking at the pad. Right now the lights on the pad only respond when they are touched and that's it

However, i check out some videos on youtube and they show the buttons on some of the controllers lighting up and flashing and doing some really nice stuff. How are they doing this. I cant get my lights to work unless i touch them. There seems to be no playback mode for these lights.

See example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uLc7n_E4obc

How in the world are they doing this?

maxlz
Junior Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:16 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC PD lights working properly?

Post by maxlz »

...demo-mode!

Regards.

m
cubase PRO 10.5, wave lab 10, macbook pro OSX 10.11, rme fireface 400

Johnny
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC PD lights working properly?

Post by Johnny »

If you have cubase (not sure about the other versions), then just use a midi send to put the midi data out to the PD's midi port - the lights light up then as you want! :D

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC PD lights working properly?

Post by BriHar »

So what exactly do you select in midi sends?
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 10.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI 10.5 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

Lippi
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:29 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC PD lights working properly?

Post by Lippi »

The MIDI channels sends are similar to the audio sends in some respect. You can select active VST instruments, effects with MIDI inputs AND physical MIDI outputs. So the CMC device will be there on the list as a selectable MIDI output. That way you can pipe MIDI information to different devices from one MIDI channel. So the MIDI notes will trigger the drum sounds in a sample player (for example Groove Agent One) and at the same time via the send routing the information will reach the CMC PD and light up the appropriate LED.
Cubase 10, Wavelab 9.5, Dorico 3, Halion 6, HSO, Virtual Guitarist 2, Padshop Pro, Arturia V Collection, Komplete 11 Ultimate, Sibelius 7, TC Powercore PCIe(2x), UAD 2 Octo and Quad USB, Quad PCIe, Gigabyte Z68, I7 2600K, 16GB G.Skill, Sapphire HD6570 Ultimate, RME Firaface UFX

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: CMC PD lights working properly?

Post by BriHar »

I think you either have an exotic version of Cubase or you're mixing up sends with routing.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 10.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI 10.5 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests