Pad Controller Lights

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
Post Reply
groovechild
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 3:15 pm
Contact:

Pad Controller Lights

Post by groovechild »

Hi
I'll get straight to the point. I created and recorded a drum pattern with Groove Agent One.
When playing back the track I was expecting to see the corresponding lights flash in the pad controller while in playback as they do in GA1, but they didn't.
Is this a setting in preferences or am I hoping for too much?

Thanks
Definition In Innovation & Creative Expression

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Pad Controller Lights

Post by Strophoid »

I think they do on my system, although I'm not too sure. I'll check when I get the chance.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

groovechild
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Pad Controller Lights

Post by groovechild »

Thanks for your reply Strophoid
Have you been able to check yet?

This has had nearly a 100 views, but only one reply, does anyone else have any info on this topic?

Thanks
Definition In Innovation & Creative Expression

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Pad Controller Lights

Post by Strophoid »

No sorry. Not only did I completely forget, I also didn't read your question right and I can't even check because I have no CMC-PD. My bad, hope someone else can chime in.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

chikitin
Senior Member
Posts: 1196
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 3:15 am
Contact:

Re: Pad Controller Lights

Post by chikitin »

groovechild wrote:
Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:18 am
Hi
I'll get straight to the point. I created and recorded a drum pattern with Groove Agent One.
When playing back the track I was expecting to see the corresponding lights flash in the pad controller while in playback as they do in GA1, but they didn't.
Is this a setting in preferences or am I hoping for too much?

Thanks
Could you get that done?
MacBook Pro & iMac, 16GB RAM SSD 1 TB, Cubase Pro the latest w/ two external 32" Monitors
Surround configuration with subwoofer.
Dorico 3.5, Finale, VST Connect Pro, NI Komplete 5, EWQLSO, HSO, GA 5
Synths: Yamaha PSR-A3000, Roland Fantom XR
Interface: Steinberg MR-816CSX, UR 22 mkII
Effects: Rocktron DSP, Lexicon MPX 550
Controller: Steinberg CC121, Yamaha KX25,49,88, Korg Nano Kontrol, Boss RC 300, Yamaha MFC 10, CMC-PD

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Pad Controller Lights

Post by BriHar »

I remember doing this a long time ago. You need to send the output to the PD as midi, same as you would any Midi instrument. You'll either need to make a duplicate track for this as I did in my experiment or perhaps you can do it over a send and set the PD as an external FX.
Anyway, it's rather pointless unless you really nee to see the flashing lights.
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 10.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI 10.5 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

chikitin
Senior Member
Posts: 1196
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 3:15 am
Contact:

Re: Pad Controller Lights

Post by chikitin »

Hi,

I could do this using MIDI sent very easy! Set midi sent destination to CMC-PD Port 1 ( channel to any). If you want also to play along with PD, set the input of the MIDI track to "All MIDI inputs"
MacBook Pro & iMac, 16GB RAM SSD 1 TB, Cubase Pro the latest w/ two external 32" Monitors
Surround configuration with subwoofer.
Dorico 3.5, Finale, VST Connect Pro, NI Komplete 5, EWQLSO, HSO, GA 5
Synths: Yamaha PSR-A3000, Roland Fantom XR
Interface: Steinberg MR-816CSX, UR 22 mkII
Effects: Rocktron DSP, Lexicon MPX 550
Controller: Steinberg CC121, Yamaha KX25,49,88, Korg Nano Kontrol, Boss RC 300, Yamaha MFC 10, CMC-PD

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest