Page 3 of 4

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 7:54 pm
by HJAO
As we are "only" at release 1.1 yet, I will wait for a possible next software or firmware release.
If by then these problems are not yet solved, the bidding can begin! Two CMC's will become for sale after that!
I have gone used to using my keyboard for the functions the TP has to offer and as far as the QC is concerned .... never had the pleasure to experience what aspects of living with Cubase they make easier.
Sorry but I'm not a Guinea Pig.

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 8:48 pm
by Otto Dix
It's been a long time since I bump and rolled

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:50 pm
by scottrod
Yes, stop the CC121 midi activity thumping.

It's ridiculous AND redundant since the blue "Cubase Ready" light on the console tells you if communication is active.

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 5:23 pm
by JMCecil
scottrod wrote:Yes, stop the CC121 midi activity thumping.

It's ridiculous AND redundant since the blue "Cubase Ready" light on the console tells you if communication is active.
+1
+2
+3
+4
.... +infinity

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 4:39 pm
by hemiole
Let's hope, that C7 brings a filter for the spikes!

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Wed May 15, 2013 11:12 am
by devastat
+1

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 3:21 pm
by G-string
well it looks like even thou there was the promise from Steinberg to look in to this at the being I suppose it's staying exactly how it is now . If I could find another controller to integrate with the QC's and eq's the same way as the qc I would bin the Qc as since starting this thread im still very *quiz* off with having to watch this midi activity all the time
crohde wrote:Hi there,

We will investigate if that midi spiking can be turned off! :)

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:04 pm
by mbr
many other hardware synths does it too...

it's just active censing


no big deal :roll:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:06 pm
by G-string
mbr wrote:many other hardware synths does it too...

it's just active censing


no big deal :roll:
so what synth do you own that causes this midi activity ?

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:08 pm
by mbr
roland xp 80

nord rack

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:11 pm
by JMCecil
mbr wrote:many other hardware synths does it too...

it's just active censing


no big deal :roll:
Name one built in the last 15 years? My guess if there is one, it is a totally cheap POS. There used to be stage/light/rig controllers that did it. But, those don't do it anymore either ... for the same reason we are complaining. The MIDI indicator has for quite some time been an activity indicator, not a "HI I am here, Are you there? Yes, I am here, are you there?" That implementation has been dead a long time.

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:11 pm
by G-string
really I find that very hard to believe even thou I own neither of those which is funny really as I own 19 synths and loads of modules and not one of the cause this midi detection , so your telling me that the nord still shows this behaviour like this ,then you must have some sysex message option setup wrong because this behaviour is not normal with hardware

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:12 pm
by JMCecil
mbr wrote:roland xp 80

nord rack
I'm fairly sure you can turn it off on the xp 80. Maybe it was a mod .. can't remember. But, we had one that didn't do it.

I don't know jack about nords.

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:15 pm
by G-string
sounds like it's transmitting the arp sysex data , which can be switched off

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:17 pm
by G-string
anyway back topic , the reason I started this thread in the first place is because it is damn right irritating and still is !

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:06 am
by Freddie H
Sure I see it too- ;)
What does it mean? = It means CMC communicate with Cubase 7

Does it add any extra midi message/ midi exclusive or something to any other midi recordings? = No

Do I get personal bother with it? = No

If you get irritate by it= inactive "MIDI message" in the transport panel so you can't see it anymore.



No brainer! :mrgreen:

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 12:10 pm
by JMCecil
Freddie H wrote:Sure I see it too- ;)
What does it mean? = It means CMC communicate with Cubase 7

Does it add any extra midi message/ midi exclusive or something to any other midi recordings? = No

Do I get personal bother with it? = No

If you get irritate by it= inactive "MIDI message" in the transport panel so you can't see it anymore.

No brainer! :mrgreen:
Except when you have a ton of external gear that you actually want to monitor. Then it's not a no brainer.

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:06 pm
by G-string
Freddie H wrote:Sure I see it too- ;)
What does it mean? = It means CMC communicate with Cubase 7

Does it add any extra midi message/ midi exclusive or something to any other midi recordings? = No

Do I get personal bother with it? = No

If you get irritate by it= inactive "MIDI message" in the transport panel so you can't see it anymore.



No brainer! :mrgreen:
and how are you going to tell if you have a rogue sysex output from your instrument with out having to open up your midi monitor mister no brainer ????
mr

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2013 1:15 pm
by Freddie H
JMCecil wrote:
Freddie H wrote:Sure I see it too- ;)
What does it mean? = It means CMC communicate with Cubase 7

Does it add any extra midi message/ midi exclusive or something to any other midi recordings? = No

Do I get personal bother with it? = No

If you get irritate by it= inactive "MIDI message" in the transport panel so you can't see it anymore.

No brainer! :mrgreen:
Except when you have a ton of external gear that you actually want to monitor. Then it's not a no brainer.

Sure, you both have a valid point there. I agree with you! ;)


Perhaps Steinberg can program CMC so you can disable it as an option.
If they did, I would certainly disable the spikes too. :)


Best regards
Freddie

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:54 pm
by Freddie H
Bump...

Good idea! ;)

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:55 pm
by JMCecil
Freddie H wrote: Perhaps Steinberg can program CMC so you can disable it as an option.
If they did, I would certainly disable the spikes too. :)
That's the point of the thread

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 6:05 pm
by jamusic
Having just purchased a CMC-TP last week, I can confirm that this is still indeed happening.

Myself, I was also curious about this when I first plugged it in.

I hadn't read this post yet, so I also had to find & isolate it.

I find it equally annoying as others here do, but it looks like the issue has been bailed on altogether, since this is now August 2013, and it's still happening.

I don't have any other MIDI controllers that do this either, and I agree that disabling it from the Transport Bar isn't really feasible or ideal.

It would nice if Steinberg could revisit this issue, or tell us that it's simply not possible to do and close the issue once and for all, although I believe that it is doable, as virtually all software can be reprogrammed.

The worst part is that the MIDI activity seems to be a 'MIDI output' spike which seems completely unnecessary, since it's indicating nothing more than connectivity, which the little white led at the top right corner is already doing.

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 6:51 pm
by G-string
just a bump on my OP

Looks like steinberg have totally forgotten about this and it will never be resolved , just dumped like all the other hardware

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Wed May 07, 2014 9:57 am
by Freddie H
G-string wrote:just a bump on my OP

Looks like steinberg have totally forgotten about this and it will never be resolved , just dumped like all the other hardware

Same sort of spiking will happen with other 3part MIDI hardware's too so its not only Steinberg CMC-Series.

Re: cmc qc midi activity spiking

Posted: Sun Nov 23, 2014 10:41 pm
by Godi
Got this annoying spike myself, have no idea the cause. I have 7 CMC units and an Impulse 49. God knows what the cause is!