Repurposing CMC series devices as MIDI controllers

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers
User avatar
Martyprod
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Repurposing CMC series devices as MIDI controllers

Post by Martyprod » Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:30 am

-steve- wrote:
Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:29 pm
It does work here without the Steinberg CMC Extension V1.1.3 installed. The device isn't populated in the Studio Setup dialog.

The trade-off though is the regular functions aren't available for any other CMC devices- though holding down shift on the FD does still activate finer resolution.

These devices really are great. Their sale prices have only been going up on Ebay. Glad I have 2 FDs, 1 QC, 1 TP, 1 CH. I'm gonna be a millionaire between these devices and the Mac Plus I still have in my Garage. ;)
I'm afraid i'll keep mine during a while, until I found better controller... i'll be poor for life anyway, always been lol :D. i bought them all in 20177/2018 for a price around 90 to 100$ (maybe only one or two was at 50 or 60 max).

i see two downside (as i own them all lol except missing 2 FD... d*** lol.. i must hurry !), must reprogram everything in bome, but it's just a matter of time, it's not a so much big deal (if we still want to use the other devices the way it does with cubase while using some specific one sending other message).
the small real issue i see (lol) is esthetic. the Led are helping me a lot, certainly there is a way to generate them, because on other controller it's possible (saw that in the manual of the presonus or berhinger controller), it's certainly a Midi Message or something. any idea about that ?

I tried to put information on a piece of paper over each pad / slider etc, but the "surface" of the devices make it difficult, someone found a solution for this ? i have a bad memory and have difficulty to remember all the different combinaison when using bome as i use these controllers for a lot of other software (video editor etc..).

but these controller are amazing, just sad that steinberg didn't opened them to the others than cubase, and forcing (until now) their use in cubase with fixed edition, because it could have been very popular. I don't know if the presonus or the berhinger controller (the one with the motorised fider) work, but unfortunatly, the fader make certainly some noise and i have big issues with noise, so can of forbidden to use such device. the pad on the PD and the fader don't hurt my hands too, pretty amazing when we thing about it. Want to thank steinberg to have made them and at the same time, ins*** them a bit lol.
Cubase Pro 10.5 / Windows 10 x64 I7-7700 32Gb Asrock H270ITX / Korg Nanokey2, iRig Keys 37 Pro, M-audio Keystation I49 MKIII / UR22 / 2 x Steinberg CMC-FD + CH + TP + PD + QC + AI / Yamaha U1 + Pianodisc ProRecord III / Steamdeck

User avatar
IForrest
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 1:21 am
Contact:

Re: Repurposing CMC series devices as MIDI controllers

Post by IForrest » Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:10 am

This is an interesting thread, apropos of nothing I was browsing the reaper forum, there is a chap named Geoff Waddington who with others has developed an addon for reaper called the control surface integrator. One of the devices he has written configs for is the CMC QC - 2.
I have an AI , which I would love to be able to use elsewhere, it would be very useful in video editing software, so I will examine bomes to see how I go there.
Geoff has written very good documentation for CSI, so it should not be difficult to re-purpose other CMC's.
Feature request thread here: https://tinyurl.com/csi-reaper2
there is some discussion making the software available for other DAWS such as able.
General discussion here: https://tinyurl.com/csi-reaper2
For some reason the urls are messed up reaper publisher shows as rock ?????
Cubase User since Atari ST. Cubase10 Pro, I7 machine, Korg Triton Extreme, Nord Wave, Fender Tele Custom, Vox AC30CCX2, Yamaha 01v96i, yadda yadda.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Repurposing CMC series devices as MIDI controllers

Post by -steve- » Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:29 am

I fixed those urls- the phpBB forum software has a somewhat limited ;) bad word censor function that doesn't like the first syllable of the name of the company that makes Reaper.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
Martyprod
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Repurposing CMC series devices as MIDI controllers

Post by Martyprod » Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:51 pm

IForrest wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:10 am
I have an AI , which I would love to be able to use elsewhere, it would be very useful in video editing software, so I will examine bomes to see how I go there.
Hey i use Bome Translator Pro with my AI all the time in video editing software (Vegas Pro 16 + SolveigMM video splitter etc..), the joggle is much more faster and easy to use for my hands (i have a both hand issue) than my ShuttleXpress that with time became defective (a move is not equal to one frame and need several ones, but it's old, own it since 2012).
how to have different feature on the job of AI who has one possibility instead of the one from my shuttle Xpress who has two ?
i made two bome presets , one to do an edit in video software by "Frame", and one by K-frame. how to switch between the two ? i use the "Job" Button (it's bome who switch it, there is a feature "switch to preset number 2 if Midi comman "Note On 35" (for example) is send.
so i replaced my shuttleExpress for video editing by the AI Jog + Bome Translator.

a friend of mine made a script with AutoHotKey for me to switch automatically between different software / presets without having to do it manually in Bome (unfortunatly, this feature is not available in bome). here is the script :

https://github.com/Fabrice-Deshayes-aka ... o_switcher
Cubase Pro 10.5 / Windows 10 x64 I7-7700 32Gb Asrock H270ITX / Korg Nanokey2, iRig Keys 37 Pro, M-audio Keystation I49 MKIII / UR22 / 2 x Steinberg CMC-FD + CH + TP + PD + QC + AI / Yamaha U1 + Pianodisc ProRecord III / Steamdeck

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CMC Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests