HSO Content Changed with Cubase 6?

For users of legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects software
Post Reply
User avatar
derekpert
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:10 pm
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Contact:

HSO Content Changed with Cubase 6?

Post by derekpert » Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:17 pm

Hi,

Did the HSO content itself change in any way between the distribution with Cubase 5 and the distribution with Cubase 6? If so, in what way(s), precisely?

Not that I'm not concerned about the VSTi - just the actual sampled content files.

Thanks, all.
Cubase Pro 9.5 x64 | Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 Gen2 | CC121 | Yamaha KX-8 | Aleis V25 | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | ASUS TUF X299 MARK 2 | Intel® Core™ i7-7820X Processor | 32GB RAM | Samsung NVMe SSD 960 PRO | Samsung 840 PRO 500GB SSD | ACER ET430K 4K display | A.D.A.M. A7 & Sub8 | The Grand 3 | HSO SIS

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2283
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: HSO Content Changed with Cubase 6?

Post by MrSoundman » Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:33 am

As far as I can tell so far, the same base sample set is there, but due to the fact that you now have HSSE as the player it's not easy to be 100% sure. I'm in the process of taking a project done with the 1.5 VSTi and porting it to HSSE/C6, but I keep getting drawn into playing with the possibilities of HSSE (in a good way!). The new player/GUI is a welcome improvment but above all the most important thing of course is the sound, which I personally find very, very good.

One of the main differences is that there seem to be much less presets (although I haven't actually counted them) and the "tree view" method of selection via drop-down menu is replaced with the standard MediaBay selector. This has it's own disadvantages in that the HSO patches are mixed up with the stock set from HSSE, but can be found by filtering on the word "symphonic", which returns 111 patches.

But back to the matter of sound ... HSO has always IMHO been more European than Hollywood and this version is no different, so it may suit some tastes but not others. For me, it's ideal and although it needs investment of time, the results can be stellar.
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 583
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Content Changed with Cubase 6?

Post by HughH » Sun Feb 06, 2011 9:13 pm

There is a filter on the HSSE which you can use to select any single sample set - such as Halion Symphonic only.

There also seem to be, like, 3 levels of Halion content. Wondering how much we get to keep after 60 days if we don't buy the full Halion Sonic???

Hugh
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 583
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Content Changed with Cubase 6?

Post by HughH » Mon Feb 07, 2011 3:22 pm

ooops . . .

I was wrong. Only a filter on Halion Sonic - not SE.

Yes. You have to do a logical search on "Library" matches "Symphonic".

I come up with 110 matches.

Wish there were a way to save the search so I don't have yo keep typing "Symphonic" each time I reset.

Hugh
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

Egebjerg
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:08 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Content Changed with Cubase 6?

Post by Egebjerg » Mon Feb 07, 2011 8:42 pm

If you in the filtersection go into ”Audio - Assets” and then chose ”Library Name” (instead af ”key”) you can chose to filter on ”HALion Symphonic”. This preference will be there next time you open the multi program rack.
iMac 21.5 | 3.06 GHz | 12GB | OSX 10.8.5 |
CB 7.5.0 64 bit | Phonic HB 12 FW MKII

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 583
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Content Changed with Cubase 6?

Post by HughH » Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:16 am

Yes. Mine is coming up that way every time.
Even on a new project . . .

. . . Until I clear it or search for something else.
Then, in order to get that search back I have to select "Library" and type "Symphonic" again.

And I'm exceedingly lazy . . .

What I want is a "saved searches" drop down.

Hugh
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 583
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Content Changed with Cubase 6?

Post by HughH » Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:19 pm

Yes
Found it.
No typing.
Under "Attribute", not "Logical".

Drop down any column and select "Audio - Assets".
Choose "Library Name".

Select "Halion Symphonic", or any other.

Hugh
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

User avatar
NorthWood MediaWorks
Senior Member
Posts: 2336
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: HSO Content Changed with Cubase 6?

Post by NorthWood MediaWorks » Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:50 pm

HughH wrote:ooops . . .

I was wrong. Only a filter on Halion Sonic - not SE.

Yes. You have to do a logical search on "Library" matches "Symphonic".

I come up with 110 matches.

Wish there were a way to save the search so I don't have yo keep typing "Symphonic" each time I reset.

Hugh
The mods over in the C6 forum indicated that they will modify the filter to work better in HSSE for the next incremental upgrade of C6.
Robin
Visit Northwood Mediaworks!
| Cubase Pro 8.5.20 | Wavelab 8.0.3e | HSO | Padshop Pro | Win10pro 64 | i7 16Gb | UR44 | Angry Wife |
| OSX 10.12.6 | MacBookPro Retina 15 | Loads of Other Stuff |

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 583
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Content Changed with Cubase 6?

Post by HughH » Thu Feb 10, 2011 2:28 am

Well, actually, as I mentioned in the post before, it really works that way now - so I found out.

Not on the HSSE instrument itself - but when opening the sound/patch browser/media bay thing just select "Audio Assets" as one of the columns - and "Library Name" as the sort and there are all the Libraries to be searched individually.
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2283
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: HSO Content Changed with Cubase 6?

Post by MrSoundman » Thu Feb 10, 2011 2:39 pm

HughH wrote:when opening the sound/patch browser/media bay thing just select "Audio Assets" as one of the columns - and "Library Name" as the sort and there are all the Libraries to be searched individually.
:idea: Aaaaah! Now I see what you mean ... excellent, thank you! And yes, as you say, there are 110 and not 111 like I posted earlier.
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

Post Reply

Return to “Legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest