import vst collection stuff into HalionPlayer?

For users of legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects software
Post Reply
User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

import vst collection stuff into HalionPlayer?

Post by curteye » Wed Jan 12, 2011 10:14 am

Aloha,
After having not use it for quite some time, I started muckin' about with HP and I'm starting to find some use for it.

I find some of the built-in sounds are quite unique.

I'm not sure how to import additional sample data or what type works (.aif/wav/etc) but I am now wondering if I can import the VST Collection into HP.


TIA
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB-10.10x...../C5.5/6.5/7.5/CP8
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB-10.10x.../CP8

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

zephonic
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 6:49 pm
Location: LA
Contact:

Re: import vst collection stuff into HalionPlayer?

Post by zephonic » Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:59 pm

Wondering the same here.
Cubase 9.5.50 - Halion 6 - HalionSonic 3 - assorted plugins/instruments
2009 MacPro | 3.33GHz 6-core | 24GB RAM | OSX 10.12.6
Avid Mbox3Pro
iPad 5 - iOS12 - Cubase iC Pro

Chris Beuermann

Re: import vst collection stuff into HalionPlayer?

Post by Chris Beuermann » Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:48 am

Hello,


it is not possible to import the VST Sound library into Halion Player.

Cheers,

Chris

Alexis20
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: import vst collection stuff into HalionPlayer?

Post by Alexis20 » Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:28 pm

Hi y'all
I'm new in this Forum and I found it on my search for answers on the question: "how to load and/or to import HSB, FXP ...files into HALion Player".
I've just learned from Chris Beuermann, that it is not possible to import/load the VST Sound Library into HALion Player. Well, it seems to me it is not possible to import HSB files at all, despite the fact, that HALion Player is "capable of playing any HSB file", as documented on the rear side of the DVD-Box Cover.
Is there a trick to do so? Can I get some help?
Thanks
alexis20
Oldie but new (here)

valsolim
Member
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Brno, Czechia
Contact:

Re: import vst collection stuff into HalionPlayer?

Post by valsolim » Thu Mar 24, 2011 1:22 pm

Alexis20 wrote:I've just learned from Chris Beuermann, that it is not possible to import/load the VST Sound Library into HALion Player. Well, it seems to me it is not possible to import HSB files at all, despite the fact, that HALion Player is "capable of playing any HSB file", as documented on the rear side of the DVD-Box Cover.
Is there a trick to do so? Can I get some help?
Hello, Alexis,

which HSB files do you want to import? Have you tried the "Locate Content" button in HALion Player?

Best regards
--
Miloslav

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: import vst collection stuff into HalionPlayer?

Post by Suprawill1 » Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:40 pm

Hello,
I'm trying to import some horn files into HP by clicking on the "load samples (replace)" command but when I navigate to the samples and execute, it doesn't load them and doesn't replace the HP samples. Am I missing something? I have a choice of 3 different versions of the same samples. I was trying to load the "wave" version. There is also "Halion" and "EXS24" versions.

Ok, I got HP to purge the HP samples but it still won't load the samples I need it to. I tried loading the "wave" version and the "Halion" version. I tried the loading window and I tried the "locate content" option. I can navigate to the samples, I've got it to post the names of the samples in the windows but when I click the window open to load a particular sample, they are not there. Any thoughts?
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

valsolim
Member
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Brno, Czechia
Contact:

Re: import vst collection stuff into HalionPlayer?

Post by valsolim » Sun Apr 10, 2011 9:08 pm

Hello, Will,

I have never tried other formats but I'm able to load WAV files without any problems. After locating the WAV file(s) you want to import, HP opens a dialog window with several options, including the "Starting key". What happens when you load just one WAV file into, let's say, C2 as the "Starting key", and then you press the C2 key on HP? Can you hear the sound, or not?

--
Miloslav

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: import vst collection stuff into HalionPlayer?

Post by Suprawill1 » Sun Apr 10, 2011 11:34 pm

Hey Miloslav,
I can get them to load and play. I just couldn't tell they were in there because every program has the same line-up of H3 samples and I can't purge them. The other samples that I load in never show, just the HP samples.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

valsolim
Member
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Brno, Czechia
Contact:

Re: import vst collection stuff into HalionPlayer?

Post by valsolim » Mon Apr 11, 2011 7:44 pm

Hello, Will,

HP cannot create or modify an HSB file, it can only read them. That's the reason why you weren't successful in creating your own program the way you tried it. In order to create a new instrument (a program) from your own samples, follow these steps:

1. open HP in the standalone mode
2. load the samples the way you did it before (you can also rename the default "Program 1" to an arbitrary name you want)
3. create an FXP file by Menu->File->Save Program
4. close the standalone HP, open Cubase and load HP into the VST rack
5. now you can load your newly created FXP file into HP by clicking on the MediaBay button on the top of the HP window and selecting "Import FXP/FXB"

Multi presets (banks) are handled similarly, the only difference is that you create an FXB file instead.

Hopefully, this is what you were after ;-)
--
Miloslav

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: import vst collection stuff into HalionPlayer?

Post by Suprawill1 » Mon Apr 11, 2011 8:36 pm

Great! I'll give that a shot tonight.
Thanks again. Enjoy your day!
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

Post Reply

Return to “Legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest