CPU

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
Post Reply
milo
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:10 pm
Contact:

CPU

Post by milo »

While mixing I am running into a situation where my vst performance meter is maxing out, however, when I go to the windows monitor It shows I am only using 19% of my cpu. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Trevor

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2681
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: CPU

Post by Fredo »

system, version, Sound card, etc .... ?


Fredo

milo
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: CPU

Post by milo »

Operating System
MS Windows 7 64-bit SP1
CPU
Intel Xeon E5640 @ 2.67GHz 58 °C
Westmere-EP 32nm Technology
Intel Xeon E5640 @ 2.67GHz 62 °C
Westmere-EP 32nm Technology
RAM
24.0GB Triple-Channel DDR3 @ 666MHz 9-9-9-24
Motherboard
ASUSTeK Computer INC. Z8NA-D6(C) (CPU 1)
Graphics
LC-42LB261U @ 1842x1036
NVIDIA GeForce GT 630
Hard Drives
2930.27GB Seagate ST3000DM001-9YN166 ATA Device (IDE) 28 °C
468.85GB Seagate ST480HM000-1G5162 ATA Device (IDE) 36 °C
1465.14GB Western Digital WDC WD1501FASS-00W2B0 ATA Device (IDE) 31 °C
586.06GB Western Digital WDC WD6000HLHX-01JJPV0 ATA Device (IDE) 38 °C
Optical Drives
ATAPI iHAS224 B ATA Device
Audio
RME HDSPe RayDAT

Running Nuendo version 5.5.6.

Thanks Fredo!!

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2681
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: CPU

Post by Fredo »

Raise the buffer size on your audio card.
The Performance meter shows a *combination* of CPU, Disc access, ASIO buffer, etc ...

Fredo

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: CPU

Post by Brandy »

Can be bad programmed plugins as well.. look at Slate FG-X Mastering processor.. a real CPU hog.. Asio Meter jumps 30% when loading that plugin - windows tells somewhat about 2 % .. I am sure this can be done better.

Just create a project with only Nuendo plugins.. ad plugins till you have reached a reasonable Asio load.. assuming you are not on 32 samples buffer or something (try 512 or even 1024 for this experiment) you might have a similiar CPU usage in the taskmanager..

for some reasons I had projects with high CPU (asio meter) load which are "smaller" then other projects which are using less CPU.. This is just a cryptic thing :-)

Sometimes a plugin for example only used one Core.. lets say you max our Core1.. have Core 2-8 more or less unused.. this will already result in crackle / drop outs.. in a perfect world the load would be spreaded nicely across all cores.. well.. in a perfect world :-)

Thats why I have the feeling that it makes more sence to have "less cores but with more GHZ" when choosing a CPU - instead of wasting 2000 bucks for a 16 core thing.. which will give you exakt the same performance like a 4 core when maxing out one core.. well I am not a computer expert but that's the feeling I have ;)

The newer the Nuendo Version the better the Core/CPU handling.. Nuendo 5.5 was an awesome release.. but currently using Cubase 8 I can tell you that here you will have a better handling of the ressources which will/might/can result in "less asio meter load" .. CPU usage in Task manager should be similar..
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests