Silly Question I *Should* Know But Don't

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
Post Reply
Mike P
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Silly Question I *Should* Know But Don't

Post by Mike P »

Hey Guys,

Long time, no see! I'm not sure what I've done or what is missing but for the past several months, I've had an issue with editing both MIDI and Audio. It's nothing major but annoying: When I open a MIDI file to edit, the MIDI (or Audio) file doesn't open on the cursor. I have to either scroll over to find it or drop a marker when I want to edit, hit play, the go to the marker.

Any ideas of what I've checked or unchecked that's making this happen? Thanks in advance!

Mike
________________
www.mikeplas.com

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 851
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: Silly Question I *Should* Know But Don't

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

Preferences/Editing/check "Link Editors".

Is that what you're looking for?

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

Mike P
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Silly Question I *Should* Know But Don't

Post by Mike P »

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:Preferences/Editing/check "Link Editors".

Is that what you're looking for?

Chewy
Hey Chewy, thanks for the response but that box is checked.

It's so bizarre, as this never happened in the past. Maybe this will help:

1. Place the cursor where I want to edit Audio or MIDI.
2. Double Click on the file at that location.
3. File opens at the beginning or elsewhere and not on the cursor.
________________
www.mikeplas.com

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 851
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: Silly Question I *Should* Know But Don't

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

I'm stumped. But... is "follow" mode on in the newly opened editor?

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

Mike P
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Silly Question I *Should* Know But Don't

Post by Mike P »

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:I'm stumped. But... is "follow" mode on in the newly opened editor?

Chewy
Yes, it is but I *think* I may have just figured it out. Under Prefs>Editing>Auto Select Events Under Cursor.

That only took about 4 months to figure out. :D

Thanks for the input and have a great day!
________________
www.mikeplas.com

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 851
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: Silly Question I *Should* Know But Don't

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

Glad you figured it out. That command always made me nervous, so I've never used it, myself (not "have a great day", but "autoselect events under cursor".)

Have a fine one, yourself, and I hope that it is problem solved!

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

CHAOS
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 3:34 am
Contact:

Re: Silly Question I *Should* Know But Don't

Post by CHAOS »

Cool!

I think this thread should be added to. That always bothered me too. Nuendo is quite a deep tool. One that I slowly delve into when the moment is needed, or when I am forcebly thrusted into. I am always under the gun working fast for clients and deadlines and I miss a myriad cool little things.

Keep 'em coming I say!

My silly question:

Why is it when I want to import a MIDI file, Halion SE track is made? (A track that cannot be deleted) I just want the MIDI file and use it for a Virtual Instrument track of my choosing. And why are the Virtual Instrument tracks not saved a MIDI files, but rather embedded in the project file? At least having an option would be nice. Oops...that was two silly questions...
Tune out the humming, turn on the stereo...

Nuendo 7.035 Windows 10 Professional 64-bit CPUSkylake Core i7 (i7-6700, 4 cores/8 threads), 3.4GHz (4.0GHz Max Turbo)MotherboardIntel Z170 ChipsetGraphics/VideoEVGA NVidia GTX1060 6gb Maximum Resolution max 7680x4320@60Hz DP 1.43, HDMI 2.0b, Dual Link-DVI RAM Memory - Included48GB DDR4/2133 MHzMemory - Max64GB (4x16GB)Storage - IncludedSystem - 500GB M.2 Solid State Drive (SATA 6.0 Gb/s), 1 Hot Swap SATA Drive BayStorage - ExpandedAudio - 2 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda (SATA 6.0 Gb/s)

Mike P
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Silly Question I *Should* Know But Don't

Post by Mike P »

Actually, this didn't do the trick. It also makes it impossible to edit or open any audio or MIDI file while the song is in play because the cursor keeps jumping to the most "active" part.

Gotta keep searching, I guess. It's weird because I'd never had this issue before, even going back to Cubase 3.7 in 1997. I'm sure it's just a preference check but I just can't figure out which one...
________________
www.mikeplas.com

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 851
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: Silly Question I *Should* Know But Don't

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

Grasping at straws here... but at this stage of the game you could trash your prefs, or, if you back up reasonably regularly, grab your preferences from when it was working right and drop'em in.

Good luck!

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

Mike P
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Silly Question I *Should* Know But Don't

Post by Mike P »

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:Grasping at straws here... but at this stage of the game you could trash your prefs, or, if you back up reasonably regularly, grab your preferences from when it was working right and drop'em in.

Good luck!

Chewy
Yeah, that's definitely a good idea. I'll give it shot. Thanks!
________________
www.mikeplas.com

Mike P
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Silly Question I *Should* Know But Don't

Post by Mike P »

Well, I trashed the preference file (PC) but my old preferences remained intact. And regardless of where the cursor is when I double-click a MIDI or Audio file, the cursor opens at bar 2.

Is there a way to delete the preference file without completely deinstalling and reinstalling? It's soooooooooooo ridiculously time consuming to press play and back up, just to find the cursor on every track.

Thanks!
________________
www.mikeplas.com

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2681
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Silly Question I *Should* Know But Don't

Post by Fredo »

Upon launching a new version, or "clean" preferences, Nuendo looks for preferences from older versions.
So if you have an earlier versio on your computer, the preferences will be taken' from there.


Move your preferences to a temp folder, so you can always restore them.
(Actually, It's a good idea to always keep a copy of your preferences, just in case something screws them up)
Temporarely rename you other/older Nuendo folders.
Launch Nuendo

===>> new, clean, default preferences will be created.

HTH
Fredo

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest