Neundo 64

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
riwe
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Neundo 64

Post by riwe »

thedug wrote:Actually I was curious about the UAD-1 plugs running on a UAD-2.

If I understand the previous comment, the UAD-1 plugs are still 32bit and would require bridging...
No, if you own an UAD-2 card the plugins run on the UAD-2 card (with exception of the guitar amp (at this moment I don't know it's name), which doesn't exist for the UAD-2). Since driver version 6.4 even the UAD-1 plugins are native 64Bit and don't need to be bridged.

The drivers since 6.2 only support UAD-2 cards. So if you want to use UAD-1 and UAD-2 cards concurrently with a driver beyond version 6.1, this is not possible. The drivers since version 6.2 recognize only UAD-2 cards.
Nuendo 10 | Wavelab 10 Pro | Connect Pro 4
RME HDSPe MADI fx | RME Fireface 800 | UAD-2 | Midex8 | Yamaha 02R96V2
i7 9800X 3,8GHz | 64 GB RAM | 3 TB SSD | Win10 Pro x64

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4393
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Neundo 64

Post by MattiasNYC »

thedug wrote:Actually I was curious about the UAD-1 plugs running on a UAD-2.
Fair enough. You didn't write "-1" which is probably why people responded that way.
thedug wrote:If I understand the previous comment, the UAD-1 plugs are still 32bit and would require bridging...
For the most part the plugins aren't really either or. Only one or two have not been ported over to the v2 card if any. You basically just look at the software version and see which cards it supports.
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Neundo 64

Post by neilwilkes »

thedug wrote:Actually I was curious about the UAD-1 plugs running on a UAD-2.

If I understand the previous comment, the UAD-1 plugs are still 32bit and would require bridging...
You cannot run UAD-1 plugs on a UAD-2 without transferring them in your uAudio.com account.
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

lalithkr
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Neundo 64

Post by lalithkr »

After a lot of testing and getting rid of badly ported 64bit plugs...everything seems stable for now.

Waves is 64bit now.
Finally UAD 2 plugs for windows 7 are also 64bit....so seems like things are good for now.

This helps with mixing tasks for now... just check on your favorite plugs

Get rid or try to get rid of as much of those oldie 32-bit plugin "gems" and stick with the whats current and the major manufacturers you should have better luck.

I run a Macpro with win 7 bootcamped mainly to run Nuendo and as some of you may know AHCI is disabled by default that prevents windows using disk drives with the optimal bandwidth possible.

Running my drives with standard SATA drivers created a lot of issues during disk access in Nuendo during those heavy sampler sessions with multiple instances.

You can drastically increase performance with updated drivers of your chipset and by enabling AHCI in MBR.

Do so by first following http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/ ... e__st__140 this thread.

Disclaimer
I will not assume any responsibility to any damage this might cause to your computer system and data, either at a hardware level or software level. Backup your data as always and also your MBR before starting this process. I have only tested this on my system configuration a MacPro4,1 2.26 Xeon (eightcore) with 64gb ram and 1TB SATA HD. Instructions on how to back your MBR can be found in the original thread above.

To sum it up first enable AHCI in regedit or using the microsoft fix to enable windows to load AHCI drivers.

IMPORTANT DO NOT ENABLE AHCI FIRST INSIDE YOUR BIOS. YOU WILL STOP WINDOWS FROM BOOTING

http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum ... installing

Then enable AHCI to load for your Bootcamped NTFS volume (dedicated windows drive / partition ) inside with the below utility.

IMPORTANT MAKE SURE TO UNPLUG ALL OTHER NTFS DRIVES EXCEPT THE ONE WITH BOOTCAMPED WINDOWS ON IT, ONLY THEN IS THE AHCI ENABLER GOING TO LET YOU CHOOSE THE BOOTCAMP VOLUME

AHCI Enabler.dmg by johnsocks http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/ ... e__st__140

You have to be a member of this forum to download. Then take the leet forum quiz to post and then thank him.

Then update the standard AHCI 1.0 Driver inside windows to the one for your chipset.
In my case Macpro4,1 Intel ICH10R family SATA chipset controller driver was needed. (intel website)

After restarting a bunch of time during the process and windows taking forever to load and configure itself.

Your should be good to GO!!!

Behold smoother disk access, optimal bandwidth and overall better performance.
Now go upgrade that ram to 128GB and all SSD drives for just a FEW 1000s of DOLLARS and go wild in your sessions.

Happy New Year Folk

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests