Curve EQ from Cubase 7 in Nuendo 5.5

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
Post Reply
jweisbin
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:04 pm
Contact:

Curve EQ from Cubase 7 in Nuendo 5.5

Post by jweisbin »

I thought - why not copy the "Curve EQ" plugin from my copy of Cubase 7 (Contents/VST3 folder), into the corresponding folder in Nuendo 5.5. So I did, and it works. Also the others seem to be working as well (eg "synthegine").

I haven't tried to see f they work if placed in the normal system VST3 folder, since I can't think of any other apps that support VST3 anyway.

Not sure if this is "allowed", but I will buy Nuendo 6 as soon as it's released anyway, and I own both Cubase (two copies), and Nuendo 5.5, so "who's the victim here"?
Jim Weisbin
C.T.O. Human LLC
http://www.humanworldwide.com

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Curve EQ from Cubase 7 in Nuendo 5.5

Post by Brandy »

Why should it be not allowed? If you own Cubase7...?

Isn't Curve EQ that Voxengo Plugin? Well, then this is just a simple dll which can be used in all hosts you have, or not?
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

jweisbin
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Curve EQ from Cubase 7 in Nuendo 5.5

Post by jweisbin »

Brandy wrote:Why should it be not allowed? If you own Cubase7...?

Isn't Curve EQ that Voxengo Plugin? Well, then this is just a simple dll which can be used in all hosts you have, or not?
I own licenses for Cubase 7 and Nuendo 5.5. But I also discovered that, if I copy the plugin (in my case a VST3 not a DLL because I'm on Mac) to the system VST3 folder, I can also use it in Studio One, which supports VST3 format. But whether it's licensed for that I can't say, and I guess I don't really want to open that can of worms.
Jim Weisbin
C.T.O. Human LLC
http://www.humanworldwide.com

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Curve EQ from Cubase 7 in Nuendo 5.5

Post by neilwilkes »

You can do the same thing with most plugins, unless the plugin is locked to the host in question.
For example, the stripped-down sonnox tools from WaveLab work in all VST3 hosts if you copy the files....
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests