Selecting External Effect Patches

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
Post Reply
User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1507
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Selecting External Effect Patches

Post by fenderchris »

I have set up a Lexicon PCM-91 as an 'External FX' in VST Connections, created a Midi Device on the Midi Device Manager screen (and added patch names) and associated the two in the Midi Device column on the 'External FX' screen.

But where can the patch names be selected? - As far as I can see, the only way to select patches for an external hardware effect unit from within N5 is to embed Program Change commands in Parts on a Midi Track set to the correct Midi Out and Midi Channel.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

OS: Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.2004.
PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.
Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).
Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.
Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1507
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: Selecting External Effect Patches

Post by fenderchris »

.....and the solution is to create a Midi Track pointing to the External Effect.

With regard to creating a Midi Device that contains all of the patch/preset names, this does not appear to function in Nuendo. I spoke to two different people a Steinberg's European Support today and neither of them could get it going. Actually, they did not even want to try, so perhaps they know there are issues in that area. I solved the problem by copying and editing an extant script file made for another piece of hardware - (The PCM-91 sure has a lot of patch names to edit in!)
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

OS: Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.2004.
PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.
Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).
Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.
Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2681
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Selecting External Effect Patches

Post by Fredo »

Unless I am mistaking, this is done through "device panels".
We have build devise panels for our TC6000 and Lexicon 960, and it took us a lot of time to create these presets.
So have a look at "device panels", create them once for each unit you want to connect.

There are a few Cubase users who have created device panels for the most common unints.
I even think they are for free.

Fredo

Bernhard
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 7:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting External Effect Patches

Post by Bernhard »

Unless I am mistaking, this is done through "device panels".
We have build devise panels for our TC6000 and Lexicon 960, and it took us a lot of time to create these presets.
Hi Fredo, can I get a copy of your TC6000 device panel preset?
Bernhard

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2681
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Selecting External Effect Patches

Post by Fredo »

Are you nuts?
;o)

Check your email.
Nice hearing aid BTW ... :D

Fredo

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1507
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: Selecting External Effect Patches

Post by fenderchris »

Fredo wrote:Unless I am mistaking, this is done through "device panels".
We have build devise panels for our TC6000 and Lexicon 960, and it took us a lot of time to create these presets.
So have a look at "device panels", create them once for each unit you want to connect.

There are a few Cubase users who have created device panels for the most common unints.
I even think they are for free.

Fredo
Hi Fredo,

I have done that using Midi Device Manage in N5.5.3 - but it does not work if creating a Device from scratch and following the instructions in the user manual.

In the last couple of days I have manually (in Notepad) created script files for the following:

Lexicon PCM-91
Lexicon MPX-500
Roland TD-20X V-Drums
Korg SP-100 Piano
Viscount DB-3 Hammond Keyboard

The only one I still have to figure out is a TC-Electronic FireworX effect.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

OS: Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.2004.
PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.
Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).
Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.
Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

R
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Selecting External Effect Patches

Post by R »

Hi Fredo,

Do you still have your TC System 6000 device panel? Could I get a copy please?

Thanks, R
Windows 10 Pro X64. 1 PC for Nuendo 10, WaveLab Pro 9.5.25
Windows 10 Pro x64. 1 PC for Pro Tools 12.8 HDX MADI
ASRock Fatal1ty X399
EVGA RTX 2080Ti
AMD RYZEN Threadripper 2990WX 32 Core
128GB DDR4 3600 Memory
RME HDSPe Madi-FX
RME HDSPe AES x 2
Avid AM713 x3, MA703 x2, DM714, MD704, FC726, ML530
Avid System 5 Console, 300 channels with Colin Broad P2MMC-USB for transport control from desk to Nuendo and PT
Genelec 1038B Mains, 7271A Sub x 2, 8240A surrounds
TC Music 6000 MKII, Lexicon 960L, Bricasti M7, PCM Native, Waves Mercury, Izotope 8, Slate Trigger 2

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests