Page 1 of 1

reset the scanning for waves

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:41 pm
by scarsosb
hello all,

I uninstalled my waves 8 bundle as I wanted to do a fresh install for my new waves 9.

Now every time I start N5.5.2, it ask to locate the waves plugins 8.0 folder.

Can you tell me how can i stop this warning. I verified and I don't see any trace of waves anywhere in my computer.

Thanks,

H

Re: reset the scanning for waves

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 6:44 pm
by Fredo
Apparently you didn't un-install V8 correctly.
Search for waveshell.dll's and remove those.

Fredo

Re: reset the scanning for waves

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:02 pm
by scarsosb
I can't find any waveshell anywhere.

Is there a way to reset Nuendo scan at the loading ?

it must be a preference or a setting in Nuendo.

Thanks so much
H

Re: reset the scanning for waves

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:55 pm
by Fredo
I don't understand (anymore) ...

Is this the same issue you are talking about or two different?
If Nuendo ask for Waves 8 upon startup, then it means that Waves V8 is not properly uninstalled.

Nuendo scans all plugins upon the first launch of Nuendo (and when daylight savings are changed).
After that first launch, all should be smooth and fast.
And with Waves V9 it should be lightning fast.

Fredo

Re: reset the scanning for waves

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 9:11 pm
by scarsosb
Hey Fredo,

thanks for your help.

It is still the same problem. I uninstalled the waves 8 and apparently it wasn't done well. But when I look for anything "waves" related in my computer, i don't find anything. dll included. (I am running Mac OSX 10.6.8)

So is there a way for me to reset that warning on the Nuendo side which could be a preference reset or something else you would suggest ?

And every time I start Nuendo, it ask to locate the Waves 8.0 folder.

Thanks again.

H

Re: reset the scanning for waves

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:01 am
by maxhowarth
there are no dll files on a mac. if you've got a spare 10 minutes i'd happily do a teamviewer session with you. email max at redfacilities dot com

Re: reset the scanning for waves

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 4:39 pm
by scarsosb
thanks so much all,

finally i found the files with Waves 8.0 after realizing spotlight didn't list them.

HD:MAcintosh/Library/Audio/plug-ins

I was able to delete them and not have these warnings again.

Thanks.

H

Re: reset the scanning for waves

Posted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:38 pm
by AgusHardiman
There's one alternative solution to this problem, check this video (sorry it's on Studio One, but it's the same on Cubase) :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3k_Bcp04Cr4