6.02 patch - crackles!

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Andi
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Andi » Sun May 15, 2011 1:20 am

Early21 wrote:I'm not sure I'm following this VST3 direction some of you have mentioned. I was also using other VST3 plugins, but it was only the Multiband Compressor that caused the two issues for me. Can anyone else who has experienced the problem also say confirm that they were using the MBC? I know they made fixes to the MBC for 6.0.2.
Yes I have been using the MBC - it is a part of the vst3 file detailed above - the plugins are all part of a single file now - not like under vst2 where there was a file called multibandcompressor.dll.

A.

Early21
Senior Member
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Early21 » Sun May 15, 2011 2:46 am

Ah, thanks for clarifying Andi; again, it all points to the fix they included for the MBP.
Cubase 8.0 Pro, Wavelab 6 Essential, Lenovo Legion Y520 Laptop/Win10, Steinberg UR212, Izotope Ozone, Izotope RX6, NI Komplete
My album Incontinental Breakfast at http://lborden.bandcamp.com. Works in process: https://soundcloud.com/incontinentals.

Andi
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Andi » Sun May 15, 2011 12:18 pm

Early21 wrote:Ah, thanks for clarifying Andi; again, it all points to the fix they included for the MBP.
Looks like it, I ended-up in pretty well the same place that you did by a different route.

A.

User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles! (and big time delay)

Post by plectrumboy » Sun May 15, 2011 9:24 pm

Early and Andi,

that's brilliant investigative work. I've just spent the weekend installing a new hard disk with Windows 7 64 bit and reloading all my music software, and I took your advice about keeping the vst3 plugin set from 6.0 on my desktop.

I confirm that I have the exact same issue regarding huge delay introduced with 6.02 when trying to track guitar, and this problem vanishes when I replace the 6.02 vst3 plugin set with the 6.0 vst3 plugin set.

Fantastic work, gentlemen, thank you! I've got a beautifully working Cubase 6.02 again!

Steve.
Scan 3XS desktop i7 5820 @ 4.0 Ghz on Asus x99 Pro 32Gb running Windows 10 pro with Thunderbolt card; MacBook Pro 2018 32gb, 2x UR824, UAD Apollo Twin Mk II Quad; Icon Qcon Pro X + 1x Pro XS, Cubase 10.5 (most recent), Jamstix 4, The Grand 3, HSO, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns Pro, Mark 1, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, Kontakt, VST Connect Pro.

Gr8h8m
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Gr8h8m » Mon May 16, 2011 6:37 am

Can someone upload a copy of "Cubase plug-in set.vst3" v6.01 and post a link here? It would really save a lot of people a lot of time. Thanks.

Midibass
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Midibass » Mon May 16, 2011 12:24 pm

Gr8h8m wrote:Can someone upload a copy of "Cubase plug-in set.vst3" v6.01 and post a link here? It would really save a lot of people a lot of time. Thanks.
+1

Really would appreciate it.
Cubase 10.0.10 and Macbook Pro 15" OSX 10.13.6

80s Synthwave music: http://www.CodeElektro.com
Pro Sound Designer and Composer: http://www.ahmatron.com

User avatar
sonicstate
Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by sonicstate » Mon May 16, 2011 12:58 pm

Gr8h8m wrote:Can someone upload a copy of "Cubase plug-in set.vst3" v6.01 and post a link here? It would really save a lot of people a lot of time. Thanks.
Here we go again, hex editor style DIY fixing Cubase..... :roll: :oops:

:idea: How about Steinberg fixes the file today, and makes it available tomorrow as maintenance update??? Is that too much to ask?? Hallo, Steinberg?
Cubase Pro 8.5, Win 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, M-Audio Axiom AIR Mini 32, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...

markmcfarlane
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:34 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by markmcfarlane » Mon May 16, 2011 4:45 pm

I just wanted to add I am also experiencing the crackle problem with 6.0.2. I don't use any VSTs from Steinberg. I'm on OSX. I'll be trying to fix the problem tonight, it impacts about 13 different projects I am currently working on, showed up the first time last weekend when I had a band in tracking (for fee), a major embarrassment.
Mark McFarlane
Cubase 7.0.7, OSX 10.9.2, MacMini (Fall 2012), Lynx Aurora16 w/ LT-USB, plug-ins from many vendors, rarely use any midi or VSTis..

User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
Posts: 654
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by plectrumboy » Mon May 16, 2011 6:45 pm

Both Early and myself have reported problems with the large audio delay introduced with 6.02. Does anyone else have this specific problem with 6.02? I'm asking because crackles may be more difficult to pin down as caused by one source, whereas the huge delay introduced by the 6.02 multiband compressor can be easily narrowed down. I'm thinking in terms of a reproduceable bug report for Steinberg.

Steve.
Scan 3XS desktop i7 5820 @ 4.0 Ghz on Asus x99 Pro 32Gb running Windows 10 pro with Thunderbolt card; MacBook Pro 2018 32gb, 2x UR824, UAD Apollo Twin Mk II Quad; Icon Qcon Pro X + 1x Pro XS, Cubase 10.5 (most recent), Jamstix 4, The Grand 3, HSO, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns Pro, Mark 1, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, Kontakt, VST Connect Pro.

Gr8h8m
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Gr8h8m » Mon May 16, 2011 8:14 pm

Gr8h8m wrote:Can someone upload a copy of "Cubase plug-in set.vst3" v6.01 and post a link here? It would really save a lot of people a lot of time. Thanks.
Or..if you don't want to post an open link, could someone just PM the file to me? Many thanks if you do!

Early21
Senior Member
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Early21 » Mon May 16, 2011 9:04 pm

plectrumboy wrote:Both Early and myself have reported problems with the large audio delay introduced with 6.02. Does anyone else have this specific problem with 6.02? I'm asking because crackles may be more difficult to pin down as caused by one source, whereas the huge delay introduced by the 6.02 multiband compressor can be easily narrowed down. I'm thinking in terms of a reproduceable bug report for Steinberg.

Steve.
Steve, in my case, the multiband compressor caused both the delay and the crackles. Turn it off, and both went away. This was the case with any random project that I have in Cubase 6.0.2. I couldn't find any other variable. Of course, it may be related to 64-bit, or the particular intel processor, or something else, but I couldn't check for that.
Early
Cubase 8.0 Pro, Wavelab 6 Essential, Lenovo Legion Y520 Laptop/Win10, Steinberg UR212, Izotope Ozone, Izotope RX6, NI Komplete
My album Incontinental Breakfast at http://lborden.bandcamp.com. Works in process: https://soundcloud.com/incontinentals.

Gr8h8m
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Gr8h8m » Mon May 16, 2011 9:25 pm

Gr8h8m wrote:
Gr8h8m wrote:Can someone upload a copy of "Cubase plug-in set.vst3" v6.01 and post a link here? It would really save a lot of people a lot of time. Thanks.
Or..if you don't want to post an open link, could someone just PM the file to me? Many thanks if you do!
Or.. v6.0. Thanks! :D

Gr8h8m
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Gr8h8m » Tue May 17, 2011 4:05 am

No worries - just uninstalled 6.02, reinstalled 6.0, backed up vst3 file, updated to 6.01, backed up new vst3 file, finally updated to 6.02 and then over-wrote this vst3 with the 6.01 version.
CPU spikes have now gone for me, which is really weird, as I'm not using any steinberg vst3 plugins!

Santuzzo
Junior Member
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Santuzzo » Wed May 18, 2011 9:47 am

sonicstate wrote:
Here we go again, hex editor style DIY fixing Cubase..... :roll: :oops:

:idea: How about Steinberg fixes the file today, and makes it available tomorrow as maintenance update??? Is that too much to ask?? Hallo, Steinberg?
I agree.

I think Steinberg should show some more input in this and offer a fix.

Lars

MikiMart
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:58 am
Contact:

Since updating to 6.0.2 Cubase has become unstable

Post by MikiMart » Wed May 18, 2011 12:21 pm

Hi there,

as I said in another thread I'm experiencing all sort of trouble since updating to Cubase 6.0.2.

Cubase has become unstable and behaves in a strange way.
Namely, my plug-ins (NI Komplete 7, Reaktor or Massive for example) are visibly "suffering", tend to slow down (especially when loading a preset) or "freeze" for a while and then back in order again...

With Engine (Yellowtools) opened as plug-in, I can hear cracKlings...

The fact is that when I open these softwares in standalone, they just work great at their usual speed and precision. No issues at all.

If you consider the specs of my computer (see below), we should assume that is well equipped and prepared to any working situation. On top of this, it has been optimized for audio.

In order to carry on working on musical projects, I have to use a previous edition of Cubase, the no. 5 which seems to be, so far, more stable and reliable.

Now, what are we supposed to do?...

Thanks.
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R | i7-950 | 8-Core in HTT | HyperX DDR3 24 GB Ram | RME HDSPe RayDAT + HDSP9632 WCM | W7 Pro 64bit | Cubase Pro9 | Wavelab Pro9 |

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1296
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by matjones » Wed May 18, 2011 5:32 pm

Initially i had no problems with this update at all.... it seems that with existing pre 6.0.2 projects everything is fine, but today starting a new project i'm noticing all manner of nasty crackles... no kind of pattern to them other than having to NOT use various VST3 plugins... wide band comp seems to be ok... REVerence doesn't seem too happy, nor do the studio chorus and delay...
I think i may know someone up the road who hasn't patched theirs yet so i think i will go and grab a copy of their VST3 file!

Please post the relevant file on the FTP site steiny... this is the LEAST you could do under the circumstances!
Cubase 10.0.40 Asus Z390-Plus, i9 9900 @ 3.7GHz, 64GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus RX 570, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, UAD2 Octo/Solo/Quad, UA6176, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 10, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC7, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Sontronics, Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, ATH-M70x, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

User avatar
NorthWood MediaWorks
Senior Member
Posts: 2339
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by NorthWood MediaWorks » Thu May 19, 2011 3:56 am

I finally started a new project in 6.02 as opposed to opening ones from previous versions of 6x and 5x, now I am experiencing what others were indicating.... snap, crackle pop ...

Can someone at Steinberg please comment?

I had no problems prior to today, my rig has not changed other than applying the 6.02 patch.

thx
Robin
Visit Northwood Mediaworks!
| Cubase Pro 8.5.20 | Wavelab 8.0.3e | HSO | Padshop Pro | Win10pro 64 | i7 16Gb | UR44 | Angry Wife |
| OSX 10.12.6 | MacBookPro Retina 15 | Loads of Other Stuff |

andreasm
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:37 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by andreasm » Thu May 19, 2011 8:10 am

The last fix of the Multiband Compressor introduced CPU-spikes if your using small ASIO-blocksizes, that's correct.
I will see, if further optimizing can tame this rather nervous behaviour. A workaround for now is to use larger blocksizes (> 512) when using the MB-Compressor. If latency is an issue I wouldn't use it in direct recording paths anyway, as it has more than 1700 smp delay for 44.1 kHz. Record without the MB-Compressor and then use it afterwards for mixing/mastering. Don't use the previous version ( < 6.0.2) with ASIO-blocksizes < 1024 samples, 'cause
it introduced some artefacts as it was metioned in a different thread here.
Andreas Mazurkiewicz, Technical Lead Plug-in Set
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Mike07
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:00 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Mike07 » Thu May 19, 2011 8:05 pm

NorthWood MediaWorks wrote:I finally started a new project in 6.02 as opposed to opening ones from previous versions of 6x and 5x, now I am experiencing what others were indicating.... snap, crackle pop ...

Can someone at Steinberg please comment?

I had no problems prior to today, my rig has not changed other than applying the 6.02 patch.

thx

Same here :-(
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Cubasis, Win 10

HantuUK
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by HantuUK » Thu May 19, 2011 11:08 pm

Mike07 wrote:
NorthWood MediaWorks wrote:I finally started a new project in 6.02 as opposed to opening ones from previous versions of 6x and 5x, now I am experiencing what others were indicating.... snap, crackle pop ...

Can someone at Steinberg please comment?

I had no problems prior to today, my rig has not changed other than applying the 6.02 patch.

thx

Same here :-(
And same here. Reinstalled 6.0 both on PC and MacBookPro, everything okay now after head scratching for the last two weeks.

smartinuf
Junior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by smartinuf » Sun May 22, 2011 5:31 am

I've had dropouts and crackles from CPU spikes that would occur in a particular song on a 7 hour project file containing about 40 songs (live recording). Curiously it only seemed to happen on this one song but not necessarilly the same place in the song. This was on a 6.0.0 project with low track count and plug in use that should have played back fine. I did have at least one instance of Steinberg multicompressor installed in the project. Increasing buffer size did not help.

I did a backup of the song by itself, editing out audio files for other songs and then using "minimize audio files" and "remove unused files" in the backup project options dialog box.

After this procedure the problem still existed (very frustrating). I then updated cubase to 6.0.2 from 6.0.0 and at the same time updated my UAD -1 software and the problem went away, at least so far. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

At the time I experienced this I was not aware of this thread and the association of the multicomp with this problem so I didn't even mess with it. Since the update fixed the problem (with same amount of instances of multicomp), I just got back to work.

I thought I'd add this because I thought it curious that an update to 6.0.2 rather than a reversion from 6.0.2 is what worked for me. -may help as another piece of the puzzle.
Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 Ghz (early 2008), 10.10.5, 12 gig RAM, RME Digiface, UAD2, Macbook Pro (Late 2008) Fireface 800, Cubase 8.0.35, 8.5.1, Wavelab 8.5.3, Wavelab Elements 8

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1296
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by matjones » Sun May 22, 2011 9:05 am

I managed to grab a copy of the 6.0.0 vst3 plugin file a couple of days ago from a mate who hasn't updated yet...... replaced the file yesterday morning, by early evening i still had not had one single crackle!....

I think steinberg should AT LEAST post this file as an interim measure, until the post a proper fix for it, for those still having problems so they don't have to go through the hassle of un/reinstalling.. it's only 10MB or so, so it's not exactly huge is it!
Cubase 10.0.40 Asus Z390-Plus, i9 9900 @ 3.7GHz, 64GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus RX 570, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, UAD2 Octo/Solo/Quad, UA6176, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 10, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC7, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Sontronics, Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, ATH-M70x, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

Santuzzo
Junior Member
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by Santuzzo » Sun May 22, 2011 9:10 am

matjones wrote: I think steinberg should AT LEAST post this file as an interim measure, until the post a proper fix for it, for those still having problems so they don't have to go through the hassle of un/reinstalling.. it's only 10MB or so, so it's not exactly huge is it!
I agree. But so far Steinberg has shown very little response with regard to this issue. To me, that is very disappointing.
C'mon, Steinberg at least show a reaction, so we know you are working on it, and keep us up dated.

markmcfarlane
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:34 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by markmcfarlane » Sun May 22, 2011 11:30 am

I'm on Mac OSX. I started getting the crackles after the 6.0.2 upgrade and I do not knowingly use Steinberg's multiband or any other steinberg VSTs, I Only use third party VSTs. I reinstalled 6.0.0 and, although the reinstall failed at the end (5 or 6 times), Cubase 6.0.0 still ran after a failed install and more importantly all of the crackles went away.

One more data point...
Mark McFarlane
Cubase 7.0.7, OSX 10.9.2, MacMini (Fall 2012), Lynx Aurora16 w/ LT-USB, plug-ins from many vendors, rarely use any midi or VSTis..

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: 6.02 patch - crackles!

Post by alexis » Sun May 22, 2011 4:43 pm

Can someone who is pretty sure about this please post what to do (with the VST3 folder?) before upgrading from 6.00 to 6.02 to avoid all this horror?

And ... did this problem just occur when 6.02 was released? Would it be likely I'd be OK if I wanted to update to 6.01, or were there problems with that also?

Thanks!
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

Locked

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests