Pitch Change on Instrument Tracks

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Ant G Mann
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 7:06 am
Contact:

Pitch Change on Instrument Tracks

Post by Ant G Mann »

Hi. I have posted about this before, but it is happening again, so I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas. My audio interface is Komplete Audio 6 with up to date drivers and firmware. Often when I start a new instrument track in Cubase and play into it through my Midi controller, the pitch of the notes will change without warning, going sharp or flat as I play. This makes it impossible to record anything. I did contact NI about this previously, and they denied it could be their interface, but I have heard of other people with this issue with Komplete Audio 6. Steinberg have said before that it could not be a problem with Cubase, but it is happening, so there is a problem somewhere. Resetting the Komplete Audio unit has no effect. Any thoughts?
Thanks,
Ant.

Windows 7 64
Decent spec laptop
Cubase 6.5

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Pitch Change on Instrument Tracks

Post by Strophoid »

Are you sure it's not some pitchbend or transpose midi messages you're accidently sending?
Check the generic remote if you've not assigned something to pitchbend by accident.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
Parrotspain
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Pitch Change on Instrument Tracks

Post by Parrotspain »

You could try filtering the unwanted MIDi data out in Preferences (unset the Record and Thru tick boxes in the relevant section). Also have a look in the note editor, filter out the actual notes and see what data remains. It could show something like pitchbend or aftertouch data affecting the MIDI.

One more question, even though it's not what you played, does the playback repeat the error in the same way every time or is it random?

P.
Cubase Pro 11.0.0

Win10 Home 20H2. Biostar A960D+ AMD FX8350. 32Gb.Ram, SSDs. UR22mk2 / UR424
Softube Console 1 Mk2: SSL4000e, BCA, ACA, Faderport (classic).

Ant G Mann
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 7:06 am
Contact:

Re: Pitch Change on Instrument Tracks

Post by Ant G Mann »

Thanks for your responses. I think I may have accidentally figured it out. I think it was the sample rate of the project I was working in, it somehow clashed with Alchemy but when I converted the project from 44.1 to 48 bit it seemed to stabilise the pitch of the midi. Does that make sense? As you can tell, my basic understanding even of concepts like sample rate is pretty lacking. Anyway, hopefully it's all sorted now and I won't need to buy a new whatever.
Thanks,
Ant.

User avatar
Parrotspain
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Pitch Change on Instrument Tracks

Post by Parrotspain »

Pleased to hear that you resolved it

P.
Cubase Pro 11.0.0

Win10 Home 20H2. Biostar A960D+ AMD FX8350. 32Gb.Ram, SSDs. UR22mk2 / UR424
Softube Console 1 Mk2: SSL4000e, BCA, ACA, Faderport (classic).

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Pitch Change on Instrument Tracks

Post by Strophoid »

I was going to say something about samplerate but figured that'd be really strange if it happened while you were playing, but I guess it's really just really strange ;)
Glad you got it sorted!
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Ant G Mann
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 7:06 am
Contact:

Re: Pitch Change on Instrument Tracks

Post by Ant G Mann »

Looks like it was the pitch bend after all. Seems my M-Audio 49 was sending faulty pitchbend data through (a common issue?), so I've filtered it out in preferences as was suggested. Hopefully that's the end of my pitch problems, they've been driving me nuts.

Thanks,

Ant.

TolanB
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2020 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Pitch Change on Instrument Tracks

Post by TolanB »

Hiya,

A few years late but I've just had this issue with my M-AUDIO CODE 49. After a lot of searching I found this link:

https://m-audio.com/kb/article/2101#pitch

The section which caught my eye was this bit:

My faders are affecting the pitch wheels in Ableton. Is this normal?

Although for Ableton this was the exact problem I had. So, changing the 'Input Routing' on all my MIDI channels from "All MIDI Inputs" to "CODE 49" in my case solved the problem !!!!

FYI my studio setup for Cubase MIDI is set at "MIDIIN3"

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: wwwFINKcz and 4 guests