Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 12:27 pm
by GE
Hi all,

I would like to edit two singers tracks in variaudio at the same time, does any one know if it's possible and how ?

Thanks a lot

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 12:49 pm
by thinkingcap
GE wrote:Hi all,

I would like to edit two singers tracks in variaudio at the same time, does any one know if it's possible and how ?

Thanks a lot
Not possible.

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 6:30 pm
by Grim
Not possible.
Steinberg seem to disagree....no access to my Cubase PC at the mo so can't check.
Talking about multiple tracks, you’ll be glad to know that the days when you manually aligned editor windows under each other are finally over. Now you can smartly edit multiple VariAudio parts across multiple tracks within one editor only!
http://www.steinberg.net/en/products/cu ... s_new.html

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 6:34 pm
by DeadAgain
Checked ... yes you can! :D Like Grim posted before.

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 6:44 pm
by thinkingcap
You can select several tracks and show them in the same editor window, but I´m quite certain, you can not
GE wrote:edit two (singers) tracks in variaudio at the same time
It´s one or the other...

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 7:09 pm
by Grim
You can select notes from both tracks at once and use the quantize pitch or straighten pitch sliders which I'd say is editing them together.....But no you can not manually edit them together, and not sure why you would want to either.

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 7:56 pm
by thinkingcap
Grim wrote:You can select notes from both tracks at once
You can? Seems I can´t...

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 8:12 pm
by Loop Breaker
I thought this would be a new feature of Cubase 7 that you can edit two "solo"Audio-Tracks at once like midi...

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 8:36 pm
by Grim
thinkingcap wrote:You can? Seems I can´t...


lasso only....maybe ctrl a for select all though I didn't try this.

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:45 pm
by thinkingcap
Grim wrote:
thinkingcap wrote:You can? Seems I can´t...


lasso only....maybe ctrl a for select all though I didn't try this.
Well, I can´t - neither one, nor the other

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 7:46 am
by GE
is there someone that could give "how to" ?

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:16 am
by thinkingcap
GE wrote:is there someone that could give "how to" ?
You mean "how to select several tracks / events"?
You need to de-select "edit active audio event only"

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 1:35 pm
by GE
More exactly, I would like to know "how to select several audio parts and edit them at the same time in variaudio" ?

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 3:07 pm
by Grim
Well it's pretty obvious aside from what thinking cap just mentioned....select the multiple events, open the editor....edit. If you don't know how to select multiple events or use variaudio at all then check the manual.

If you have a more specific question or problem or get stuck then ask, but give it a go....there's nothing requiring a detailed "how to".

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 3:23 pm
by thinkingcap
GE wrote:More exactly, I would like to know "how to select several audio parts and edit them at the same time in variaudio" ?
Have you even tried - doesn´t sound like..? If you don´t know how to select several things on a computer, you might need a basic computer course...

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 3:54 pm
by GE
Keep cool guys ..... it's just a simple question.
I know how to select multiple track parts but don't know how to open all selected audio parts in only one audio editor to use variaudio. If I double click on the multiple selection I get one audio editor windows per track parts.

I know and use cubase since existing on ATARI ST .... so please don't judge computer skills only on one question specially that i'm project leader in software development :)

English is not my mother language, do you speak french ?

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 6:59 pm
by Grim
I'm not judging your computer skills just hoping that you could narrow down your issue which you did.
If I double click on the multiple selection I get one audio editor windows per track parts.
Not 100% but I think you may need to check "link editors" in preferences/editing.

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:02 pm
by GE
"Link editor" give a link between the current position of the cursor in the project windows and the position of th cursor in the editors (audio, midi ...).

In fact, I found the solution, when selecting several audio parts and then double click on, you get only one audio editor window, OK, now before activating variaudio, deactivate the "Edit Active Part Only" button and then activate variaudio, you get one color per audio part analysed by variaudio.
When you select one note to move, the audio wave corresponding to the selected note appear in background of the audio editor window.

So, editing several audio parts at the same time in one audio editor with variaudio is possible.

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:08 pm
by thinkingcap
GE wrote:OK, now before activating variaudio, deactivate the "Edit Active Part Only" button and then activate variaudio, you get one color per audio part analysed by variaudio.
When you select one note to move, the audio wave corresponding to the selected note appear in background of the audio editor window.
only a few posts above, thinkingcap wrote:You need to de-select "edit active audio event only"
Nice to see, people actually read the answers they get...

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:37 pm
by Grim
I found the solution, when selecting several audio parts and then double click on, you get only one audio editor window,
Well this is what was suggested to you before but you previously disagreed!
If I double click on the multiple selection I get one audio editor windows per track parts.
Anyhow.. glad you've worked it out.

Re: [SOLVED] Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 7:51 am
by GE
thinkingcap wrote:
only a few posts above, thinkingcap wrote:You need to de-select "edit active audio event only"
Nice to see, people actually read the answers they get...
You're right thinkingcap, but if you had added "...in the audio editor" that would have been more clear :)

Anyway, thanks a lot for your time.
In my future question I will be more precise.

Re: [SOLVED] Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudi

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 12:10 pm
by randysrandy
Maybe I have the same issue? I am trying to do something that seems like it should be really simple, but but am having a tough time. I have two vocal tracks. I want to match the timing one of against the other manually, using VariAudio. I cannot seem to figure out how to open both tracks in the sample editor and simply drag the timing of one to visually match the other. I can open the two tracks but just can't seem to get them to display one above the other. I have tried all variation of checking/unchecking "Link Editors" in preferences, selecting/deselecting "Edit Active Audio Event Only". Why is this so hard? I could have sworn I saw them display like this a couple of days ago unintentionally. Am I missing something?

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 12:47 pm
by randysrandy
thinkingcap wrote:You can select several tracks and show them in the same editor window, but I´m quite certain, you can not
GE wrote:edit two (singers) tracks in variaudio at the same time
It´s one or the other...
I have been trying to select several tracks and show them in the same editor window to visually align the timing of one track against the other, but I cannot seem to do this, no matter whether I select "Edit Active Audio Event only" or "Link Editors". In fact, "Edit Active Audio Event only" doesn't seem to affect anything at all. I can only see one track at a time. Am I missing something? Thanks for your help.

Re: Is it possible to edit two tracks with variaudio

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2016 1:08 pm
by randysrandy
Grim wrote:Well it's pretty obvious aside from what thinking cap just mentioned....select the multiple events, open the editor....edit. If you don't know how to select multiple events or use variaudio at all then check the manual.

If you have a more specific question or problem or get stuck then ask, but give it a go....there's nothing requiring a detailed "how to".
Maybe I am having the same problem GE had. I cannot seem to display 2 tracks in the sample editor one above the other -- extremely useful to match one vocal track's timing against another when using VariAudio. Selecting both events and opening the editor opens both, sure, but then you can only select one at a time from the drop down next to "Edit Active Audio Event only". I have pored through the manual, searched, and tried random things in Cubase. No dice.