Page 18 of 19

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Tue May 22, 2012 11:53 am
by TabSel
automap -> software setup

left bottom you see the plugin types: VST2, VST3, RTAS etc...

clicking on a type reveals a list of plugins of that type.

mark all (<ctrl>-A) and uncheck any checked plugin -> unwraps all wrapped plugins
mark all and check any unchecked plugin -> wraps all unwrapped plugins

wrapping means that automap creates a new plugin, which basically is a copy of a so called "automap client" file, which might get updated on new automap releases. So, with a new automap release, sometimes these clients get updated, too, which makes it necessary to "rewrap" the plugins, which is usually stated within the release notes.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Tue May 22, 2012 3:04 pm
by funkman
ok thanks.ill try that.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Tue May 22, 2012 3:17 pm
by funkman
ok,done that,and cubase still not closing!

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Tue May 22, 2012 3:20 pm
by funkman
not cubase related,but maybe u know. why does some vstis not appear in the list to be wrapped?

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Tue May 22, 2012 3:27 pm
by csd
funkman wrote:ok,done that,and cubase still not closing!
Automap and plugin wrapping have nothing (directly) to do with the hanging on exit issue. Most likely, this worked for the other poster because it changed how quickly Cubase was releasing his Novation USB controller and just happened to be enough to prevent the hanging issue most of the time, or at least that one time. It also may not solve it for every exit.

I would almost bet that if you uninstalled and disconnected every USB midi device, Cubase will shut down everytime. Of course, it would be useless for most of people, but it would probably shut down without fail.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Tue May 22, 2012 3:48 pm
by TabSel
Automap and plugin wrapping have nothing (directly) to do with the hanging on exit issue
not necessarily.

But you have to distinguish between wrapping VST2 and VST3 plugins: VST2 plugins are not, but every VST3 plugin IS "initialized" on Cubase launch. So, initializing means, the VST3 plugin is loaded (and initialized, whatever that means; I guess it's similar to the "scan" of VST2 plugins, to get VSTID, name, categories and such), and has to be "finalized" and unloaded upon exit. So there might be code of the VST3 plugin called upon exit, which might lead to a crash... And a new VST3 Automap Client wrapper release CAN fix this crash situation.

which it did for me, it seems, up to now.

Of course, a new automap software release can also better MIDI device release time and such. But I worked with 4.4b1 for some days now, including Cubase crashing on exit. Only after using the new VST3 automap clients by rewrapping my VST3 plugs did fix the crash on exit, at least for me.


I did try to find the culprit in the past, by trashing prefs, unplugging every USB device, uninstalling virtual MIDI ports and such, and reinstalling everything step by step. And I could not find a solution.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Tue May 22, 2012 3:52 pm
by TabSel
funkman wrote:ok,done that,and cubase still not closing!
not _closing_, or _crashing_ on exit...?
funkman wrote:not cubase related,but maybe u know. why does some vstis not appear in the list to be wrapped?
which automap version?
which "plugin organization"? (scan folders, subfolders, platforms x32/x64 etc...)
which plugs don't show?

here, (nearly) everything works as expected with 4.4b1, finally, after lots of bugs before...

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Tue May 22, 2012 4:14 pm
by csd
TabSel wrote:
Automap and plugin wrapping have nothing (directly) to do with the hanging on exit issue
not necessarily
Crashing on exit is a different issue. I stand by my assertion that the hang issue is caused by some problem in Cubase's exit routine. Other factors might improve or degrade how well it works but those are circumstances, not causes.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Tue May 22, 2012 5:30 pm
by tb2496
I guess a distinction should be made between hanging on project exit and hanging on cubase exit.

if it hangs when closing the project first then its most likely a plugin. if it hangs when closing cubase (without any project being open) then its most likely something with a device driver.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Wed May 23, 2012 11:52 am
by Norbury Brook
I've posted on the FXpansion forums about this and it seems the issue with BFD is affecting nuendo 5.5 users in exactly the same way.


MC

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Wed May 23, 2012 5:13 pm
by csd
The support rep I reported this to says is now investigating the hang on exit but no word on a fix.

I would advise users to do what I've been doing - close the project (ctrl-w), wait until Cubase has closed all channels etc (obvious as you can see it doing so). Then wait a few seconds before closing Cubase and use the "x" instead of ctrl-q. May not matter after waiting, but it works consistently in avoiding a hangup and did with Nuendo as well.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 7:50 pm
by bobandrod
I had the same problem on my machine; C6 was hanging every time on exit. But it seems I solved it today. The eLicenser was put into USB 3.0/2.0/1.1 port on my PC. After I put it into USB 2.0/1.1 port, there is no problem at all. C6 starts and shuts down again and again.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 8:00 pm
by haraldsson
I have this problem when I have Virtual Guitarist 2 (version 2.0.0.422) installed. Both in 32-bit and 64-bit modes. After I removed the Virtual Guitarist 2 from my VST folder the Cubase 6.5 is spinning beautifully.

I only had the VG2 installed on my Mac.

Of course not so good that I can't use the Virtual Guitarist 2...

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 8:24 pm
by Bassbase
For automap users the betadriver 4.41b is improved in wrapping vst3 and never had a crash on exit after installing.

Greetz Bassbase

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:43 pm
by MDesigner
Just thought you guys would like to know, I opened an official support ticket. It was closed immediately saying this is a known issue. For me personally, I'm on Mac OS, 64-bit, and the "videoengine" is the cause of my crashes.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:35 am
by additive
So this is the end of the road?!

I have had this problem for 4 versions, and still in 6.5.1 it occurs.

I have tried every suggestion in 18 pages of thread, and none of them resolved it (including the one which involved unticking every single plugin one by one which took me forever)..

This is a joke!

I've opened a support ticket, and was comforted to read that Steinberg likes to close the support tickets immediately for this issue.

Come ON!

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:12 pm
by additive
At least I seem to only get a hang every now and then. It's the bug where it reports the error each time that is driving me nuts.
So the only possible fix I can find anywhere by the way (for those who are really sick of this problem) is:

Start
Run
services.msc
find Windows Error Reporting
Disable it

This won't fix the hang, but it does fix the error report.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:38 pm
by AlakaLazlo
I've had trouble with this for years... Just installed the latest Automap beta (4.4b4) and rewrapped all my plugs. Closed perfectly 3-4 times. Perhaps we have a winner...? :D

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:56 pm
by additive
I'm running the same beta and mine still crashes.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 12:54 pm
by additive
I've found the problem! Not only that, I've resolved it. Interestingly, hundreds and hundreds of forum posts on Steinberg's and Novation's forums have not resolved this issue for users. It has not been posted as a solution even once.

When I uninstall Novation Automap (any version, including the new Automap 4.4 beta 4) the problem persists... however when I manually delete all of the wrapped plugins [pluginname](automap).dll manually by going through and deleting them from both the 64bit VST folders, and 32bit VST folders, the problem goes away entirely.

Now this solution isn't very helpful if it stops users from using Automap which is essential for the Novation control surface range.

So what you can do then is go ahead and reinstall the Automap 4.4 beta 4, and it re-registers all of the wrapping around your plugins and creates new [pluginname](automap).dll files.

Load Cubase again, and it works perfectly.

It's easy then to cause the problem to occur once again. If you install a new plugin, and re-wrap using Automap 4 setup, it causes the issue to occur. So to fix it once again, you simply go through the steps with Automap above again.

I've tested it over and over, and it works every time.

I hope this helps you to help others with similar problems. I know that the ZeRO SL MkII is very popular with Cubase users.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:47 pm
by Jeff Hayat
additive wrote:I've found the problem!
Wait a minute...if i don't have automap installed, and Cubase hangs on exit, how is automap the problem? Please explain....

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 4:28 pm
by csd
Jeff Hayat wrote:
additive wrote:I've found the problem!
Wait a minute...if i don't have automap installed, and Cubase hangs on exit, how is automap the problem? Please explain....
Automap isn't the problem. It's just one of many drivers and device connections that I suspect can contribute to Cubase exiting before properly completing it's disconnects - at least that's my theory based on how this problem behaves here, and from what I've read on this thread.

Closing Cubase and the project simultaneously (ctrl-q with the project still open) results in a hang about 60-75% of the time. Closing the project (ctrl-w), waiting for it to close channels, Eucon, etc, then waiting 4-5 seconds before closing the application via the window's "x" works pretty much every time. Seems that gives it enough time to disconnect everything - whether that's the video process, automap, Eucon, drivers, etc - it avoids the problem here.

It probably just depends what Cubase has to close, how long each takes, and whether Cubase gets it right before trying to shut down, and that could vary widely from system to system. Some systems may just have a driver that always hangs, and others may have very little active so Cubase has no problem shutting everything down before it closes it's main process. Still a Cubase issue.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 4:55 pm
by MDesigner
There is no one problem. It seems to be many things all leading to the same thing: freezing up and/or crashing upon exit.

I submitted a support ticket complete with crash logs. They closed the ticket and said it was a known issue they were working on. I'm really hoping to see this fixed in the next patch, or Cubase 7 at the latest.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:48 pm
by additive
Fair enough to the replies with other hardware/software that might be causing Cubase to have the similar problems.

I was just happy that this resolved for me, and now I have a stable install after many many months.

I was also hopeful that my explanation might help others whether they have automap or other VST/hardware that might be wrapping VSTs etc.

Good luck with resolving yours, and fingers crossed Steinberg come up with a more robust solution for all.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:01 am
by sprbeast
I've been having this same problem, I did a quick google today, saw this thread and then saw someone mention removing the autowrapped pluggins I had (I'm using Automap 4 for my Novation Zero SL) and bam, problem is solved. Will try to re-wrap my plugins later to see what happens.