POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Locked

Are you getting occasional "hang on exit" problems with C6?

64bit - Yes
191
34%
64bit - Never
110
20%
32bit - Yes
107
19%
32bit - Never
150
27%
 
Total votes: 558

troutstudio
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:27 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by troutstudio » Tue May 15, 2012 1:47 am

Just updated to 6.5. Updated Windows 7 (64 bit, using Cubase 32 bit) Tried every compatibility mode. STill hanging on exit. I am very tired of this. Log:

Log Name: Application
Source: Windows Error Reporting
Date: 15/05/2012 10:30:58 AM
Event ID: 1001
Task Category: None
Level: Information
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: xxxxxxx
Description:
Fault bucket , type 0
Event Name: PCA2
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: Cubase6.exe
P2: 6.5.1.117
P3: Cubase 6
P4: Cubase 6 for Windows
P5: Steinberg Media Technologies
P6: 200
P7: -1
P8:
P9:
P10:

Attached files:

These files may be available here:
C:\Users\pk\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\NonCritical_Cubase6.exe_d4a0f6c242bb798b8eb79ddb8c359ec5217a6eb_0fc846a0

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: 3d52c9cc-9e25-11e1-a97e-00241d7d238e
Report Status: 4
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Windows Error Reporting" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1001</EventID>
<Level>4</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2012-05-15T00:30:58.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>6901</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>xxxxxxxx</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>0</Data>
<Data>PCA2</Data>
<Data>Not available</Data>
<Data>0</Data>
<Data>Cubase6.exe</Data>
<Data>6.5.1.117</Data>
<Data>Cubase 6</Data>
<Data>Cubase 6 for Windows</Data>
<Data>Steinberg Media Technologies</Data>
<Data>200</Data>
<Data>-1</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>C:\Users\pk\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\NonCritical_Cubase6.exe_d4a0f6c242bb798b8eb79ddb8c359ec5217a6eb_0fc846a0</Data>
<Data>3d52c9cc-9e25-11e1-a97e-00241d7d238e</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

User avatar
brissyproducer
Junior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:48 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by brissyproducer » Tue May 15, 2012 6:56 am

My issue is as follows.

Cubase 6.5.164bit with instance of BFD2.3.0.38 64bit hanging on close of project or exit program when project open.

Test Procedures

Test 1 :
Open cubase
Create empty project
Insert Instrument Track with BFD2 as Instrument
Close Project
= Hang

Test 2 :
Open cubase
Create empty project
Insert Instrument Track with BFD2 as Instrument
Remove BFD2 from the instrument track ie. go over to the inspector and change it to no device in the instrument track
Close Project
= No Problem

Test 3 :
Open cubase
Create empty project
Insert Instrument Track with BFD2 as Instrument
Close Cubase with project still open
= Hang

Test 4 :
Open cubase
Create empty project
Insert Instrument Track with BFD2 as Instrument
Remove BFD2 from the instrument track ie. go over to the inspector and change it to no device in the instrument track
Close Cubase with project still open
= No Problem

Any ideas for me would be appreciated

Thanks

Greg
Cubase Pro 9
Reason 8.3.2d7
Steinberg UR824
RME ADI-8 PRO
RME ADI-8 DS
CMC QC,FD and AI
2016 iMac Retina 27inch
OS : Mac El Capitan
CPU : intel i7 4GHz
Ram : 32GB OWC
Waves Various Plugins and Bundles

User avatar
brissyproducer
Junior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:48 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by brissyproducer » Tue May 15, 2012 1:15 pm

Seems to have been solved with the renaming of the videoengine.dll file

cheers
Cubase Pro 9
Reason 8.3.2d7
Steinberg UR824
RME ADI-8 PRO
RME ADI-8 DS
CMC QC,FD and AI
2016 iMac Retina 27inch
OS : Mac El Capitan
CPU : intel i7 4GHz
Ram : 32GB OWC
Waves Various Plugins and Bundles

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Jeff Hayat » Tue May 15, 2012 2:59 pm

brissyproducer wrote:Seems to have been solved with the renaming of the videoengine.dll file

cheers
This issue has nothing to do with the videoengine.dll file.

Cheers.

User avatar
brissyproducer
Junior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:48 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by brissyproducer » Tue May 15, 2012 3:59 pm

Jeff Hayat wrote:
brissyproducer wrote:Seems to have been solved with the renaming of the videoengine.dll file

cheers
This issue has nothing to do with the videoengine.dll file.

Cheers.
Beg to disagree Jeff,

My issue was directly related to it...

I am a tech support person here in Brisbane Australia and I could replicate the hang 100% of the time...

As soon as I renamed the videoengine.dll file the hangs are now gone....

So your issue may not be related and I can't explain why the videoengine.dll file was related all I can say is it was...

BFD2 and Cubase 6.5.1 64bit are 100% stable and no more hangs...
Cubase Pro 9
Reason 8.3.2d7
Steinberg UR824
RME ADI-8 PRO
RME ADI-8 DS
CMC QC,FD and AI
2016 iMac Retina 27inch
OS : Mac El Capitan
CPU : intel i7 4GHz
Ram : 32GB OWC
Waves Various Plugins and Bundles

csd
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by csd » Tue May 15, 2012 4:11 pm

brissyproducer wrote:Seems to have been solved with the renaming of the videoengine.dll file

cheers
But then you have no video support, right?

I rather doubt this is the exact cause but it could be if Cubase always has to close the video engine regardless of the project contents and then runs into some conflict that is affected by other system processes.

My suggestion to facilitate a solution is for everyone here to contact tech support. That's the only way Steinberg will take this issue seriously.

MDesigner
Junior Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by MDesigner » Tue May 15, 2012 7:44 pm

I think the cause of the hang/crash varies, and I think in many cases, the video engine IS the cause. I'm on Mac OS 10.7.3, and it looks like the video engine is causing issues for me too, even if I have no video loaded. Very strange.
Sam Hulick
Composer
http://samhulick.com
Follow on Twitter

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Jeff Hayat » Tue May 15, 2012 7:50 pm

brissyproducer wrote:
Jeff Hayat wrote:
brissyproducer wrote:Seems to have been solved with the renaming of the videoengine.dll file

cheers
This issue has nothing to do with the videoengine.dll file.

Cheers.
Beg to disagree Jeff,

My issue was directly related to it.
If this problem has to do with the .dll file, then kindly explain to me why others - me included - still have a hang problem with videoengine.dll either renamed or deleted?

Also please explain to me why Cubase 4 hangs - when Cubase 4 doesn't even have a videoengine.dll file?

Let's be clear - if Cubase 5 hangs with videoengine.dll renamed, and if Cubase 4 hangs with videoengine.dll not associated witht he app, then the problem is NOT videoengine.dll.

Guest

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Guest » Tue May 15, 2012 8:31 pm

Yer Mom III wrote:Someone had posted in another thread that after analizing why Cubase wouldn't quit he saw that it was stuck in a loop trying to write to something. Can't recall the specifics you have to do a search.
troutstudio wrote: </System>
<EventData>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>0</Data>
<Data>PCA2</Data>
<Data>Not available</Data>
<Data>0</Data>
<Data>Cubase6.exe</Data>
<Data>6.5.1.117</Data>
<Data>Cubase 6</Data>
<Data>Cubase 6 for Windows</Data>
<Data>Steinberg Media Technologies</Data>
<Data>200</Data>
<Data>-1</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>C:\Users\pk\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\NonCritical_Cubase6.exe_d4a0f6c242bb798b8eb79ddb8c359ec5217a6eb_0fc846a0</Data>
<Data>3d52c9cc-9e25-11e1-a97e-00241d7d238e</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Norbury Brook » Tue May 15, 2012 10:56 pm

brissyproducer wrote:My issue is as follows.

Cubase 6.5.164bit with instance of BFD2.3.0.38 64bit hanging on close of project or exit program when project open.

Test Procedures

Test 1 :
Open cubase
Create empty project
Insert Instrument Track with BFD2 as Instrument
Close Project
= Hang

Test 2 :
Open cubase
Create empty project
Insert Instrument Track with BFD2 as Instrument
Remove BFD2 from the instrument track ie. go over to the inspector and change it to no device in the instrument track
Close Project
= No Problem

Test 3 :
Open cubase
Create empty project
Insert Instrument Track with BFD2 as Instrument
Close Cubase with project still open
= Hang

Test 4 :
Open cubase
Create empty project
Insert Instrument Track with BFD2 as Instrument
Remove BFD2 from the instrument track ie. go over to the inspector and change it to no device in the instrument track
Close Cubase with project still open
= No Problem

Any ideas for me would be appreciated

Thanks

Greg
Same problem here,it's a PIA in front of clients here as I have to force quit and reopen Cubase if I'm moving between songs that have BFD in them.



MC
Asus X79 pro | 3930x @4.6 hex core | 32 gigs DDR3 | Crucial M4 SSD-win8 x64 | Samsung 840 SSDs | Spinpoint F3's | Poco | VSS3 DVR2 Non Lin | UAD 2| 2x MR 816 | UR824 | full CMC selection |2x Euphonix MC Mix | MC transport |Cubase 7|Nuendo 6 |Windows 8.1 x64

troutstudio
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:27 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by troutstudio » Wed May 16, 2012 2:11 am

I asked for support and this time I got a quick response from Alex at Yamaha Sydney. Alex was friendly, professional and had some suggestions. So if anyone from Steinberg Europe reads this thread, please email Alex and tell him that you are grateful and planning a bonus/pay rise for him. Seriously. You need people like Alex.

Alex described what Steinberg engineers have said (page 9 of this thread) and then asked the following:

Did it happen without plug-ins?
Did it happen with every audio interface?
Did it happen no matter where the default song was stored?
If I re-initialized Cubase prefs; did it happen and if not, how long did this "hang free state" last?

Last night over 2 hours I removed all plugins. No change. Then removed the Cubase6 settings folder. Problem gone. Put back the plug-ins in small groups (zzzzz) Still gone. Opened an old song. Still OK. Finally, opened a template I created in vs 6.02 and setup Audio connections and saved as a preset; imported MIDI setup. Closed and quit - the hang came back. The only VSTi's I have in the template are GA3 and Halion 4. I don't use BFD.

Looking at this logically, it seems to me that it's not just one plug-in or audio device, since I only just moved from Presonus to TC. I think it's in the way Cubase writes to an XML file.

The drag is - who has time for this? I did say to Alex that I feel a program of Steinberg's credentials should be able to throw up a dialog for this. And that if Charlie Steinberg were still at Steinberg, the problem would be gone. That might be a tad harsh, but Alex took it on the chin and just kept on trying to help.

I'm posting this, because perhaps if a few of use try what I did (keep your old Cubase6 folder of course - you can put it back later) we might stumble upon the point at which the new XML files have something bad written into them.

How about a competition? If I find the problem, will I get an upgrade to Nuendo? One of my friends called me an idiot - he has a cracked version of Nuendo and it's solid as a rock. :cry:

csd
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by csd » Wed May 16, 2012 2:19 am

troutstudio wrote: How about a competition? If I find the problem, will I get an upgrade to Nuendo? One of my friends called me an idiot - he has a cracked version of Nuendo and it's solid as a rock. :cry:
This problem was in Nuendo as well, though not as prevalent. When I used it I adopted a habit of closing each project, then using the "x" to close Nuendo rather than the menu "quit" and that seemed to avoid the "hang on exit" issue. Not so with Cubase though. I had to reboot my system 4 times today due to Cubase hanging on exit, and the task manager not being able to kill it.

At least I got a message back from tech support today saying they've contacted the developers. We'll see if it makes any difference though.

Based on other issues I've seen, my confidence in Cubase's stability is very low. I may just go back to ProTools for scoring, despite it using significantly more cpu power than Cubase. It's 100x more stable though, and plugins are nicely organized automatically (hint to Steinberg - there's more than one thread here that deserves attention).

troutstudio
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:27 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by troutstudio » Wed May 16, 2012 2:32 am

csd wrote:It's 100x more stable though, and plugins are nicely organized automatically (hint to Steinberg - there's more than one thread here that deserves attention).
+1000! How much work would it take to develop a plug-in manager? Way overdue, imho.

User avatar
brissyproducer
Junior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:48 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by brissyproducer » Wed May 16, 2012 2:49 am

Well I am not sold now...

Had it hang again last night...

One time it worked fine and closed without a hitch...

Another time it hung....

What is the cause STeiny?

Greg
Cubase Pro 9
Reason 8.3.2d7
Steinberg UR824
RME ADI-8 PRO
RME ADI-8 DS
CMC QC,FD and AI
2016 iMac Retina 27inch
OS : Mac El Capitan
CPU : intel i7 4GHz
Ram : 32GB OWC
Waves Various Plugins and Bundles

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2545
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Arjan P » Wed May 16, 2012 7:58 am

Chris Beuermann wrote:This we have worte several times now at the forums thrue the years:

When you end Cubase and you project is open with your loaded VST's then Cubase will give a command to the loaded plugins and "waits" for a responce back. When the responce doesn't come, then Cubase will not end. This is also the case with drivers that are being used like the used ASIO driver, drivers of your controllers. Sometimes it helps to reconnect the external devices (or to swap) the USB ports.
This is what was said on page 9 of this thread, and explains why so many different scenarios can have Cubase hang on exit. (and why the solution for one may mean nothing to the other)

What bothers me though, is the remark "When the responce doesn't come, then Cubase will not end". If this is the case - through the years even - why isn't it possible that Cubase is programmed in such a way that, after a certain amount of time, it tells the user why it doesn't end? And then gives the user the option to force quit?
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0 | Cubase 10.0.50 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Split » Wed May 16, 2012 8:54 am

Indeed, If it is actually the case that Cubase is waiting endlessly for a response from a plugin or plugins then you would think that either a report of the offending plugs could be made available or Cubase should force a close, or both.
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

troutstudio
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:27 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by troutstudio » Wed May 16, 2012 10:41 am

Arjan and Split: seems so obvious, doesn't it? That's the big question. Why can't the developers deliver what any end user would want: 1. Throw up an error dialog. 2. Quit.

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2171
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by HowlingUlf » Wed May 16, 2012 11:28 am

if(quit == true && timeSinceQuit > timeOutVal ){
forceQuit();
}
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Norbury Brook » Wed May 16, 2012 11:38 am

for me it ONLY happens when I have BFD in a project . I'm working 100% in x64 and have been working pretty solidly now for 3 months and the only time this ever arises is when BFD is in a project. I've taken to using superior drummer for most things now and when I do use BFD i quickly render as audio, however sometimes it's not possible in the earlier stages so this is when this issue become a problem.

After track laying the last 2 days the singer came in to do vocals and I had to force quit cubase between songs, it doesn't look good in front of clients having to do this.

MC
Asus X79 pro | 3930x @4.6 hex core | 32 gigs DDR3 | Crucial M4 SSD-win8 x64 | Samsung 840 SSDs | Spinpoint F3's | Poco | VSS3 DVR2 Non Lin | UAD 2| 2x MR 816 | UR824 | full CMC selection |2x Euphonix MC Mix | MC transport |Cubase 7|Nuendo 6 |Windows 8.1 x64

tb2496
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 9:44 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by tb2496 » Wed May 16, 2012 1:14 pm

troutstudio wrote:Arjan and Split: seems so obvious, doesn't it? That's the big question. Why can't the developers deliver what any end user would want: 1. Throw up an error dialog. 2. Quit.
exactly, or add some debugging mode where user see what's going on on shutdown. just like when its loading you see what's going on. when a user is forced to end task there's no log file with any useful info to help pinpoint the problem.

but somehow other software manage to get around something like this.

and opening a ticket for something like this will be a nightmare, since first level support will want solid proof of what the problem is, going through endless troubleshooting doing basic things....

User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by plectrumboy » Wed May 16, 2012 2:23 pm

brissyproducer wrote:My issue is as follows.

Cubase 6.5.164bit with instance of BFD2.3.0.38 64bit hanging on close of project or exit program when project open.
g
Norbury Brook wrote:for me it ONLY happens when I have BFD in a project . I'm working 100% in x64 and have been working pretty solidly now for 3 months and the only time this ever arises is when BFD is in a project.
I've got a recent new install of C6.51 64 bit on Windows 7 and a very recent install of BFD2 2.3.0.38 64 bit. Apart from a jBridged Groove Agent3, I'm only using 64 bit software. I've been through brissyproducer's four steps and I've not had any crashes or hangs with BFD2. I know this doesn't help, but just wanted to register the fact that BFD2 isn't causing any issues with my software/hardware setup, on either my desktop or my laptop.

Steve.
Scan 3XS desktop i7 5820 @ 4.0 Ghz on Asus x99 Pro 32Gb running Windows 10 pro with Thunderbolt card; MacBook Pro, 2x UR824, UAD Apollo Twin Mk II Quad; Icon Qcon Pro X, Cubase 10 (most recent), Jamstix 4, The Grand 3, HSO, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns Pro, Mark 1, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, VST Connect Pro.

TabSel
Member
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by TabSel » Wed May 16, 2012 3:05 pm

just for the record:

You can configure cubase to not load anything on startup.
When launching cubase, not loading anything, and simply quit the app again, cubase crashes...

so, it can't be a VST plugin issue, as there is no project loaded whatsoever, thus, no VST plugin instantiated, which could have been asked to close and never returns...

it must be something other. audio drivers or midi drivers... well, I own several DAWs and audio apps, none of them have a problem quitting.

Cubases device plugins (automap, steinbergs own SKI remote, anything)... well, even after deleting/uninstalling these device plugin dlls, cubase crashes on exit...

csd
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by csd » Wed May 16, 2012 3:18 pm

Chris Beuermann wrote:This we have worte several times now at the forums thrue the years:

When you end Cubase and you project is open with your loaded VST's then Cubase will give a command to the loaded plugins and "waits" for a responce back. When the responce doesn't come, then Cubase will not end. This is also the case with drivers that are being used like the used ASIO driver, drivers of your controllers. Sometimes it helps to reconnect the external devices (or to swap) the USB ports.
I hadn't seen this until now - waiting forever for a response is just bad programming. The longest any application like this should wait would be around 1 second, if not 500ms or less.

And as the previous poster just stated, and as I have as well, a project with no plugins will also hang on exit - that points directly to a design flaw in Cubase's exit procedure.

I've tried it with the Cubase "default" project with nothing in it and had it hang. It isn't a plugin or 32-bit bridge issue. It's just poor programming in Cubase itself that causes it to wait "forever" instead of closing the connection itself.

I have no such problem with ProTools on the same system, same controllers, same ASIO drivers. Wouldn't it be ironic if it were an ASIO issue (Steinberg's own protocol), and ProTools (and Sequoia, etc) worked better than Cubase in this regard?

csd
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by csd » Wed May 16, 2012 3:21 pm

tb2496 wrote: and opening a ticket for something like this will be a nightmare, since first level support will want solid proof of what the problem is, going through endless troubleshooting doing basic things....
It's worth doing anyway. I've submitted one, and tech support has already responded that they've forwarded this issue to development. I was emphatic in explaining how this issue will never have a 100% repro, and if Steinberg only fixes issues that customers can find for them, with a perfect repro, then half of all the software bugs they encounter will never be fixed.

tb2496
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 9:44 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by tb2496 » Wed May 16, 2012 4:01 pm

csd wrote: And as the previous poster just stated, and as I have as well, a project with no plugins will also hang on exit - that points directly to a design flaw in Cubase's exit procedure.

I've tried it with the Cubase "default" project with nothing in it and had it hang. It isn't a plugin or 32-bit bridge issue. It's just poor programming in Cubase itself that causes it to wait "forever" instead of closing the connection itself.
yeah, but remember...50% of users have zero issues. so something on your system is making it hang.

also I would guess that for Steinberg this is a non issue, since its 3rd party that makes it hang. why should they modify the exit procedure (in their view). as Chris Beuermann said...this has been going on for years and for years they just keep telling people things instead of modifying anything.

so in the end they might work your ticket and refer you to the 3rd party that's causing the issues. though for people having problems its still worth trying I guess..

Locked

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests