POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Locked

Are you getting occasional "hang on exit" problems with C6?

64bit - Yes
191
34%
64bit - Never
110
20%
32bit - Yes
107
19%
32bit - Never
150
27%
 
Total votes: 558

funkman
Member
Posts: 441
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:52 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by funkman » Sun Apr 29, 2012 8:05 pm

as i said,cubase hangs on exit for me,even if i just start cubase,dont load a project,then exit. it hangs.
PC, Windows 10,AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Processor,3.20GHz,8GB Ram. Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 Interface,Novation Nocturn 25.

Shinta215
Senior Member
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:26 pm

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Shinta215 » Sun Apr 29, 2012 8:20 pm

@diogo_cme

Check the other post you posted in.

There is no Cubase "full" 6.5.2

csd
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by csd » Wed May 02, 2012 3:35 am

This needs to be in front of Steinberg until it is fixed.

It may not be a showstopper for most, but when working quickly, especially with multiple applications, this is very time-consuming. Here it requires a system reboot most every time Cubase hangs as the process can't be killed in task manager.

Quite unprofessional that an application can't even shut down correctly, and quickly. Even worse that this has been a problem for several years.

The last bug I reported to Avid with ProTools was fixed in 2 months, and it was a rather serious issue that only affected composers, yet Avid took it seriously and fixed it very quickly. That's how a pro company operates. Are you listening Steinberg?

covux
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:20 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by covux » Sun May 06, 2012 12:28 am

Changing compatibility mode to Windows Vista (Service Pack 2) stops cubase crashing on exit here.

funkman
Member
Posts: 441
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:52 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by funkman » Sun May 06, 2012 5:36 pm

i tried the vista compatibility mode and works for me too.
im not a tech head,so could someone tell me if there is any disadvantage using this?
PC, Windows 10,AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Processor,3.20GHz,8GB Ram. Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 Interface,Novation Nocturn 25.

MDesigner
Junior Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by MDesigner » Mon May 07, 2012 3:22 am

Mac OS X Lion here, running the latest Cubase 6.0 in 64-bit. I think I've found the source of the problem. It's the 32-bit bridge. If I close any VSTs that are 32-bit before quitting Cubase, it closes nice and neat (AND pretty quickly).
Sam Hulick
Composer
http://samhulick.com
Follow on Twitter

csd
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by csd » Wed May 09, 2012 2:46 pm

MDesigner wrote:Mac OS X Lion here, running the latest Cubase 6.0 in 64-bit. I think I've found the source of the problem. It's the 32-bit bridge. If I close any VSTs that are 32-bit before quitting Cubase, it closes nice and neat (AND pretty quickly).
Maybe that solved it for you on OSX, but it isn't the cause. As noted earlier I've had projects hang on exit with no plugins at all. Can't possibly be the 32-bit bridge. I'm pretty sure all of my plugins are 64-bit anyway.

Also to note, enabling Vista SP2 compatibility mode significantly slows down save times. It was quick before. Now takes several seconds to save. I don't consider that an improvement or workaround.

peregrine
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 4:50 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by peregrine » Thu May 10, 2012 6:21 am

I work in 64 bit Windows 7, and have had reproducible instances of C6 hanging on exit, with blue screens on shut down or restart. Today I did a windows update that had a fix for Silverlight, and now everything works A-OK. I've closed C6 and restarted Windows several times without incident. Specifics on the windows update are as follows.

Security Update for Microsoft Silverlight (KB2636927)

Installation date: ‎5/‎9/‎2012 7:24 AM

Installation status: Successful

Update type: Important

This security update to Silverlight includes fixes outlined in KBs 2681578 and 2636927 . This update is backward compatible with web applications built using previous versions of Silverlight.

More information:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=231825

Help and Support:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=105787

csd
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by csd » Fri May 11, 2012 4:03 pm

Glad that the Silverlight update worked for you, but I'm guessing it simply updated some more common library or path that Cubase couldn't handle. Perhaps that will work here and for others as well.

I find it rather disturbing that to exit gracefully Cubase seems to require making any one of a list of unrelated and random OS or 3rd party application updates while tilting one's head sideways on Tuesday the day after a full moon.

It really shouldn't be this convoluted. This leaves Cubase falling quite short of pro-level reliability, even for just midi use in a ProTools facility.

peregrine
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 4:50 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by peregrine » Fri May 11, 2012 4:28 pm

Whoopsie. Got another one. C6 exit went to wait state, then after a few minutes I got a BS with a page fault in non-paged area. I'll try taking this to the seven forums. Maybe Torrent G or someone else can help ID the drivers involved.

Does anyone know if Steinberg has undertaken any investigative help? I also run SONAR here. It and the rest of the installed apps are completely stable. To my knowledge, this wasn't a problem before Cubase v6.5 .

csd
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by csd » Fri May 11, 2012 7:16 pm

peregrine wrote: Does anyone know if Steinberg has undertaken any investigative help? I also run SONAR here. It and the rest of the installed apps are completely stable. To my knowledge, this wasn't a problem before Cubase v6.5 .
I submitted a support ticket, but the rep hadn't heard about this issue. I haven't heard back since imploring the rep to push this issue with Steinberg development.

It's been there for 3 versions as far as I know. I recall seeing it in Nuendo 4, and another user here says it's been in 3 versions of Cubase now (since v4).

My educated guess is that Steinberg hasn't looked into this bug and won't until some "lucky" customer figures out a perfect reproducible scenario (which likely doesn't exist), or figures out how to hack the code, fix it, and sends the fix to Steinberg development to recompile.

I've never seen a company so reluctant to address stability issues in all my years in this industry.

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Jeff Hayat » Sat May 12, 2012 12:13 am

csd wrote:I submitted a support ticket, but the rep hadn't heard about this issue.
Gee, that's funny. A rep here in the US told me some time ago that this issue was fixed w v6. I think we all know it isn't, but the fact that the rep said it was, means that he was aware of it.

Where are you located, and which support team did you use?

csd
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:01 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by csd » Sat May 12, 2012 4:20 am

Jeff Hayat wrote:
csd wrote:I submitted a support ticket, but the rep hadn't heard about this issue.
Gee, that's funny. A rep here in the US told me some time ago that this issue was fixed w v6. I think we all know it isn't, but the fact that the rep said it was, means that he was aware of it.

Where are you located, and which support team did you use?
US - tech support via the support request form. Was this a field rep or tech support?

I doubt tech support and field reps would necessarily have the same info. In my experience,
tech support is often almost as much in the dark as customers are.

I know a field rep I might contact though. No idea if it will do any good, but worth a shot.

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Jeff Hayat » Sat May 12, 2012 5:13 am

csd wrote:US - tech support via the support request form. Was this a field rep or tech support?
Hmmm - what's the difference between a field rep and tech support?

tb2496
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 9:44 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by tb2496 » Sat May 12, 2012 10:56 am

seems like anyone above first level support doesnt really give a crap in Steinberg.

I opened a ticket for another issue a while back, and while the first level support were responsive after the problem was escalated cause the issues was more to do with the code I didnt hear from anyone. after a while I asked for an update and first level got back to me, but suggesting just basic things to try which already didnt help before.

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2545
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Arjan P » Sun May 13, 2012 4:24 pm

Nice US tech support discussion, wrong place for it.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0 | Cubase 10.0.50 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

tb2496
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 9:44 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by tb2496 » Sun May 13, 2012 4:52 pm

Arjan P wrote:Nice US tech support discussion, wrong place for it.
yes, sorry about that. though I'm not quite sure what the purpose of this thread is. I think its been established that there isnt a single problem which causes Cubase to hang on exit.

based on the fixes people post it seems like in most cases its related to external factors, like Silverlight or drivers (which would most likely cause blue screens).

also based on the poll almost half of the users have no issues. maybe the fix is more fundamental in how Cubase reacts when it encounters "unusual" situations. which might require major changes in its design, something other software might already have implemented. though I'm not a programmer so I'm just guessing.

anyways, for me things have been stable for a while. hope that doesnt change. lol

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Jeff Hayat » Sun May 13, 2012 5:33 pm

Arjan P wrote:Nice US tech support discussion, wrong place for it.
Disagree. Nothing at all wrong with what has been said here.

User avatar
Johnny B Richman
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Johnny B Richman » Sun May 13, 2012 9:08 pm

Arjan P wrote:Nice US tech support discussion, wrong place for it.
I strongly disagree as well.
Win7 x64 SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K 3,4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3, RME Fireface 400, MIDISport 4x4, MSI GeForce GTX 1060 + 2x HP ZR2440w displays
Cubase Pro 10.0.20, WaveLab 9.5.50, HALion 6

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2545
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Arjan P » Sun May 13, 2012 9:16 pm

Let's all disagree a bit more and get this topic to page 16! And then moan on a bit about this thread not being picked up by Steinberg support.. :lol:
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0 | Cubase 10.0.50 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

User avatar
Johnny B Richman
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Johnny B Richman » Sun May 13, 2012 9:32 pm

Arjan P wrote:Let's all disagree a bit more and get this topic to page 16! And then moan on a bit about this thread not being picked up by Steinberg support.. :lol:
I agree 8-)
Win7 x64 SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K 3,4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3, RME Fireface 400, MIDISport 4x4, MSI GeForce GTX 1060 + 2x HP ZR2440w displays
Cubase Pro 10.0.20, WaveLab 9.5.50, HALion 6

TripleXL
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by TripleXL » Mon May 14, 2012 11:15 am

I am using 32bit 6.5 with the latest patch installed.

Had the problem using Cubase 6 and currently suffer the problem on occasion. It isn't a consistent issue and seems to happen without any sort of pattern. Even when working in audio only (i.e. recording) it still doesn't like to shut down properly.

It's pretty irratating really. I've just moved across from the extremly stable Cubase 4 and now seem to be stuck with this niggling problem!

tb2496
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 9:44 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by tb2496 » Mon May 14, 2012 4:45 pm

its weird how software reacts to sometimes seemingly unrelated things.

I had a problem with NI's Battery 3. whenever I opened the program and clicked on the browser tab for the first time, it took about 3 to 5 minutes to finally show the contents while program became unresponsive. I tried various settings, even checked the registry. one day I decided to remove a pci controller card which had two DVD drives connected to it and now the tab in Battery opens in ~10 seconds. this happened even if I didnt have any DVD's in the drives....

also I think I've noticed if I leave my USB webcam connected sometimes Cubase will stop when opening.

for anyone having shutdown problems, it might be worth trying different hardware/software configuration.

MDesigner
Junior Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 9:20 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by MDesigner » Mon May 14, 2012 5:16 pm

Is anyone willing to share their .crash files from Mac OS? Mine always seem to start the same:

Code: Select all

Process:         Cubase 6 [25828]
Path:            /Applications/Cubase 6.app/Contents/MacOS/Cubase 6
Identifier:      com.steinberg.cubase
Version:         6.0.5.357 (6.0.5.357)
Code Type:       X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process:  launchd [363]

Date/Time:       2012-05-13 22:59:03.226 -0500
OS Version:      Mac OS X 10.7.3 (11D50)
Report Version:  9

Crashed Thread:  0  Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type:  EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: 0x000000000000000d, 0x0000000000000000
And in thread 0, the last step in the backtrace before crash is com.steinberg.videoengine. Anyone else seeing this?
Sam Hulick
Composer
http://samhulick.com
Follow on Twitter

Guest

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Guest » Mon May 14, 2012 5:20 pm

Someone had posted in another thread that after analizing why Cubase wouldn't quit he saw that it was stuck in a loop trying to write to something. Can't recall the specifics you have to do a search.

Locked

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests