Page 2 of 19

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:10 pm
by lights
I am the OP and I never use VST bridge. I use jBridge. Also I har seen this only using x64 native plugs (which I almost always do).

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:33 pm
by timmyboylad
I have posted here a few times claiming to have FOUND A PATTERN. And so far, every time I find one, eventually it becomes false.

I still have not found a regular thing that makes C6 crash on exit. I have many 3rd party plugs installed and it has happened with none and it's happened with some running.

For the past several days, I have not seen a single hang.

Shrug.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:00 am
by Jeff Hayat
This problem is three years, and two versions old.

http://www.cubase.net/phpbb2/viewtopic. ... 9025f08149

There are several more threads about this on the old forum.

Been happening here since I sarted using C5.0 64 in Vista 64. Still happens in W7. Has nothing to do with loopmash (don't use that here) nor 3rd party plugs (happens with NO plugs). Has nothing to do with memory; I have 12 GB, and have seen this when my total RAM usage with the C5 project open was at 1.3 GB. Only happens on occasion, and the problem is, even tho you end task the app, the VST Bridge, the vid engine, and Synsopos with ctl+shift+esc, there are still threads running. Sometimes it takes 5-10 min unitl the threads stop running and Cubase is no longer listed in the TM, sometimes they never stop (left it overnight once). The other part of the problem is that until all of the threads actually stop running, the computer will not shut down. The OS either goes into shutdown mode and hangs, or does a RAM dump with a BSOD. So, the only way to shut down the computet sometimes is to yank the power cable. Not good.

I am willing to bet the farm that SB is aware of this, has been for over two years, but has no clue as to what to do here. That's the entire farm.

Cheers.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:03 am
by Johnny B Richman
Jeff Hayat wrote:...the only way to shut down the computet sometimes is to yank the power cable. Not good.
No need for such a brutal act; holding Power button for cca 5 seconds will do - always.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:26 am
by curteye
Johnny B Richman wrote:
Jeff Hayat wrote:...the only way to shut down the computet sometimes is to yank the power cable. Not good.
No need for such a brutal act; holding Power button for cca 5 seconds will do - always.
Aloha
Jeff brings up a good point.

I had puter once where the only thing that get working properly again
was to PHYSICALLY un-plug it from the wall ac and plug it back in.
A forced re-start or shut-down would not do the trick.

I believe that there was some sort of chassis ground prob or such.

I cleaned it and then burned it. Felt good!


{'-'}

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:39 am
by Jeff Hayat
Johnny B Richman wrote:
Jeff Hayat wrote:...the only way to shut down the computet sometimes is to yank the power cable. Not good.
No need for such a brutal act; holding Power button for cca 5 seconds will do - always.
No - not always. Depends on how you have your Power Options > Advanced Settings set, and also your bios. Tho, to be honest, I am not sure of the heirarchy.

And even if the settigns dictate that the power button shuts down the computer, it doesn't always happen.

Cheers.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:38 am
by Johnny B Richman
It has nothing to do with Power Options (Windows) nor BIOS settings - I am not talking about "pressing" the button, but about "holding" the button for long enough time.
This is a feature of ATX motherboards / power supplies.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 4:54 pm
by Jeff Hayat
Johnny B Richman wrote:It has nothing to do with Power Options (Windows) nor BIOS settings - I am not talking about "pressing" the button, but about "holding" the button for long enough time.
This is a feature of ATX motherboards / power supplies.
Ok, maybe my posts were not too clear.

Speaking directly to the topic of this thread > when C6 does not quit entirely, and you Start > ShutDown -or- press and hold the power button, the OS does go into shutdown mode; ie, the desktop disappears, and the "Shutting Down" window appears, but the computer does not shut down (or restart). It either hangs at that "Shutting Down" window, or does a RAM dump with a BSOD, and hangs there. Thereby, a yank of the power cable is the only way to reboot.

So yes, "holding" the button for long enough time will send the OS into shutdown mode, but the computer does not shut down.

Cheers.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 5:16 pm
by dirkpiano
when you press&hold the power button for 5 seconds, a PC shuts down immediately, just like pulling the AC cable. I've never seen a PC that doesn't do this. Even when you're looking at a nasty blue screen it still works. So it's not an OS feature, it's hardware. When you see the "shutting down" window appear, that's Windows shutting down, not the hardware. Try hold the button long enough, 5 seconds should do it.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 5:37 pm
by Johnny B Richman
Exactly, this is what I had on my mind...

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:29 pm
by timmyboylad
I've never had to do this with this problem. I Cntl + Alt + Del to the task manager and tell it to end C6 "task" under the applications tab. It thinks about it for a minute then tells me the program wants to shut down. I say, "Close Program" and it quits completely. I can then restart C6 without rebooting.

That is with this particular problem.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:02 pm
by Jeff Hayat
dirkpiano wrote:when you press&hold the power button for 5 seconds, a PC shuts down immediately, just like pulling the AC cable. I've never seen a PC that doesn't do this. Even when you're looking at a nasty blue screen it still works. So it's not an OS feature, it's hardware. When you see the "shutting down" window appear, that's Windows shutting down, not the hardware. Try hold the button long enough, 5 seconds should do it.
I dont think you are understanding. I am NOT saying that pressing and holding the power button does not send the OS into shut down mode - it does. Please allow me to say it again. Here, pressing and holding the power button does send Windows into shut down mode. But the computer does not actually power down.
dirkpiano wrote:when you press&hold the power button for 5 seconds, a PC shuts down immediately, just like pulling the AC cable.
Absolutely 100% incorrect.

Cheers.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:18 pm
by arapahoe
Yes 64 bit. 25% of the time

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:38 pm
by lights
Sounds like different people are having different behavior. Some people can kill the stuck process in task manager. Others can't (I have experienced both). Some can reboot, others can't.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:05 pm
by Puma0382
Jeff Hayat wrote:
dirkpiano wrote:when you press&hold the power button for 5 seconds, a PC shuts down immediately, just like pulling the AC cable.
Absolutely 100% incorrect.

Cheers.
On my machine; 100% CORRECT (Vista32)

I think there is sometimes (not always) a setting in BIOS (Advanced Power Management...?), whereby you can determine what happens when the Power Button is held. (I'm not checking the machine right now to prove this...).

Cheers.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:33 pm
by Jeff Hayat
Then you have a problem somewhere. On your Vista32 machine, when you are booted into Windows, and you press (or press and hold) the power button, if the computer just shuts off as if you had pulled the power cable, there is a problem. Or does it immediately go into shut off mode, and take 2-3 seconds to shut off?
What is supposed to happen when you press (or press and hold) the power button, is the computer should immediately go into shut off mode, display a "shutting down" screen (or something similiar, depending on the OS version), and then physically shut off about 2-3 seconds after that. That is not the same thing as what dirkpiano wrote, when he said, "when you press&hold the power button for 5 seconds, a PC shuts down immediately, just like pulling the AC cable." Again, if that happens, there is a problem somwehere.

Cheers.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:58 pm
by Johnny B Richman
No, apparently it is you who have a problem.
You said "In 100% incorrect", I say: hundreds cases, dozens computers = always correct.
As I said it is ATX feature and AFAIK it cannot be disabled in any way - not even in BIOS.
Again, pressing the power button OR pressing & holding it are 2 completely different things - this first you can manage by BIOS / Windows, the second you cannot manage at all. If you set (in Windows) Power button behaviour to "Do nothing", even then if you press & hold it for several seconds (contrary to just press & release, which in this case does indeed "nothing"), the computer will shut down immediately (e.g. no SW "shut down mode") just like if you would unplug the power cable the hard way.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:00 pm
by Grim
To try & get this thread away from power button squabbles & back on topic. ;)

My C6 was originally crashing on exit 100% of the time.....it turned out that removing Frontier Alphatrack driver lessened if not completely stopped the problem.

However I chose to live with the crash & use Alphatrack anyway & bizzarely my crashes are much less frequent now...maybe just 5%.

Steinberg please note that the frequency is not dropping any further so unfortunately it's not likely to completely fix itself given more time :(

As others have posted...I can't spot any pattern to when it happens.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:02 pm
by samicide
holding the power button in is the same as pulling the plug, it's the same on all my computers including laptops and a netbook.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:31 pm
by Puma0382
samicide wrote:holding the power button in is the same as pulling the plug, it's the same on all my computers including laptops and a netbook.
Agreed.

Same view here - always been like this as far as I recall. And I 100% don't agree with Jeff Hayat that this means I have a problem 'elsewhere'.

(Apologies to Grim and others - please, back to your topic; sorry, sorry...)

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:51 pm
by Jeff Hayat
Ah, ok - Apologies - I stand corrected. Well, partially.

Under Ctrl Panel > Choose What The Power buttons Do > When I Press The Power Button

If you have 'Shut Down' selected, then you should see the the "Logging Off" or "Shutting Down" or or some other similiar log off screen; the computer should not just shut down immediately - if it does, you have a problem.

If you have 'Do Nothing' selected, simply pressing the power button does nothing; pressing and holding it for about 5 sec. shuts the computer down, and in this case, you should not see the Windows log off screen; the computer should shut down as if you yanked the power cable.

Clear?

Ok, now back on topic....

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:57 pm
by lights
In my capacity as grand master of nothing I officially declare this thread to be free from discussions of what your power button does or doesn't do from this moment forward.

PLEASE.

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 12:27 am
by Johnny B Richman
Jeff Hayat wrote:Clear?
To me - all the time :ugeek:
[this was the last one, I swear]

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 1:52 am
by dpolcino
BFD2 through JBridge fixes my hang FYI

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:27 pm
by virtz
dpolcino wrote:BFD2 through JBridge fixes my hang FYI
I also installed the JBridge and put in it all my 32bit plugins and it solved the problem!
No more hanging on exit and no more crashes and even my Waves plugins (NPP bundle)
recognized by my Cubase 6 64bit - and work fine!
Seems the built in VstBridge is not doing his job...