Page 1 of 10

VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:46 pm
by pondwalden
Has anyone been able to get this to successfully work?

I followed the instructions in the YouTube video and I give the performer the keycode. But when the performer hits "Connect" we BOTH get a message that says:

Sorry, connection failed: no reply. You may try again later.

The fact that both of us get the message means there's some type of connection happening. I just haven't been able to figure out what the problem is.
Was so looking forward to trying this awesome feature out.

Any ideas?

Re: VST Connect not connecting?

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 11:16 pm
by The Oracle
Do you have the "VST-Connect Cue Mix plug" active?
Should be in the "To Performer" group.

Re: VST Connect not connecting?

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2012 11:43 pm
by pondwalden
Yes, the VST Connect SE Cue Mix plug in is on the "To Performer" group. And the VST Connect SE plugin is on the actual Input Channel labelled "T/B Performer"

Re: VST Connect not connecting?

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:50 am
by The Oracle
pondwalden wrote:Yes, the VST Connect SE Cue Mix plug in is on the "To Performer" group. And the VST Connect SE plugin is on the actual Input Channel labelled "T/B Performer"
O.K., but is the PlugIn active ? I mean, is the active button blue? I had the same error message and it was because I did not had the Cue mix on.

Re: VST Connect not connecting?

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 12:46 pm
by musicullum
The Oracle wrote:
pondwalden wrote:Yes, the VST Connect SE Cue Mix plug in is on the "To Performer" group. And the VST Connect SE plugin is on the actual Input Channel labelled "T/B Performer"
O.K., but is the PlugIn active ? I mean, is the active button blue? I had the same error message and it was because I did not had the Cue mix on.
The cuemix plugin is not required to establish a connection, but for providing the headphone mix to the Performer. Other than in the video tutorial you are advised to use sends like you would in a local studio situation.
The message means that a peer to peer connection can not be established. This mostly happens when one party is behind a restrictive firewall (school, university, personal firewall etc). In this case he has to open ("forward") the relevant ports (51113 if I remember correctly). See the manual (klick the question mark).

VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:38 pm
by dlpmusic
Has anyone got this to work?

I am trying with someone and all we get is a "no reply" message after he puts in the key I give him after I log in.

Any help would be appreciated.

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:41 pm
by Hummelong
Judging from your sig line, it is because you are still running Cubase 6.04 :D

Seriously, haven't tried VST Connect yet. Interested to see if you can get it to work.

Mike

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:36 pm
by dlpmusic
Has anyone tried this and got it to work yet?

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:56 pm
by MusicTECH
Tried doing it here with two computers in my own house (both connected to the internet), but can't get it to work. Logged in from studio computer after setting it up per the PDF manual instructions. Then, when try logging in with the key id on the "performer" computer, it says that a studio with that id is not logged in.

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:43 pm
by MusicTECH
Also tried doing it with their built-in template on a new project. When I try to connect on the "performer" computer, it just gives me an "unknown error".

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:48 pm
by musicullum
you can not connect within your local network, a connection requires two different ip addresses. Currently, "Unknown error" is beeing reported, the next update will tell you exactly this.

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:07 am
by dlpmusic
I am trying to connect to other locations with no luck.
-D

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:26 am
by musicullum
if it says "No connection, you may try again later" that means the connection server has accepted the key and everything, but the peer to peer connection fails. In this case, one of you has to open ("forward") UDP port 51113. See the manual (click the question mark icon).

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:38 am
by aptmusic9
i have the same "unknown error" problem. if anyone wants to test it with me send me a private message with a the log in key and I'll connect, or vice versa.

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:44 am
by aptmusic9
see if you can connect to key: 36803 84717

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:13 am
by aptmusic9
changed it to 73934 65739

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2012 2:50 am
by aptmusic9
I tried it out with my buddy and it worked!

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:59 am
by Duracell
Hi
I can't get this to work. I am using the mac version of cubase 7 and VST Connect performer.
My router is configured to accept udp port 51111-51113.
The studio computer is on a raw internet line without router/firewall.
Both firewalls in the Macs are off.

I have made a wireshark trace to see what´s going on.

Both computers connects to the Steinberg server: ip: 194.6.195.159
But when the peer to peer connection is to be established both computers send on port 51111 and 51113 to each other but nothing happens in the apps. The packets data includes the data "hello version 28" which seems to me to be a sort of keep alive message. After a while it times out.

It also seems a little bit odd of which computer that starts the negotiation after the server connection is established. I have tried different connection methods and therefore different IP-adresses. It seems that the computer with the highest address starts the ptp negotiation. This means that the one with lowest IP needs to have its router/firewall configured correct. This is not good since that cannot be the clients task (performer). It shall always be that the performer has to establish the ptp connection. The studio shall be the "server" and the performer shall be the "client".

Anyway Steinberg: The VST Connect SE is a terrific idea but right now it does not work. And make sure you are using correct client/server behavior so firewalls/routers in the way can be configured correctly. Maybe using uPNP is something to consider as most people using Cubase are musicians and not computer networking guys.

Regards
Anders

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:07 pm
by mink
musicullum wrote:you can not connect within your local network, a connection requires two different ip addresses. Currently, "Unknown error" is beeing reported, the next update will tell you exactly this.
Even in a local network computers have different ip addresses ....

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:34 pm
by Duracell
mink wrote:
musicullum wrote:you can not connect within your local network, a connection requires two different ip addresses. Currently, "Unknown error" is beeing reported, the next update will tell you exactly this.
Even in a local network computers have different ip addresses ....
True, but if you are behind a router the steinberg server will se the same ip address and since the udp ports are fixed there is no way of port forwarding to the right computer.

Regards
Anders

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:34 pm
by dlpmusic
I would love to see this work.....I cannot get it to work.

Does anyone have this working reliably at this point? If so did you have to set up your router any way special?

I can log in and get a key, but the 2 machines fail to connect to each other.

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:07 pm
by Duracell
dlpmusic wrote:I would love to see this work.....I cannot get it to work.

Does anyone have this working reliably at this point? If so did you have to set up your router any way special?

I can log in and get a key, but the 2 machines fail to connect to each other.
You have to port forward udp ports 51111 to 51113 on both sides. But I can not get it to work even after that.
I can see the traffic coming to the computers on each side but nothing happens.

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:20 pm
by R
I was able to set this up with a buddy. We could see each other from the webcams (The video is flaky to say the least)and hear each other from the To Performer and Performer monitor but I could not record his audio using the built in template. No audio is passed through the "Performer Rec" channel when sourced to "TB/Performer". I have followed the guide and the video to the T but with no success.

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:25 pm
by mink
Duracell wrote:
mink wrote:
musicullum wrote:you can not connect within your local network, a connection requires two different ip addresses. Currently, "Unknown error" is beeing reported, the next update will tell you exactly this.
Even in a local network computers have different ip addresses ....
True, but if you are behind a router the steinberg server will se the same ip address and since the udp ports are fixed there is no way of port forwarding to the right computer.

Regards
Anders
Then the implementation on steinbergs side is insufficient , as the combination of ip/port should be unique for each machine.
Networking for beginners....

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:39 pm
by Duracell
mink wrote:
Then the implementation on steinbergs side is insufficient , as the combination of ip/port should be unique for each machine.
Networking for beginners....
So true, and the server should respond to the client source port not the fixed 51111 or 51113.