VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
debugger
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 11:38 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by debugger »

musicullum wrote: You cannot connect using a local IP. The PRO version will show an extra button in the Performer app when Cubase/Nuendo has started a VST Connect PRO instance. Only clicking this allows for local connections.
musicullum already wrote that this scenario is a feature of the VST Connect PRO version.
With it, you can connect in your local network.

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1329
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by Patanjali »

debugger wrote:musicullum already wrote that this scenario is a feature of the VST Connect PRO version.
With it, you can connect in your local network.
But how long after it was first available, and why only for the PRO version, when it is a trivial difference?
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by musicullum »

it works with the PRO version so it's not "locked out".
musi

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1329
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by Patanjali »

musicullum wrote:it works with the PRO version so it's not "locked out".
Don't you think it is a bit absurd that you can use it to record around the world for free, but you have to pay to use it in the room next door?
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

debugger
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 11:38 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by debugger »

Patanjali wrote: Don't you think it is a bit absurd that you can use it to record around the world for free, but you have to pay to use it in the room next door?
Being able to record another room is aimed at studios with multiple rooms that are not wired up except for LAN. It's where the PROs are working. And it's not the only PRO feature (just think of the High Quality sync possibilities, multi tracking, encryption etc.). As a "home" user you usually don't have a multi room setup.

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1329
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by Patanjali »

debugger wrote:As a "home" user you usually don't have a multi room setup.
I suspect that "home" users usually don't connect around the world either!

However, a "home" user, with their typically restricted space (see the Studio Pics thread), could easily use VST Connect SE to accommodate extra musos in another room on occasions, or for loud performances that would swamp monitoring.

I think both scenarios have just as much chance as each other, but one requires a non-trivial outlay for an occasional user when it is a simple IP range difference that prevents it.

In the end, for those for whom PRO has a distinct ongoing usage scenario, especially for the extra facilities, the price is not prohibitive, but it seems an arbitrary difference for those with just an occasional remote requirement.
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by Strophoid »

Sorry, but Steinberg is free to charge whatever they want for any feature. The fact that the paid version is called pro means absolutely nothing, as if padshop pro is for professionals only.
Of course it's an arbitrary difference, Steinberg gives you an incentive to buy the paid version, why would they develop the whole thing and give it away for free 'because it would be useful for most people with an occasional remote requirement'. That makes less sense to me than calling the paid version pro and giving it some useful additional features like local network support.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

doronnagar
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 11:58 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by doronnagar »

So, Has anyone got it to work yet?

debugger
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 11:38 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by debugger »

doronnagar wrote:So, Has anyone got it to work yet?
Yes, works great.

What doesn`t work?

Jim B
Member
Posts: 419
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by Jim B »

Same here,

I use VST Connect SE fairly regularly and it all works fine for me!!

And I discovered something recently! If I have a vocalist sing lead vox and then I want him to add harmonies, I just drag his lead vox track down until Cubase creates a new track, and then the vocalist can hear his original and record a harmony track :o I don't have to worry about routing or anything technical, it just simply works!!! Last time I did this I had 1 lead vox and 4 extra harmonies recorded within half an hour and it all worked brilliantly

One thing though, I notice that the free VST Connect performer software had been updated and I wondered if there was any updates coming for the business end of the programme?

I am connecting tonight with a performer using the latest updates so if I encounter any issues I will report back but, as I said at the start, all works fine for me?

Jim B
Musician, songwriter, singer, guitarist, band member.
System: HP Ali-in-One 24-f0xx, Intel i3-813OU CPU @2.20GHz 2.21 GHz, Windows 10 64bit.
DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5.12, Focusrite 2nd gen 1818i interface, Padshop Pro, Halion Sonic 3, VST Connect Pro, PreSonus e 4.5 monitors, AKG K240 cans.
Instruments: M Audio KeyRig 49, Sigma OMT-1STE+ acoustic guitar , Washburn D20n acoustic guitar, Weissenborn lap slide acoustic guitar, Epiphone resonator acoustic guitar, Fender Deluxe Roadhouse stratocaster

Our band singles recorded using Cubase & VST Connect: https://soundcloud.com/stanhope-road

charltonp
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 4:57 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by charltonp »

using vst connect pro in nuendo 7 - no one can connect (ive been using for a couple years successfully, btw)
whether local over lan or remote performer gets the you are already in a session popup but no connection.
wildly irritating.
any ideas?

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by musicullum »

charltonp wrote:using vst connect pro in nuendo 7 - no one can connect (ive been using for a couple years successfully, btw)
whether local over lan or remote performer gets the you are already in a session popup but no connection.
wildly irritating.
any ideas?
"You are already in a session" is most definately not presented when you connect locally. This message is generated by the connection server which is not invoked at all in this case.
Also this very rare message is only generated when you are logged in already, and then try to connect from another IP address. Should the application crash such that a logout is not invoked, you may have to wait for 30 minutes and then you can log in again.
musi

tomplatz
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 12:27 pm
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by tomplatz »

Patanjali wrote:
Fri Jul 11, 2014 10:10 am
musicullum wrote:it works with the PRO version so it's not "locked out".
Don't you think it is a bit absurd that you can use it to record around the world for free, but you have to pay to use it in the room next door?
Hi there. Interesting question. If you ask me I would say that it is the reality. Of course, everyone would like to have it for free but companies try to earn some money on it :|

DontWorry
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by DontWorry »

Duracell wrote:
Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:59 am
Hi
I can't get this to work. I am using the mac version of cubase 7 and VST Connect performer.
My router is configured to accept udp port 51111-51113.
The studio computer is on a raw internet line without router/firewall.
Both firewalls in the Macs are off.

I have made a wireshark trace to
see what´s going on. Both computers connects to the Steinberg server: ip: 194.6.195.159 But when the peer to peer connection is to be established both computers send on port 51111 and 51113 to each other but nothing happens in the apps. The packets data includes the data "hello version 28" which seems to me to be a sort of keep alive message. After a while it times out.

It also seems a little bit odd of which computer that starts the negotiation after the server connection is established. I have tried different connection methods and therefore different IP-adresses. It seems that the computer with the highest address starts the ptp negotiation. This means that the one with lowest IP needs to have its router/firewall configured correct. This is not good since that cannot be the clients task (performer). It shall always be that the performer has to establish the ptp connection. The studio shall be the "server" and the performer shall be the "client".

Anyway Steinberg: The VST Connect SE is a terrific idea but right now it does not work. And make sure you are using correct client/server behavior so firewalls/routers in the way can be configured correctly. Maybe using uPNP is something to consider as most people using Cubase are musicians and not computer networking guys.

Regards
Anders
Has anyone got this to work?

I am trying with someone and all we get is a "no reply" message after he puts in the key I give him after I log in.

Any help would be appreciated.

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by musicullum »

There are two methods of connecting:
a) log in with your mySteinberg credentials and find your friend (who also needs to be logged in) in the friends search, or klick to connect if he or she is already a friend and online. This should work on both ends.
b) Do *not* log in (neither Studio, nor Performer). Studio clicks the "ID" button and receives a 2-Part number. Communicate this number to the Performer to enter precisely as is, and ask him or her to connect.
musi

gsmccar
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by gsmccar »

So, I can connect with the performer just fine. He can hear me over the talkback mic and he hear the cue tracks. But I can't get a signal from him. We set his and my interface using all the different three choices (Stereo, MIc 1, Mic 2). Nothing. Both sets of green lights are on. Could his interface be the problem?

It would appear that his signal (mic or instrument) is not (1) getting through his interface, or (2) not getting through the Performer software.

Any suggestions would be more than welcome. I've already scoured the VST Connect in Depth web page.
Gigabyte P27 laptop running Windows 10; Cubase Pro 10; UR44 interface; M-Audio BGX5a monitors; iLock monitors: Presonus Faderport; "Really Nice Preamp": Yamaha P95 digital piano: Nektar LX25+ controller

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1087
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by musicullum »

1) you can check on the Performer side: the mic and/or Instr channels should show meter activity (and thus, master too) to indicate that the hardware signals come thru. Without that, nothing can come thru to Cubase.
2) if those meters move when a signal is applied, Studio should hear it thru the VST Conenct Monitor plugin in the Control Room Monitor channel at any time ("From Performer" should of course be raised). Unfortunately there is no metering for that. If Studio uses headphones, the VST Connect Monitor plugin may have to be moved to after the Hedaphone Monitor instead.
You may then (if 1) applies) also try to engage the Performer Track Input monitor, even though this is explicitly *not* recommended (huge delay), but at least then you can tell if those signals arrive at the Studio.
musi

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests