VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
pondwalden
Junior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:23 am
Contact:

VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post by pondwalden » Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:46 pm

Has anyone been able to get this to successfully work?

I followed the instructions in the YouTube video and I give the performer the keycode. But when the performer hits "Connect" we BOTH get a message that says:

Sorry, connection failed: no reply. You may try again later.

The fact that both of us get the message means there's some type of connection happening. I just haven't been able to figure out what the problem is.
Was so looking forward to trying this awesome feature out.

Any ideas?

The Oracle
Junior Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: Frankfurt
Contact:

Re: VST Connect not connecting?

Post by The Oracle » Wed Dec 05, 2012 11:16 pm

Do you have the "VST-Connect Cue Mix plug" active?
Should be in the "To Performer" group.

pondwalden
Junior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:23 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect not connecting?

Post by pondwalden » Wed Dec 05, 2012 11:43 pm

Yes, the VST Connect SE Cue Mix plug in is on the "To Performer" group. And the VST Connect SE plugin is on the actual Input Channel labelled "T/B Performer"

The Oracle
Junior Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: Frankfurt
Contact:

Re: VST Connect not connecting?

Post by The Oracle » Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:50 am

pondwalden wrote:Yes, the VST Connect SE Cue Mix plug in is on the "To Performer" group. And the VST Connect SE plugin is on the actual Input Channel labelled "T/B Performer"
O.K., but is the PlugIn active ? I mean, is the active button blue? I had the same error message and it was because I did not had the Cue mix on.

User avatar
musicullum
Member
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect not connecting?

Post by musicullum » Thu Dec 06, 2012 12:46 pm

The Oracle wrote:
pondwalden wrote:Yes, the VST Connect SE Cue Mix plug in is on the "To Performer" group. And the VST Connect SE plugin is on the actual Input Channel labelled "T/B Performer"
O.K., but is the PlugIn active ? I mean, is the active button blue? I had the same error message and it was because I did not had the Cue mix on.
The cuemix plugin is not required to establish a connection, but for providing the headphone mix to the Performer. Other than in the video tutorial you are advised to use sends like you would in a local studio situation.
The message means that a peer to peer connection can not be established. This mostly happens when one party is behind a restrictive firewall (school, university, personal firewall etc). In this case he has to open ("forward") the relevant ports (51113 if I remember correctly). See the manual (klick the question mark).
musi

dlpmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

VST Connect SE problem

Post by dlpmusic » Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:38 pm

Has anyone got this to work?

I am trying with someone and all we get is a "no reply" message after he puts in the key I give him after I log in.

Any help would be appreciated.
Cubase 9.x, I7 8 5960k Core, 32 gb
Halion 6.x, Large VE PRO setup with about 2600 Tracks

https://www.samplefuel.com

Hummelong
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 4:31 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by Hummelong » Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:41 pm

Judging from your sig line, it is because you are still running Cubase 6.04 :D

Seriously, haven't tried VST Connect yet. Interested to see if you can get it to work.

Mike
Mike Hummel

dlpmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by dlpmusic » Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:36 pm

Has anyone tried this and got it to work yet?
Cubase 9.x, I7 8 5960k Core, 32 gb
Halion 6.x, Large VE PRO setup with about 2600 Tracks

https://www.samplefuel.com

MusicTECH
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:34 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by MusicTECH » Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:56 pm

Tried doing it here with two computers in my own house (both connected to the internet), but can't get it to work. Logged in from studio computer after setting it up per the PDF manual instructions. Then, when try logging in with the key id on the "performer" computer, it says that a studio with that id is not logged in.
Stephen Sherrard
Professional Mixing Engineer
DBAR Productions & MusicTECH
LoopLibrary.com

MusicTECH
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:34 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by MusicTECH » Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:43 pm

Also tried doing it with their built-in template on a new project. When I try to connect on the "performer" computer, it just gives me an "unknown error".
Stephen Sherrard
Professional Mixing Engineer
DBAR Productions & MusicTECH
LoopLibrary.com

User avatar
musicullum
Member
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by musicullum » Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:48 pm

you can not connect within your local network, a connection requires two different ip addresses. Currently, "Unknown error" is beeing reported, the next update will tell you exactly this.
musi

dlpmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by dlpmusic » Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:07 am

I am trying to connect to other locations with no luck.
-D
Cubase 9.x, I7 8 5960k Core, 32 gb
Halion 6.x, Large VE PRO setup with about 2600 Tracks

https://www.samplefuel.com

User avatar
musicullum
Member
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by musicullum » Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:26 am

if it says "No connection, you may try again later" that means the connection server has accepted the key and everything, but the peer to peer connection fails. In this case, one of you has to open ("forward") UDP port 51113. See the manual (click the question mark icon).
musi

aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by aptmusic9 » Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:38 am

i have the same "unknown error" problem. if anyone wants to test it with me send me a private message with a the log in key and I'll connect, or vice versa.
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 9.5.20
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by aptmusic9 » Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:44 am

see if you can connect to key: 36803 84717
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 9.5.20
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by aptmusic9 » Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:13 am

changed it to 73934 65739
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 9.5.20
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by aptmusic9 » Fri Dec 07, 2012 2:50 am

I tried it out with my buddy and it worked!
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 9.5.20
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

Duracell
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by Duracell » Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:59 am

Hi
I can't get this to work. I am using the mac version of cubase 7 and VST Connect performer.
My router is configured to accept udp port 51111-51113.
The studio computer is on a raw internet line without router/firewall.
Both firewalls in the Macs are off.

I have made a wireshark trace to see what´s going on.

Both computers connects to the Steinberg server: ip: 194.6.195.159
But when the peer to peer connection is to be established both computers send on port 51111 and 51113 to each other but nothing happens in the apps. The packets data includes the data "hello version 28" which seems to me to be a sort of keep alive message. After a while it times out.

It also seems a little bit odd of which computer that starts the negotiation after the server connection is established. I have tried different connection methods and therefore different IP-adresses. It seems that the computer with the highest address starts the ptp negotiation. This means that the one with lowest IP needs to have its router/firewall configured correct. This is not good since that cannot be the clients task (performer). It shall always be that the performer has to establish the ptp connection. The studio shall be the "server" and the performer shall be the "client".

Anyway Steinberg: The VST Connect SE is a terrific idea but right now it does not work. And make sure you are using correct client/server behavior so firewalls/routers in the way can be configured correctly. Maybe using uPNP is something to consider as most people using Cubase are musicians and not computer networking guys.

Regards
Anders
Cubase 7, Cubase Elements 6.03, Wavelab 7, MR816CSX, RME, Apogee, Alesis, MacPro, MacBookPro, iMac

mink
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by mink » Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:07 pm

musicullum wrote:you can not connect within your local network, a connection requires two different ip addresses. Currently, "Unknown error" is beeing reported, the next update will tell you exactly this.
Even in a local network computers have different ip addresses ....

Duracell
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by Duracell » Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:34 pm

mink wrote:
musicullum wrote:you can not connect within your local network, a connection requires two different ip addresses. Currently, "Unknown error" is beeing reported, the next update will tell you exactly this.
Even in a local network computers have different ip addresses ....
True, but if you are behind a router the steinberg server will se the same ip address and since the udp ports are fixed there is no way of port forwarding to the right computer.

Regards
Anders
Cubase 7, Cubase Elements 6.03, Wavelab 7, MR816CSX, RME, Apogee, Alesis, MacPro, MacBookPro, iMac

dlpmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by dlpmusic » Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:34 pm

I would love to see this work.....I cannot get it to work.

Does anyone have this working reliably at this point? If so did you have to set up your router any way special?

I can log in and get a key, but the 2 machines fail to connect to each other.
Cubase 9.x, I7 8 5960k Core, 32 gb
Halion 6.x, Large VE PRO setup with about 2600 Tracks

https://www.samplefuel.com

Duracell
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by Duracell » Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:07 pm

dlpmusic wrote:I would love to see this work.....I cannot get it to work.

Does anyone have this working reliably at this point? If so did you have to set up your router any way special?

I can log in and get a key, but the 2 machines fail to connect to each other.
You have to port forward udp ports 51111 to 51113 on both sides. But I can not get it to work even after that.
I can see the traffic coming to the computers on each side but nothing happens.
Cubase 7, Cubase Elements 6.03, Wavelab 7, MR816CSX, RME, Apogee, Alesis, MacPro, MacBookPro, iMac

R
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by R » Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:20 pm

I was able to set this up with a buddy. We could see each other from the webcams (The video is flaky to say the least)and hear each other from the To Performer and Performer monitor but I could not record his audio using the built in template. No audio is passed through the "Performer Rec" channel when sourced to "TB/Performer". I have followed the guide and the video to the T but with no success.
Windows 10 Pro X64. 1 PC for Cubase Pro 9.5.21 x64, WaveLab Pro 9.5.25
Windows 10 Pro x64. 1 PC for Pro Tools 12.8 HDX
Asus Rampage V Extreme
ASUS GTX Titan 12GB card
Intel i7-6950X 10 Core
120GB DDR4 3300 Memory
RME HDSPe Madi-FX
RME HDSPe AES x 2
Avid AM713 x3, MA703 x2, DM714, MD704, FC726
Avid System 5 Console, 300 channels
Genelec 1038B Mains, 7271A Sub x 2, 8240A surrounds
TC Music 6000 MKII, TC Reverb 4000, Lexicon PCM96, Lexicon 960L, Bricasti M7

mink
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by mink » Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:25 pm

Duracell wrote:
mink wrote:
musicullum wrote:you can not connect within your local network, a connection requires two different ip addresses. Currently, "Unknown error" is beeing reported, the next update will tell you exactly this.
Even in a local network computers have different ip addresses ....
True, but if you are behind a router the steinberg server will se the same ip address and since the udp ports are fixed there is no way of port forwarding to the right computer.

Regards
Anders
Then the implementation on steinbergs side is insufficient , as the combination of ip/port should be unique for each machine.
Networking for beginners....

Duracell
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect SE problem

Post by Duracell » Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:39 pm

mink wrote:
Then the implementation on steinbergs side is insufficient , as the combination of ip/port should be unique for each machine.
Networking for beginners....
So true, and the server should respond to the client source port not the fixed 51111 or 51113.
Cubase 7, Cubase Elements 6.03, Wavelab 7, MR816CSX, RME, Apogee, Alesis, MacPro, MacBookPro, iMac

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests