m4a files

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
DocMa
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:28 pm
Contact:

m4a files

Post by DocMa »

Hi there,
has anybody a solution to import m4a files to cubase?
I'm looking for a quick way to get audio files from my itunes library (from the macbook) into my cubase projects for reference tracks.

Any ideas?

Thanks, Matze!
Desktop: C9.01, Win7 64bit, RME Fireface UFX, UAD2-Quad, i7 Ivy-Bridge, 16GB RAM, SSD, NI Komplete 5+6, BFD2, Waves Gold, BFD, Addictive Drums, Fabfilter Pro-Q, WaveLab Elements
Desktop: C8.52 32bit, Win7 64bit, Focusrite Scarlett, Intel DP35DP, Core 2 Duo E6750, Intel SSD, 2x WD Raptor, 4GB Patriot RAM
Macbook: C9LE, MacBookPro (2015), 8GB RAM, OSX El Capitano, MOTU 828MKII
http://www.docmaklang.de

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1190
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by Jeff Hayat »

Convert the m4a files to one of the file formats that Cubase can read.

Cheers.

NYC Composer
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by NYC Composer »

DocMa wrote:Hi there,
has anybody a solution to import m4a files to cubase?
I'm looking for a quick way to get audio files from my itunes library (from the macbook) into my cubase projects for reference tracks.

Any ideas?

Thanks, Matze!
itunes itself will do this-I think it's under the "advanced" window-"create mp3 version". Then drag the mp3 on the desktop, then into Cubase. Good luck.
Regards, L.J.

_______________________________________________________

Cubase 10.5.12, 2019 iMac i9 8 core@3.6khz, OS 10.14.6, 72 GB RAM, scads of SSDs, Babyface Pro, OWC 4 bay Thunderbolt 3 enclosure, too many sample libraries, 90s American Series Strat, Taylor and Martin acoustics, Mexican Fender Precision.

User avatar
Parrotspain
Member
Posts: 654
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by Parrotspain »

There's a free convertor out there, goes by the catchy name of:

Free M4a to MP3 Converter 6.0 (maybe newer version numbers)

It converts to .wav or .mp3 from m4a

P
Cubase Pro 11.0.0

Win10 Home 20H2. Biostar A960D+ AMD FX8350. 32Gb.Ram, SSDs. UR22mk2 / UR424
Softube Console 1 Mk2: SSL4000e, BCA, ACA, Faderport (classic).

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5286
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by Split »

Or you can burn the m4a file to CD in WMP and import the CD tracks to Cubase (waist of a CD)
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

nexis
Member
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:49 pm
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by nexis »

mp3's as references? ...it's not the same... get your references of the original cd's or get Flac or Wavs instead. Your mixes will be 1000 times better...

nexis
Cubase 10.5 PRO, Steinberg MR816 CSX (2 of them), Windows 10 Pro, i7 Processor, 24 gigs of RAM, 3 Separate TB Drives, BluRay Burner Dual Monitors

DocMa
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:28 pm
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by DocMa »

Yeah, I know.
Sometimes there's no other way. Even if it's just to check the loudness of my songs.
Please don't give me the "don't make it as loud as other CD" stuff. If my clients want it loud, I give it to them.

Cheers, Matze!
Desktop: C9.01, Win7 64bit, RME Fireface UFX, UAD2-Quad, i7 Ivy-Bridge, 16GB RAM, SSD, NI Komplete 5+6, BFD2, Waves Gold, BFD, Addictive Drums, Fabfilter Pro-Q, WaveLab Elements
Desktop: C8.52 32bit, Win7 64bit, Focusrite Scarlett, Intel DP35DP, Core 2 Duo E6750, Intel SSD, 2x WD Raptor, 4GB Patriot RAM
Macbook: C9LE, MacBookPro (2015), 8GB RAM, OSX El Capitano, MOTU 828MKII
http://www.docmaklang.de

User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by Bane »

Wavelab is capable of importing M4A files. As for Cubase, conversion is the best.
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud

User avatar
resomedia
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by resomedia »

I use TuneClone for conversion. (Most) Songs purchased on iTunes are copy protected (AAC) and can't be converted without 3rd party software. This product does great batch conversion and is quick and easy. Worth the investment if you're doing a lot.

http://mac.tuneclone.com/
CB Pro 9.5.21 / Elements 8 (MacBook Air) / Mac Pro 2x2 (mid-2010) 4G 8-Core / OSX 10.5 "Yosemite" / 17GB RAM / PCI-e MOTU 2408mk3, MOTU 24 I/O / MOTU USB MIDI Express 128 (2)

nexis
Member
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:49 pm
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by nexis »

It's funny that this subject came up. I just received "an albums" worth of songs to mix and I was given M4A files. I hate to say the "p" word here, but I converted them using pro tools then I was able it import them right into Cubase...

nexis
Last edited by nexis on Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 10.5 PRO, Steinberg MR816 CSX (2 of them), Windows 10 Pro, i7 Processor, 24 gigs of RAM, 3 Separate TB Drives, BluRay Burner Dual Monitors

jimmys69
Member
Posts: 807
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by jimmys69 »

I am curious why Wavelab will convert, but Cubase won't. Odd....
PC Win7-64-16G i7-4790k/Cubase 5-6-7 32 bit, Cubase 8-9 Pro 64-bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/ADAM A7X/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne Editor

User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
Posts: 1728
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by Bane »

Wavelab's strength is audio. Cubase is primarily a MIDI sequencer, so I would say that they thought Wavelab must be capable of importing every format, but for Cubase it wouldn't be so necessary when you're normally dealing with Mp3's, Waves, etc.
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud

jimmys69
Member
Posts: 807
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by jimmys69 »

Bane wrote:Wavelab's strength is audio. Cubase is primarily a MIDI sequencer, so I would say that they thought Wavelab must be capable of importing every format, but for Cubase it wouldn't be so necessary when you're normally dealing with Mp3's, Waves, etc.
Suppose that makes sense. Tho it would be nice if the ability was there in Cubase.
PC Win7-64-16G i7-4790k/Cubase 5-6-7 32 bit, Cubase 8-9 Pro 64-bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/ADAM A7X/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne Editor

DocMa
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:28 pm
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by DocMa »

Yeah, would be!
Desktop: C9.01, Win7 64bit, RME Fireface UFX, UAD2-Quad, i7 Ivy-Bridge, 16GB RAM, SSD, NI Komplete 5+6, BFD2, Waves Gold, BFD, Addictive Drums, Fabfilter Pro-Q, WaveLab Elements
Desktop: C8.52 32bit, Win7 64bit, Focusrite Scarlett, Intel DP35DP, Core 2 Duo E6750, Intel SSD, 2x WD Raptor, 4GB Patriot RAM
Macbook: C9LE, MacBookPro (2015), 8GB RAM, OSX El Capitano, MOTU 828MKII
http://www.docmaklang.de

voxhumana
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 4:20 am
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by voxhumana »

I ran into this problem - a client records all of their demos on their iPhone which produces m4a files.

I found this neat little freeware (Windows) app:
http://www.nch.com.au/switch/index.html

It does batch conversion and apart from a splashscreen when you open the app it doesn't give you any of the spamware grief that freeware often does.
Owner/Producer - Studio Laughing Duck, Sydney Australia

Ron Garrison
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:23 pm
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by Ron Garrison »

resomedia wrote:I use TuneClone for conversion. (Most) Songs purchased on iTunes are copy protected (AAC) and can't be converted without 3rd party software. This product does great batch conversion and is quick and easy. Worth the investment if you're doing a lot.

http://mac.tuneclone.com/
This is not true anymore. Of the hundreds of songs my daughter has purchased, 3 are protected, and those were the first 3 she purchased prior to itunes selling unprotected songs. And the protected files have the file extension m4p while the non-protected files have the extension m4a, which is what the op is interested in. That being said, it could still be a good way to convert.

Ron
Cubase 6.5, Sonar 8.5, Q6700@2.66GHz, Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, MCU+2Extenders, Presonus Firepod, Tascam VL-X5.

User avatar
resomedia
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by resomedia »

For me it's still hit and miss with m4a and m4p on iTunes. It seems older and more obscure songs are still protected m4p.

Other than not being able to import m4a files directly into Cubase, it's only an extra step to right click in iTunes and convert the file(s) to whatever you want--for free. Then import.
CB Pro 9.5.21 / Elements 8 (MacBook Air) / Mac Pro 2x2 (mid-2010) 4G 8-Core / OSX 10.5 "Yosemite" / 17GB RAM / PCI-e MOTU 2408mk3, MOTU 24 I/O / MOTU USB MIDI Express 128 (2)

Lectrosoul
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:54 am
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by Lectrosoul »

2020 still no .m4a support in Cubase??

GhostNote
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: m4a files

Post by GhostNote »

Lectrosoul wrote:
Sat Aug 29, 2020 2:24 pm
2020 still no .m4a support in Cubase??
I just ran into this problem :(

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests