CC1 keeps resetting on 'Stop'

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
User avatar
richardjay
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:31 pm
Contact:

CC1 keeps resetting on 'Stop'

Post by richardjay »

My string libraries (VSL & LASS) are setup to control dynamics via CC1 (ie mezzoforte is CC1 value of 64). These are added via Score or Key Editor, but the problem is when the project is not playing CC1 goes down to zero, so everything I play at the keyboard is pianissimo !

How can I ensure that CC1 is a specific value unless a project is playing. Can't Cubase just leave CC1 at whatever the last value was ? I've tried playing with the MIDI > Chase Events preferences but it doesn't seem to help; Reset on Stop is also unchecked. Incidentally, the CC1 values are ONLY being sent by the Score & Key Editors. I thought that's why this was happening so I tried leaving my mod wheel left at a CC1 value of about 64 but still CC1 reset's to zero when I stop Cubase.
Win7 64 // P8Z77-V PRO // i7-3770 @3.4ghz // 32gb DDR3 // ATI HD5400 // Samsung SSD's // RME HDSPe AIO

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23158
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: CC1 keeps resetting on 'Stop'

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hello,

This is weird. I have no problem with this. I'm using VSL too. I'm using EWQLSO, and if I choose instrument with MOD signature, the Modulation control the Expression. I have never had problem with this.

My Reset on Stop is Off (unchecked).

Chase Events: All is On (checked), except the SysEx (unchecked).

Cubase just leave CC1 at whatever the last value was in my settings. Can you check when exactly the Cubase set the MIDI CC1 to the 0 Value? Try to use some MIDI monitor. Is it at the moment, you stop the project, Or different one?

What about different MIDI CCs? Volume (7), Pan (10), Expression (11), etc.?

Best,
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1819
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: CC1 keeps resetting on 'Stop'

Post by GargoyleStudio »

I've had a lot of trouble with this using both a VSTi and external hardware synths. I would like Steinberg to provide a check box for the CC values which get reset or chased automatically by the system. They're fixed and not assignable at the moment, and for me too, none of these setting you mention worked either, the CCs were still sent.

I found two solutions. One was to adjust the VSTi so it used a different CC number.

The other one I used (more applicable to my external hardware) was to install midiox and midiyoke, then start midiox running with a CC filter between two midiyoke ports. Then I'd start cubase and send the midi track through midiyoke -> midiox -> filter -> midoyoke -> VSTi. That got rid of it, but it's a right pita.

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, O9N, Arturia, Omnisphere]

User avatar
richardjay
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: CC1 keeps resetting on 'Stop'

Post by richardjay »

Hi Martin,

But are you using Dynamic Mapping ? If you open a completely blank project, add a dynamic (say, mf) press play and then hit stop after the dynamic does whatever CC you have assigned to Dynamic Mapping (CC1 in my case) stay where it was (the value for mf) or return to zero ?
Win7 64 // P8Z77-V PRO // i7-3770 @3.4ghz // 32gb DDR3 // ATI HD5400 // Samsung SSD's // RME HDSPe AIO

User avatar
richardjay
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: CC1 keeps resetting on 'Stop'

Post by richardjay »

GargoyleStudio wrote:I found two solutions. One was to adjust the VSTi so it used a different CC number.
Mike.
Mike - are you saying that some CC's don't get reset to zero, if used by Dynamic Mapping ? Do you happen to remember which ones ? I'm guessing it's the less common, unassigned ones ...
Win7 64 // P8Z77-V PRO // i7-3770 @3.4ghz // 32gb DDR3 // ATI HD5400 // Samsung SSD's // RME HDSPe AIO

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1819
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: CC1 keeps resetting on 'Stop'

Post by GargoyleStudio »

Sorry, I don't really remember, it was quite a long time ago and I don't have those projects handy anymore. But I do remember that it's not clear anywhere in the Cb documentation which CC values are chased and when. I personally found that both VST and external hardware sounds would change apparently randomly and I used midiox+midiyoke to investigate what the real midi messages were that Cubase was transmitting because there's no other way to see them. Once I'd found out I filtered them or changed the VSTi CC value and all was well.

I think they're always chased to zero though. Also the CC121 is transmit IIRC, which is ResetAllControllers.

But I'm not using dynamic mapping, this is just the normal Cubase response I'm talking about here.

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, O9N, Arturia, Omnisphere]

Chris Beuermann

Re: CC1 keeps resetting on 'Stop'

Post by Chris Beuermann »

Hello,

Some Controller will be set automaticly to 0, to avoid "accidents"

Every controller with the word "true" will get a reset:

false,// 0 | Bank Select | 0-127 | MSB
true,// 1 | Modulation wheel | 0-127 | MSB
true,// 2 | Breath control | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 3 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 4 | Foot controller | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 5 | Portamento time | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 6 | Data Entry | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 7 | Channel Volume (formerly Main Volume) | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 8 | Balance | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 9 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 10 | Pan | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 11 | Expression Controller | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 12 | Effect control 1 | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 13 | Effect control 2 | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 14 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 15 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
true,// 16 | General Purpose Controller #1 | 0-127 | MSB
true,// 17 | General Purpose Controller #2 | 0-127 | MSB
true,// 18 | General Purpose Controller #3 | 0-127 | MSB
true,// 19 | General Purpose Controller #4 | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 20 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 21 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 22 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 23 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 24 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 25 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 26 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 27 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 28 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 29 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 30 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 31 | Undefined | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 32 | Bank Select | 0-127 | LSB
true,// 33 | Modulation wheel | 0-127 | LSB
true,// 34 | Breath control | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 35 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
true,// 36 | Foot controller | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 37 | Portamento time | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 38 | Data entry | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 39 | Channel Volume (formerly Main Volume) | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 40 | Balance | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 41 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 42 | Pan | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 43 | Expression Controller | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 44 | Effect control 1 | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 45 | Effect control 2 | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 46 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 47 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
true,// 48 | General Purpose Controller #1 | 0-127 | LSB
true,// 49 | General Purpose Controller #2 | 0-127 | LSB
true,// 50 | General Purpose Controller #3 | 0-127 | LSB
true,// 51 | General Purpose Controller #4 | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 52 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 53 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 54 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 55 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 56 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 57 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 58 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 59 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 60 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 61 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 62 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 63 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
true,// 64 | Damper pedal on/off (Sustain) | <63=off| >64=on
true,// 65 | Portamento on/off | <63=off| >64=on
true,// 66 | Sustenuto on/off | <63=off| >64=on
true,// 67 | Soft pedal on/off | <63=off| >64=on
true,// 68 | Legato Footswitch | <63=off| >64=on
true,// 69 | Hold 2 | <63=off| >64=on
false,// 70 | Sound Controller 1 (Sound Variation) | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 71 | Sound Controller 2 (Timbre) | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 72 | Sound Controller 3 (Release Time) | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 73 | Sound Controller 4 (Attack Time) | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 74 | Sound Controller 5 (Brightness) | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 75 | Sound Controller 6 | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 76 | Sound Controller 7 | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 77 | Sound Controller 8 | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 78 | Sound Controller 9 | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 79 | Sound Controller 10 | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 80 | General Purpose Controller #5 | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 81 | General Purpose Controller #6 | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 82 | General Purpose Controller #7 | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 83 | General Purpose Controller #8 | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 84 | Portamento Control | 0-127 | Source Note
false,// 85 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 86 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 87 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 88 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 89 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 90 | Undefined | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 91 | Effects 1 Depth | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 92 | Effects 2 Depth | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 93 | Effects 3 Depth | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 94 | Effects 4 Depth | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 95 | Effects 5 Depth | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 96 | Data entry +1 | N/A
false,// 97 | Data entry -1 | N/A
false,// 98 | Non-Registered Parameter Number LSB | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 99 | Non-Registered Parameter Number MSB | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 100 | Registered Parameter Number LSB | 0-127 | LSB
false,// 101 | Registered Parameter Number MSB | 0-127 | MSB
false,// 102 | Undefined | ?
false,// 103 | Undefined | ?
false,// 104 | Undefined | ?
false,// 105 | Undefined | ?
false,// 106 | Undefined | ?
false,// 107 | Undefined | ?
false,// 108 | Undefined | ?
false,// 109 | Undefined | ?
false,// 110 | Undefined | ?
false,// 111 | Undefined | ?
false,// 112 | Undefined | ?
false,// 113 | Undefined | ?
false,// 114 | Undefined | ?
false,// 115 | Undefined | ?
false,// 116 | Undefined | ?
false,// 117 | Undefined | ?
false,// 118 | Undefined | ?
false,// 119 | Undefined | ?
false,// 120 | All Sound Off | 0
false,// 121 | Reset All Controllers | 0
false,// 122 | Local control on/off | 0=off 127=on
false,// 123 | All notes off | 0
false,// 124 | Omni mode off (+ all notes off) | 0
false,// 125 | Omni mode on (+ all notes off) | 0
false,// 126 | Poly mode on/off (+ all notes off) | **
false,// 127 | Poly mode on | 0

Cheers,

Chris

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23158
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: CC1 keeps resetting on 'Stop'

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hello,

Your problem is maybye solved in the Cubase 6.0.6 or Cubase 6.5.1 update, released today.

Best,
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
richardjay
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: CC1 keeps resetting on 'Stop'

Post by richardjay »

Chris Beuermann wrote:Hello,

Some Controller will be set automaticly to 0, to avoid "accidents"
This should be something the user can enable or disable ...
Win7 64 // P8Z77-V PRO // i7-3770 @3.4ghz // 32gb DDR3 // ATI HD5400 // Samsung SSD's // RME HDSPe AIO

User avatar
richardjay
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: CC1 keeps resetting on 'Stop'

Post by richardjay »

Martin.Jirsak wrote:Hello,

Your problem is maybye solved in the Cubase 6.0.6 or Cubase 6.5.1 update, released today[/url].

Best,
Well, it sounds like Steinberg consider it a feature rather than a bug ...
Win7 64 // P8Z77-V PRO // i7-3770 @3.4ghz // 32gb DDR3 // ATI HD5400 // Samsung SSD's // RME HDSPe AIO

User avatar
Rexxyboy
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:20 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: CC1 keeps resetting on 'Stop'

Post by Rexxyboy »

Old thread this one! I had a similar issue today with Modwheel modulation CC1 getting reset, it turned out to be midi ch 1 in East West Play wreaking the havoc. It didn't solve it but i worked around it my not using Ch1 in Play on those sessions..
Win10/ RME / Cubase Pro 10.5 / Native Instruments / Slate / Waves / Focal / Yada Yada ...

ekmusic
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2019 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: CC1 keeps resetting on 'Stop'

Post by ekmusic »

Rexxyboy wrote:
Wed Apr 22, 2020 6:30 am
Old thread this one! I had a similar issue today with Modwheel modulation CC1 getting reset, it turned out to be midi ch 1 in East West Play wreaking the havoc. It didn't solve it but i worked around it my not using Ch1 in Play on those sessions..
I wasn't sure I understand the solution.
Is there a way to solve this issue?

Thanks
DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 7820x @ 3.6GHz, RAM: 128GB DDR4, Graphics: 4GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti, RME Fireface 800&802,

User avatar
Rexxyboy
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:20 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: CC1 keeps resetting on 'Stop'

Post by Rexxyboy »

it's like i said, i stopped using midi ch 1 to EW Play in that session and the problem stopped. (changed Violins from ch1 to ch 11 instead). It's a fix rather than a solution, but this worked for me in this case.
Win10/ RME / Cubase Pro 10.5 / Native Instruments / Slate / Waves / Focal / Yada Yada ...

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests