Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
User avatar
Helge Vogt
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:43 am
Contact:

Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Helge Vogt »

Hi all,

We are sorry, but there has been an issue with the download host, leading to corrupted Installers. Users which qualify for the Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Grace Period update and have downloaded the corresponding file are not affected!

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused and we hope you'll soon enjoy the new features of the 6.5 update!

UPDATE:
All customers who purchased the update, should have received a new download link in their Asknet account by now. Please use this link to download the update!


Thanks for choosing Cubase!

Helge Vogt
Product Marketing Manager Cubase
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Helge Vogt - Team Lead Product Marketing Group
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Strophoid »

Thanks Helge, downloading now. Will report if it works when it's ready :)
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

trito
Junior Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:25 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution edited

Post by trito »

Helge,
I can not purchase but downloading (so far so good) from ftp. Would like to do the payments but how if my cart still appears to be empty?
greets

trito

shop repaired (at last :/)
Last edited by trito on Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 7 Professional (64) SP1
ACPI x64-based PC
Intel Core i7-3960X CPU @ 3.30GHz
32 GB Ram
RME Fireface 800
NVIDIA Quadro 600
SX-3, C-6, C-9.5 Pro, C-10.0.50, WL-6, WL-10 Pro

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Strophoid »

Extracting works now, haven't been this far yet :)
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Strophoid »

Yep, all working fine, cheers for the quick fix Steinberg!
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
crohde
Member
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:03 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by crohde »

Strophoid wrote:Yep, all working fine, cheers for the quick fix Steinberg!
Good to hear! :)
Thanks for your patience!
Best regards,

Carlos Rohde - Product Marketing Manager Cubase & Apps
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1974
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Puma0382 »

Oh dear...!

Downloaded new ver from ftp site (as per Helge's note).

Extraction goes ok, but at the end it stops with 'Installer has stopped working'.

Cannot proceed any further. The Steinberg_Cubase 6.5 folder created contains *.msi files, Additional Content folder etc. and a Setup.exe.

Double-clicking the Setup.exe says the same message, (that it has stopped working). The *.msi packaged files won't work, stating 'Another version of this program is already installed. Installation of this version cannot continue..'

And now I'm bored.

I've tried twice to do the unpack; rebooting in-between.

As my sig says, I am on Vista32 SP2 btw...

Any clues please..?
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20, WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

User avatar
crohde
Member
Posts: 764
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:03 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by crohde »

Puma0382 wrote:Oh dear...!

Downloaded new ver from ftp site (as per Helge's note).

Extraction goes ok, but at the end it stops with 'Installer has stopped working'.

Cannot proceed any further. The Steinberg_Cubase 6.5 folder created contains *.msi files, Additional Content folder etc. and a Setup.exe.

Double-clicking the Setup.exe says the same message, (that it has stopped working). The *.msi packaged files won't work, stating 'Another version of this program is already installed. Installation of this version cannot continue..'

And now I'm bored.

I've tried twice to do the unpack; rebooting in-between.

As my sig says, I am on Vista32 SP2 btw...

Any clues please..?

Hello Puma,
Log-in to your Asknet account and download the link again. The files on the Asknet server were just changed, it should work now for you. :)
Best regards,

Carlos Rohde - Product Marketing Manager Cubase & Apps
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1974
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Puma0382 »

crohde wrote:
Puma0382 wrote:Oh dear...!

Downloaded new ver from ftp site (as per Helge's note).

Extraction goes ok, but at the end it stops with 'Installer has stopped working'.

Cannot proceed any further. The Steinberg_Cubase 6.5 folder created contains *.msi files, Additional Content folder etc. and a Setup.exe.

Double-clicking the Setup.exe says the same message, (that it has stopped working). The *.msi packaged files won't work, stating 'Another version of this program is already installed. Installation of this version cannot continue..'

And now I'm bored.

I've tried twice to do the unpack; rebooting in-between.

As my sig says, I am on Vista32 SP2 btw...

Any clues please..?

Hello Puma,
Log-in to your Asknet account and download the link again. The files on the Asknet server were just changed, it should work now for you. :)
Hmmm... ok, well thanks for that. I'll give it a go. But how does this relate to Helge's new 'link' (to the ftp site download), which is what I am trying..? Just curious...
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20, WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

User avatar
Helge Vogt
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Helge Vogt »

Puma0382 wrote:
crohde wrote:
Puma0382 wrote:Oh dear...!

Downloaded new ver from ftp site (as per Helge's note).

Extraction goes ok, but at the end it stops with 'Installer has stopped working'.

Cannot proceed any further. The Steinberg_Cubase 6.5 folder created contains *.msi files, Additional Content folder etc. and a Setup.exe.

Double-clicking the Setup.exe says the same message, (that it has stopped working). The *.msi packaged files won't work, stating 'Another version of this program is already installed. Installation of this version cannot continue..'

And now I'm bored.

I've tried twice to do the unpack; rebooting in-between.

As my sig says, I am on Vista32 SP2 btw...

Any clues please..?

Hello Puma,
Log-in to your Asknet account and download the link again. The files on the Asknet server were just changed, it should work now for you. :)
Hmmm... ok, well thanks for that. I'll give it a go. But how does this relate to Helge's new 'link' (to the ftp site download), which is what I am trying..? Just curious...
I'll update the post in a minute to reflect just that :)

Cheers,
Helge
Helge Vogt - Team Lead Product Marketing Group
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1974
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Puma0382 »

My point being, I've got the problem ('installer has stopped working') with the file at the ftp site link; is it going to be the same file at the AskNet site..?!? (which i am trying to d/load now.)
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20, WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

User avatar
Helge Vogt
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Helge Vogt »

Puma0382 wrote:My point being, I've got the problem ('installer has stopped working') with the file at the ftp site link; is it going to be the same file at the AskNet site..?!? (which i am trying to d/load now.)
No, your download was interrupted before it was finished. Please check your Asknet account for a new download link or re-download from the ftp (though Asknet is faster).

Best,
Helge
Helge Vogt - Team Lead Product Marketing Group
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1974
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Puma0382 »

Helge Vogt wrote:
Puma0382 wrote:My point being, I've got the problem ('installer has stopped working') with the file at the ftp site link; is it going to be the same file at the AskNet site..?!? (which i am trying to d/load now.)
No, your download was interrupted before it was finished. Please check your Asknet account for a new download link or re-download from the ftp (though Asknet is faster).

Best,
Helge
Hi Helge - no, sorry. Both times the file fully d/loaded ok (758,243 Kb). From the ftp site, or just now from AskNET. Then, the unpacking/extraction got to the end of its process and then the (Windows) message 'Setup has stopped working'. I hit the 'view details' button and it says Setup.exe has crashed.

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Setup.exe
Application Version: 2.0.1.0
Application Timestamp: 4f31103a
Fault Module Name: KERNEL32.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.0.6002.18005
Fault Module Timestamp: 49e037dd
Exception Code: e0434f4d
Exception Offset: 0003fbae
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
Locale ID: 2057

Thanks in anticipation of any more clues you may have... :(
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20, WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

Guest

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Guest »

Is is safe to download from the link provided at time of purchase (about 2 minutes ago 11:50 am EST) or is the ftp link still recommended for Mac OXS?

Best regards,

Wally
________________Edited Message________________
It is safe!!!

I downloaded the Mac OSX installer from the link provided at time of purchase. No problems opening the installer and no problems with VST Performance etc so far :mrgreen:

i5 MacBook Pro 8GB RAM OSX 10.7.3

:arrow: More to follow this evening.
Last edited by Guest on Wed Feb 29, 2012 6:33 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Helge Vogt
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Helge Vogt »

Hi Puma,
please try running the Installer as an Administrator by right-clicking and selecting "Run as Administrator". Does it help?

Cheers,
Helge
Helge Vogt - Team Lead Product Marketing Group
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1974
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Puma0382 »

Helge Vogt wrote:Hi Puma,
please try running the Installer as an Administrator by right-clicking and selecting "Run as Administrator". Does it help?

Cheers,
Helge
Trying now..!

EDIT:- no, still crashes at end of extraction/unpacking..! Do you have a Vista box with C6.0.5 around anywhere perhaps, you could try this on..? Also, I have a thread open, for others to post their results on Vista32 in the main forum. I know its not supported, but C6.0.5 is perfectly fine...
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20, WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

User avatar
Helge Vogt
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Helge Vogt »

Puma0382 wrote:
Helge Vogt wrote:Hi Puma,
please try running the Installer as an Administrator by right-clicking and selecting "Run as Administrator". Does it help?

Cheers,
Helge
Trying now..!

EDIT:- no, still crashes at end of extraction/unpacking..! Do you have a Vista box with C6.0.5 around anywhere perhaps, you could try this on..? Also, I have a thread open, for others to post their results on Vista32 in the main forum. I know its not supported, but C6.0.5 is perfectly fine...
Ok, we can have a look at it tomorrow. We really need a break for today.

Cheers,
Helge
Helge Vogt - Team Lead Product Marketing Group
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1974
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Puma0382 »

Helge Vogt wrote:
Puma0382 wrote:
Helge Vogt wrote:Hi Puma,
please try running the Installer as an Administrator by right-clicking and selecting "Run as Administrator". Does it help?

Cheers,
Helge
Trying now..!

EDIT:- no, still crashes at end of extraction/unpacking..! Do you have a Vista box with C6.0.5 around anywhere perhaps, you could try this on..? Also, I have a thread open, for others to post their results on Vista32 in the main forum. I know its not supported, but C6.0.5 is perfectly fine...
Ok, we can have a look at it tomorrow. We really need a break for today.

Cheers,
Helge
Of course...! Thanks for your time so far Helge.
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20, WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

unifaun
Member
Posts: 290
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:46 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by unifaun »

Mac version can't be installed, the update does not find a valid Cubase 6 installation.

I have already installed the latest elc driver! OS X 10.6.8
MBP 15", i7 quad core 2,3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, OS X 10.14.6
Cubase Pro 10.0.60
PreSonus StudioLive 16.0.2 (studio+live)
PreSonus iOne (mobile)
Core audio (more mobile)
Nord Stage 3 compact
Roland TD-11KVSE

Guest

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Guest »

unifaun,

From where did you install the update? From the Shop or the ftp site?

I ended up downloading both, but the one from the Shop finished first so that the one I installed.

I did have to enter the activation code in the ELC. Did you go through that step?

User avatar
quantize
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 12:29 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by quantize »

zero problem updating from 6.0.5 to 6.5 in Mac OSX 10.6.8
Cubase 10.5 / Pro Tools 18 / HALion 6 / Reason 11
Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon (32GB Ram) OSX 10.13.6
UAD Apollo Quad, Motu 828 mkII & mk3 / Avid Artist Control / Blackmagic Intensity Pro

Michel Joly
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:30 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Michel Joly »

I download the installer from this link:
ftp://downloadreplacement:sorryforinconvenience @ ftp.steinberg.net and also from the shop
Always the same error message:
set-up has stopped working "
I uninstalled Cubase 6 and I installed it again, then the 6.05 update and everything went well.
I tried installing the Upd 6.5, again error message "set up has stopped working".
Unable to install the update cubase6.5
Win7 64 bit

savadious
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 3:14 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by savadious »

Puma0382 wrote:
Helge Vogt wrote:Hi Puma,
please try running the Installer as an Administrator by right-clicking and selecting "Run as Administrator". Does it help?

Cheers,
Helge
Trying now..!

EDIT:- no, still crashes at end of extraction/unpacking..! Do you have a Vista box with C6.0.5 around anywhere perhaps, you could try this on..? Also, I have a thread open, for others to post their results on Vista32 in the main forum. I know its not supported, but C6.0.5 is perfectly fine...

I had a viruschecker prevent a rare file or 2 from completing.
May be worth stopping it for the 1 download.
-
Free 2gig online music data storage account here ---> http://db.tt/vbuo2sX Great FREEbie. Cubase Pro | Windows 10 x64 | Maschine Studio | Maschine Jam | Komplete Kontrol S88 | Komplete Kontrol S61 | Studio Logic SL990xp | Komplete Ultimate 11 | CC121 | Steinberg UR242 | Hatsune Miku | RIG Urban Workstation | Shreddage 2 | iMaschine iOS app | Cubasis on iPad pro (for remote gigs)

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1974
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Puma0382 »

Michel Joly wrote:I download the installer from this link:
ftp://downloadreplacement:sorryforinconvenience @ ftp.steinberg.net and also from the shop
Always the same error message:
set-up has stopped working "
I uninstalled Cubase 6 and I installed it again, then the 6.05 update and everything went well.
I tried installing the Upd 6.5, again error message "set up has stopped working".
Unable to install the update cubase6.5
Win7 64 bit
Ah..! Someone else who has this same issue; though as you've seen I'm on Vista32...

I have to get to work now; wont be back til tea-time/early eve. I hope Helge and SB colleagues can find some things to try and resolve the matter for us Michel...

Bob

PS :- @Savadious, thanks for your input. Though I don't think this can be the cause. I've reported the actual file size I've got when fully downloaded and there is no dispute from SB at this point.
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20, WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

Rocksteady
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:09 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Artist 6.5 / PadShop Installer solution

Post by Rocksteady »

I downloaded the new installer from the ftp and tried to install it again but it still doesn't work.
What is 'error code 1603'?? Someone plz tell me how can i fix it..
I'm using win7 64bit

Locked

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests