Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 update available

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Guest

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by Guest » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:37 pm

I agree, the fact is that they are not 20-30-40 or 50 € the fact is that not finding the right that for 2 synths and two changes (that ultimately did not work miracles) still needs to pay for those who bought a version 6.0. Now they charge, then to version 7.0 of course they still have to pay € 50 + 50 = 100. Almost two update, here it is as if you could sell a new sequencer .. regardless of who buys the sequencer, starting from 0 ... More than 500 € all over .. It 's true, no one agrees to buy a music sequencer, but then we must not come and complain if people prefer to use and using cracked versions .. greetings

The Oracle
Junior Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: Frankfurt
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by The Oracle » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:45 pm

Efrem wrote: It 's true, no one agrees to buy a music sequencer, but then we must not come and complain if people prefer to use and using cracked versions .. greetings
What an "interesting" conclusion...

Guest

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by Guest » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:47 pm

Efrem wrote:but then we must not come and complain if people prefer to use and using cracked versions ..
Who would use such rubbish?

I installed Cubase Studio 5 on Vista, which is supposedly fully supported and yet it runs in compatibility mode. :cry:

With Cubase Elements 6 I am having zero issues so I can only imagine 6.06 would work a treat.
Last edited by Guest on Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

E.J. Live!
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 7:08 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by E.J. Live! » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:47 pm

The Oracle wrote: 64-bit rewire: yes
lanes issues: I don't know
Exactly my point.

Steinberg: "hey, we're gonna give you this great new feature with lanes for the low low price of...!"

Lemmings: "Yeahhhhhhhhhhh! Here's the bread but can you also address such-and-such previous issue?"

Steinberg: "Oh sureeeeeee. Just drop the cash here and we'll get right on that."

Lemmings: "Okay!"

Lemmings: "Hey, you know that shiney new feature you sold me? Well, it doesn't work. Can you fix it?"

Steinberg: "Hey you know that feature you wanted fixed? Well hey, we (mostly) fixed it...but we threw it in with a really MAJOR update so now we need you to drop a little more bread for it." (nodding head)

Lemmings: "What?"

Steinberg: "Yeah, we rolled it up with some other bull$#!+ that you had no idea you would want and..."

Lemming: "...but I don't want it, I just want that first thing we agreed...."

Steinberg: "...I know, I know. This one is really worth the cost. I know it's only been not quite 6 months since you bought that last upgrade and you bought it because we were fixing some other stuff from the last upgrade and selling you some new stuff that we still haven't actually provided BUT I promise it will be in this next PAID upgrade." (nodding head again with a grin)

Lemmings: "Huh?"

Steinberg: "You want it or not?"

Lemmings: "But, but..."

Steinberg: "Well?"

Lemmings: "But I just..."

Steinberg: "WELL?! Just WHAT? You want it or don't you?"

Lemmings: :? :cry: :( :roll: :shock: :o :oops: :?: :? :| "Can I just get that thing that we originally talked about and we can call it square?"

Steinberg: "What? What thing? The SX thing or the 3, 4 or 5 thing?"

Lemming: "Yes." :oops:
Last edited by E.J. Live! on Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Guest

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by Guest » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:50 pm

EJ

Are you talking about take comping?

Is that not included in 6.06?

User avatar
The dman
Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by The dman » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:50 pm

Bredo wrote:
Me myself is mostly on my toes for a fixed Lanes/Comping feature, so I must likely shell out :-)
Same here and I think your going to like the comping. So far from what I can tell it merges the best of V5 and V6 nicely. Mind you I only tested it and haven't used it in the trenches but so far it's looking good.
Cubase 8.5.15 x64 Windows 10 Home
ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3/ i72600k / G.SKILL Ripjaw (4 x 4GB)/SeaSonic X750 Gold PSU/ RME HDSP 9652 / UAD2Quad// Alphatrack/ Alesis HD24XR

http://www.woodstockschoolofmusic.com/

http://www.davedaltonmusic.com

E.J. Live!
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 7:08 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by E.J. Live! » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:54 pm

cubasepadawan wrote:EJ

Are you talking about take comping?

Is that not included in 6.06?
We don't know yet. Maybe they say it is...and maybe they don't. We don't know. Maybe they say but it's not. Who knows.

Guest

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by Guest » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:55 pm

Only a pre-announcement exists at this time.
Last edited by Guest on Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by JMCecil » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:59 pm

The dman wrote:
Bredo wrote:
Me myself is mostly on my toes for a fixed Lanes/Comping feature, so I must likely shell out :-)
Same here and I think your going to like the comping. So far from what I can tell it merges the best of V5 and V6 nicely. Mind you I only tested it and haven't used it in the trenches but so far it's looking good.
Won't be testing till much later now. Big question I have is "does it kill your existing comp if you start a new set of takes?
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
The dman
Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by The dman » Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:04 am

JMCecil wrote:
The dman wrote:
Bredo wrote:
Me myself is mostly on my toes for a fixed Lanes/Comping feature, so I must likely shell out :-)
Same here and I think your going to like the comping. So far from what I can tell it merges the best of V5 and V6 nicely. Mind you I only tested it and haven't used it in the trenches but so far it's looking good.
Won't be testing till much later now. Big question I have is "does it kill your existing comp if you start a new set of takes?
They stay right where they were. . The new take takes is brought to front but if you click it with the comp tool it deactivates it and all the previous comps are still there. The select tool no longer changes the take structure

I'm talking audio not midi
Cubase 8.5.15 x64 Windows 10 Home
ASUS P8Z68-V GEN3/ i72600k / G.SKILL Ripjaw (4 x 4GB)/SeaSonic X750 Gold PSU/ RME HDSP 9652 / UAD2Quad// Alphatrack/ Alesis HD24XR

http://www.woodstockschoolofmusic.com/

http://www.davedaltonmusic.com

zeewave
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:03 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by zeewave » Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:10 am

Hello
How do I install the new 6.5 gives me an error "Error in cubase 64bit . Unrecoverable error during installation. Error code 1603. And not updated.

Any solution?
Last edited by zeewave on Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
A.j.
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by A.j. » Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:22 am

I haven't tried C6.5 yet, but have been closely following it's release.

Regarding comping in C6.5, it appears the established pre-C6.0 comping method - which only recently went away with C6 - has returned and is the default method again. Meanwhile, the different comping workflow introduced with C6.0.0 has been moved to a "comp" tool on the toolbar - and is now optional.

So essentially, 6.5 lets users use either method - with the pre-C6 method default and the 6.0.0 technique now optional.

Again, I haven't tried it yet. But that's what early adopters are reporting.

And yes, from a user standpoint, I too feel this change should be part of the upcoming 6.0.6 free-to-existing-users update. I kind of expect it will be. Otherwise this may become a bit of a customer service faux pas for Steinberg, as some will feel that resurrecting the previously removed comping work flow in 6.5 - and even making it the default - is as close to a mea culpa as we get in the software biz.

A
Last edited by A.j. on Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
+ listen to druckmanbros (100% Cubase tracked/mixed): http://www.youtube.com/user/druckmanbros
Intel Quad/Win7pro 64 bit /8GB/Cubase 8.5.2 64-bit/RME 9652 HDSP/SSL AlphaLink MADI AX

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by JMCecil » Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:34 am

The dman wrote: They stay right where they were. . The new take takes is brought to front but if you click it with the comp tool it deactivates it and all the previous comps are still there. The select tool no longer changes the take structure
that's encouraging.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2527
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by Arjan P » Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:01 am

A.j. wrote:I too hope this will be part of the 6.06 free-to-existing-users update.
Looks like the 'new' comping won't be in 6.06:
1. It's not mentioned in the pre-release announcement of 6.06.
2. It's prominently part of the '6.5 New Features' document.
And from Steinberg's standpoint, the comping wasn't broken in 6.0x; it just worked quite differently (and in a new fashion) from what users had gotten used to in previous versions.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 9.5.50 | Cubase 10.0 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

rollasoc
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 8:33 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by rollasoc » Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:05 am

I'm in 2 minds with this update.

I don't mind paying from say 6 to 7. but think intermdediate verions should be free.

Saying that I was expecting Padshop to be a separate product (from the little I'd heard about it), so was thinking of getting it once it was released. So £40 isn't too much, for something I will probably use quite a lot.

So I bought a synth, got another free plus some updates to Cubase, I'm surprisingly happy!!!
www.hairthieves.com for the band stuff (indie pop rock soundtracks)
sineglidermusic.bandcamp.com/ for the instrumental stuff

arnomusicman
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 9:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by arnomusicman » Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:27 am

I am also happy with this update. 2 VSTi and some FX and other things for only € 50. That's a fair deal.
So I got it right away and buying, downloading and installing worked as a charm right away for both the 32-bit as well as the 64-bit versions.

Congrats to Steinberg for this nice update!
Computer HW: i7-980 6-core CPU, ASUS P6X58D-E Mobo, 24GB tripple channel DDR3 RAM, Samsung EVO 850 250GB+1TB SSD's, WD Caviar Black 500GB, 2x1TB HDD's, WD MyCloud 4TB network backup
Computer SW: Windows 10 home 64-bit, Steinberg Cubase Pro 9.5, WaveLab Pro 9.5, HALion 6, The Grand 3, Dark Planet, Triebwerk, Hypnotic Dance, IK Multimedia Miroslav Philharmonik 2, Arturia V Collection 5, EastWest Symphonic Choirs Expansion
Interfaces: Echo AudioFire12, MOTU Micro Lite
Controllers: Steinberg cc121, Frontier Design Tranzport
Hardware: Soundtracs Topaz Project 8 32ch inline console and lots of outboard gear (Joemeek, Drawmer, SPL etc.)
Recorders and players: Tascan 112MKII, 134 Syncaset, 238 syncaset, MD-301MKII, DA-30MKII, DV-D01U
Monitoring: Samson 120a amp, Avantone Mixcubes, Yamaha HS80M's and HS8S subwoofer and 6 AKG headphones

Guest

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by Guest » Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:50 am

Arjan P wrote:
A.j. wrote:I too hope this will be part of the 6.06 free-to-existing-users update.
It's not mentioned in the pre-release announcement of 6.06.
It's only a pre-announcement.
rollasoc wrote:I don't mind paying from say 6 to 7. but think intermdediate verions should be free.
Steinberg would likely have to pay royalties for including FLAC support, and possibly even Rewire 64 bits as well.

User avatar
DaDa
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by DaDa » Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:48 am

Efrem wrote:Now they charge, then to version 7.0 of course they still have to pay € 50 + 50 = 100. Almost two update, here it is as if you could sell a new sequencer
:?:

I fear, we'll have to pay the usual 199,- for the 6.5 to 7 update.
( Seems they found a way to recoup the money, they lost when Apple forced them,
to lower the initial Cubase price. )

Steinberg :
How much will I have to pay for the 6.0 to 7.0 update ??
How much will I have to pay for the 6.5 to 7.0 update ??

For me there are only two ( more or less ) important improvements in 6.5.
I can't make a decision about paying for 6.5, without knowing the above ...


Jan
Intel Z87 | i5 4670K @ 4x 4,2gHz | 16gb RAM | 6850 silent | 37", 2x 24", 22" LCDs|
System SSD | 7tb Data HDs
RME RayDat | Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 | Steinberg UR 824
Win7 SP1 64bit | Cubase 8.5.20 64bit | Samplitude X3 64bit
Sony VAIO | Intel 2x 2,4 gHz | Win 7 SP1 64bit | Cubase 6.5.5
Steinberg user since Commodore

etl17
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by etl17 » Thu Mar 01, 2012 4:39 am

DaDa wrote:Steinberg :
How much will I have to pay for the 6.0 to 7.0 update ??
How much will I have to pay for the 6.5 to 7.0 update ??

For me there are only two ( more or less ) important improvements in 6.5.
I can't make a decision about paying for 6.5, without knowing the above ...

Jan
+1
Nuendo 8 / Cubase Pro 9 / Wavelab Pro 9 / Windows 10 x64 / Custom build PC 990X, 24GB RAM / RME HDSPe / UAD 2 Quad / PoCo X8 + MkII

NYC Composer
Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by NYC Composer » Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:08 am

I really wish a mod would clear up the lanes issue, whether the comping feature will be included in 6.06 or only in 6.5. It's on a lot of peoples' minds, and it would clarify things greatly.
Regards, L.J.

_______________________________________________________

C5.5 and 6.02, Mac Pro 2.8 dual quad core Harpertown with 18 Gig RAM, 4 internal SATA drives,10.6.8, UAD 1-e, plug-ins and VSTis up the wazoo, MacBook Core 2 Duo 2.4, 2 gig RAM, 10.6.7, Mac Mini slave for VE PRO, 2012 2.6 Quad, 16 gig RAM, two external SSDs, 10.85

bondsong
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:32 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by bondsong » Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:28 am

"OMF Import and Export: Start Cubase in 32-bit mode if you need to import/export OMF files.
Print functions: Use the “Export Scores” function from the menu >File >Export instead and then print the output file with e.g. Preview included in Mac OS X or start Cubase in 32-bit mode if you need to print scores.
MP3 Import and Export: Start Cubase in 32-bit mode if you need to import/export MP3 files."

Have these issues on the Mac been fixed in 6.5?

I couldn't see it anywhere on the site

Frank
Frank
__________________________________________________________________________________
Cubase 10 , Wavelab 8.5, Reason 6.5.3
OSX 10.13.6 Macbook Pro 2015, 16 gb ram, Thunderbolt Display, Apogee Element 88
Halion 5, Arturia V Collection 6, Komplete 8, Waves Mercury + Studio Classics

Guest

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by Guest » Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:36 am

NYC Composer wrote:I really wish a mod would clear up the lanes issue, whether the comping feature will be included in 6.06 or only in 6.5. It's on a lot of peoples' minds, and it would clarify things greatly.
If I know anything about Steinberg MO, judging by the 5.53 situation, this may well be the last update ie 6.5.

lacklogic
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:52 am
Contact:

Strange New Behavior in 6.5

Post by lacklogic » Thu Mar 01, 2012 6:02 am

Strange New Behavior !

When re-calling (sending the playback cursor) to a marker, using a shortcut or other method ... it for some reason moves the loop? Both the left and right cycle end points locate to the marker point, too (thus, collapsing the loop...? ) SO, in essence, the loop that was previously set goes away completely... anytime a user is recalling a playback position using markers.

I don't ever remember this being the case before? Please change it back!!!!

If I wanted to change the cycle end points, I have "cycle markers" for that! Is this something I accidentally bumped on in my preferences somehow??

I need this fixed, it is destroying my workflow. Thanks!

SW

User avatar
Shortstop
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 1:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by Shortstop » Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:04 am

cubasepadawan wrote:Steinberg would likely have to pay royalties for including FLAC support, and possibly even Rewire 64 bits as well.
FLAC is open source. Free, and no royalties.
Cubase 9.5 Pro | Win7 x64 | Asus P8P67 | i7 2700K | 16GB Ram | RME Fireface UC | UAD-2 Quad

cenk
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.5 / Cubase Artist 6.5 Update available

Post by cenk » Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:30 am

Does Cubase 6.5 contain up-coming 6.0.6 updates?
I mean if I install 6.5, will I not need to install 6.0.6 update?

Thanks.
Software: Windows 8 (64 bit), Cubase 7 (64 bit), Vienna Ensemble Pro, Steinberg VSTs, East West Play VSTs 64 bit

Hardware: Intel i7 3.4 Ghz CPU, 32GB DDR3 Memory, Steinberg/Yamaha MR816X DSP Sound Card & CC121 Controller, M-Audio Keystation, Event Reference Monitors, Rode NT2-A

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests