Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
warrenjb
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:19 pm
Contact:

Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

Post by warrenjb »

The Jackrouter driver does not show up in the Cubase Audio driver list and consequently Cubase does not show up in the Jack Control. Any guidance is appreciated.

User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
Posts: 1456
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

Post by Jarno »

From http://jackaudio.org/
Currently Jack for Windows only supports 32-bit applications, but a new version is currently being tested that supports both 32-bit and 64-bit audio applications.
Cubase 8 Pro/7/4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/Taylor/Ortega/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl/Olympic by Premier drumkits | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier

fizbin
Member
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

Post by fizbin »

Curious what you actually do with it. The only thing I could think of that I would route audio like that for is to run audio outs from Cubase to Reason while they're rewired, as rewire only lets you send audio from slave to host.

You'd then have to render/mix down in real-time cuz I don't think that audio would process in the same manner during rendering. This leaves me still thinking though that there are other methods of accomplishing the same thing, like just importing the audio into Reason, etc.

I'm not harshing on Jack Audio, I just don't get it. Enlighten me please!
Cubase 9.5 / Windows 10 / Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 / 20i18 + OctoPre variously

warrenjb
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

Post by warrenjb »

Thanks for the replies. Actually I was trying to route to Ninjam. Any alternatives to Jack that work with Cubase 64 bit?

fizbin
Member
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

Post by fizbin »

Try reaRoute, included with Reaper. It is, I believe an ASIO virtual audio cable just like jack audio. It comes with Reaper, but operates outside of Reaper as an ASIO driver. I have never used it, but would be worth a try. The demo version of Reaper is free and about 8mb to download.

During the Reaper setup/install you'll have to go into the component selection dialog and specifically check "reaRoute" or you won't get it.
Cubase 9.5 / Windows 10 / Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 / 20i18 + OctoPre variously

TabSel
Member
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

Post by TabSel »

Rearoute works well, but its channels are not multiclient, so you need one channel pair for each connection AND you need reaper to patchbay to your sound card.

Jack audio works on win7x64. You need to download the x64 package, install it, and manually regsrv32 the x64 jackrouter ASio driver (the installer only registers the x32 driver)

Set your number of channels in jackrouter.ini up to 32 (there's a bug preventing more than 32 channels)

Como Baila
Member
Posts: 631
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:54 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

Post by Como Baila »

fizbin wrote:Curious what you actually do with it. The only thing I could think of that I would route audio like that for is to run audio outs from Cubase to Reason while they're rewired, as rewire only lets you send audio from slave to host.

You'd then have to render/mix down in real-time cuz I don't think that audio would process in the same manner during rendering. This leaves me still thinking though that there are other methods of accomplishing the same thing, like just importing the audio into Reason, etc.

I'm not harshing on Jack Audio, I just don't get it. Enlighten me please!
Well, I'll admit 'I don't know Jack!' But one possible answer to your question and the foundation of mine is: it appears you can run more than one audio interface and route them through a common 'Jack ASIO' virtual device ... thereby increasing your available i/o.

Please someone, tell me that this is right!? I've been dying to resurrect my Layla24 to run along side my Multiface II and increase my analog i/o count.

So. Is anyone here successfully using Jack2 to run two differnt audio interfaces routed through to Cubase 6 32bit under Win7 x64?

Como
Win7x64 C6-32 Intel MOBO Dual Dualcore Xeon 3ghz Processors - RME Multiface II PCIe - Echo Layla24 - Mackie 824 Monitors - Mackie Controller Universal Pro - Mackie Big Knob - 2 UAD2 Quads - Novation SL 61 MK II - StudioLogic 880 Pro - Roland XV5080 - Korg Radias R - Emu CS PK-7 - MOTU Midi Timepiece AV Parallel - A Designs Pacifica - Mackie Onyx 800R - Mics - Controllers - Software - Stuff

TabSel
Member
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

Post by TabSel »

Wrong.

Try Asio4all.

Como Baila
Member
Posts: 631
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:54 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

Post by Como Baila »

TabSel wrote:Wrong.

Try Asio4all.
You sure? http://jackaudio.org/multiple_devices and http://jackaudio.org/jack_on_windows sure seem to imply that it does.

I'll check out ASIO4All ... as that would be alot simpler. But it sure is news to me that it permits integration of multiple hardware audio interfaces into a single ASIO device for Cubase.

Edit: OK, Thanks! Found this: http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/feb06/a ... sician.htm

Como
Win7x64 C6-32 Intel MOBO Dual Dualcore Xeon 3ghz Processors - RME Multiface II PCIe - Echo Layla24 - Mackie 824 Monitors - Mackie Controller Universal Pro - Mackie Big Knob - 2 UAD2 Quads - Novation SL 61 MK II - StudioLogic 880 Pro - Roland XV5080 - Korg Radias R - Emu CS PK-7 - MOTU Midi Timepiece AV Parallel - A Designs Pacifica - Mackie Onyx 800R - Mics - Controllers - Software - Stuff

warrenjb
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

Post by warrenjb »

Got Jack working with 64 bit Cubase 6 but it freezes my entire computer. Anyone experience this?

Como Baila
Member
Posts: 631
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:54 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

Post by Como Baila »

Como Baila wrote:
TabSel wrote:Wrong.

Try Asio4all.
You sure? http://jackaudio.org/multiple_devices and http://jackaudio.org/jack_on_windows sure seem to imply that it does.

I'll check out ASIO4All ... as that would be alot simpler. But it sure is news to me that it permits integration of multiple hardware audio interfaces into a single ASIO device for Cubase.

Edit: OK, Thanks! Found this: http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/feb06/a ... sician.htm

Como
Unfortunately for me, both the drivers I'd hoped to use under ASIO4All, RME and Echo, are specifically noted in the SOS article as not operating under ASIO4Most.

Grrrr ... I'm jealous at the moment of Sonar owners who can directly use multiple drivers at the same times.

Como
Win7x64 C6-32 Intel MOBO Dual Dualcore Xeon 3ghz Processors - RME Multiface II PCIe - Echo Layla24 - Mackie 824 Monitors - Mackie Controller Universal Pro - Mackie Big Knob - 2 UAD2 Quads - Novation SL 61 MK II - StudioLogic 880 Pro - Roland XV5080 - Korg Radias R - Emu CS PK-7 - MOTU Midi Timepiece AV Parallel - A Designs Pacifica - Mackie Onyx 800R - Mics - Controllers - Software - Stuff

TabSel
Member
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

Post by TabSel »

Only with Wasapi drivers... Afaik... I only use asio/jackrouter, one device only possible...

User avatar
4damind
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

Post by 4damind »

For me it doesn't work with 32Bit hosts but works with 64Bit hosts. In Cubase 64Bit the jackrouter is seen and can be selected but sound doesn't work after connect the right ports in Qjackctl. With Reaper 64Bit all works perfect, so eventually is some not proper implemented ASIO in the jackrouter.

So... no success with Cubase 6 and Jack.

Btw. I wrote to the Jack mailing list and the developer/maintainer knows about this problems and will make some other tests.

Funk Master
Junior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 9:49 pm
Location: Buxtehude
Contact:

Re: Anyone had success with Jack Audio in 64 bit Cubase 6?

Post by Funk Master »

I got it working. Let me know if anybody still needs help.
CuBase 9.5 Pro
Win 10
I7 6700k 4 x 4.2 GHz, 64 GB Ram, SSD
UR824, CMC AI, Kensington Expert Mouse
www.mastering-engineer.de

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests