When would u put effect inserts POST-FADER? Basic mixing ?'s

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
User avatar
JLiRD808
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:40 pm
Contact:

When would u put effect inserts POST-FADER? Basic mixing ?'s

Post by JLiRD808 »

Just a basic mixing question. Ive been on Cubase for awhile but am just getting more into the subtle nuances of mixing.

I always wondered why/when would u put an effect insert in the i7 or i8 slots in the channel editor. I'm thinking its more for reasons of POST-EQ but I could be wrong. Why post-fader? :?: :?: Better yet...why not MOSTLY post-fader or more post-fader slots (if I understand correctly)...there's only 2.

I know how/when/why AUX sends would be pre/post fader but why an effect insert?

Thanks for the help!!
https://soundcloud.com/jasonkasu/sets

C8.0.2 - W7 x64 - i5 3570k 4.2Ghz OC'd - 12gb DDR3 - UH-7000 - EMU 1212M - SM7B - GAP Pre 73 - HS80 - JBL LSR305 - HD-600 - Denon AH-D2000 - NI/IK/Waves Bundles

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: When would u put effect inserts POST-FADER? Basic mixing ?'s

Post by Strophoid »

I always use them for either limiters (pre-EQ you can still get the signal to clip when applying EQ boosts) and for analysers like frequency diagrams which are useful post-EQ to judge how the track will sit in the mix.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

ebryant
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:26 pm
Contact:

Re: When would u put effect inserts POST-FADER? Basic mixing ?'s

Post by ebryant »

The only times I use post-fader insert slots intentionally are for things like frequency analyzers or any other processor who's output isn't going to be affected by a varying input.

Most of the time I use them because I run out of pre-fader insert points. I wish Cubase allowed you to switch which slots are pre and which are post - it would provide more flexibility overall.

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: When would u put effect inserts POST-FADER? Basic mixing ?'s

Post by Weasel »

why/when would u put an effect insert in the i7 or i8 slots in the channel editor.
As the other two posters have suggested, pre-fader slots make the most sense with plug-ins that are dealing with dynamics...like limiters, expanders, gates, compressors, deessers...etc.

The reason is, in post fader mode, the channel fader affects the level of signal the plug-in's threshold detection circuit sees, making it near impossible to set a specific/critical threshold setting if there is to be any kind of fader movement on that channel.

Example: A gate's threshold would change as you raise and lower the fader in post mode but would not if you were in pre mode.
Another example: A compressor on the mix buss in post mode. What happens to the mix if you were to fade out? The dynamics would change as the mix drops below the threshold level of the compressor. In pre mode, this would not occur.

I agree with ebryants comment about making all the inserts pre-post switchable for more flexibilty. It is rather shortsighted to assume that you only need two pre fader insert effects slots per channel...particularly on output busses.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48GB RAM • OSX 10.14.6 • Cubase 10.5.20/Cubase 11.0.0• MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MOTU MIDI Express 128's

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

Guest

Re: When would u put effect inserts POST-FADER? Basic mixing ?'s

Post by Guest »

Hi

It is said to use the post-fader insert slots for
- maximizers
- loudness
- dithering

All other plugs are placed into the slots 1-6.


Cheers

User avatar
JLiRD808
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:40 pm
Contact:

Re: When would u put effect inserts POST-FADER? Basic mixing ?'s

Post by JLiRD808 »

Thanks everyone! I understand pretty well now....
Strophoid wrote:I always use them....for analysers like frequency diagrams which are useful post-EQ to judge how the track will sit in the mix.
I always wanted to try a freq analyzer...is there one in C6 lol that Ive nvr noticed? If not, u have a good recommendation?

THANKS!
https://soundcloud.com/jasonkasu/sets

C8.0.2 - W7 x64 - i5 3570k 4.2Ghz OC'd - 12gb DDR3 - UH-7000 - EMU 1212M - SM7B - GAP Pre 73 - HS80 - JBL LSR305 - HD-600 - Denon AH-D2000 - NI/IK/Waves Bundles

User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
Posts: 1924
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Davenport, IA USA
Contact:

Re: When would u put effect inserts POST-FADER? Basic mixing ?'s

Post by Scab Pickens »

JLiRD808 wrote:I always wanted to try a freq analyzer...is there one in C6 lol that Ive nvr noticed? If not, u have a good recommendation?
You could try this one ... can't beat the price!

http://www.bluecataudio.com/Products/Pr ... eqAnalyst/

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: When would u put effect inserts POST-FADER? Basic mixing ?'s

Post by Strophoid »

Cubase has the multiscope but I've never used it. I use Bluecat's frequency analyser, it's free and works great for both mono and stereo material. Voxengo Span is another good alternative and is free as well.

edit: Scab ninja'd me ;)
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
JLiRD808
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:40 pm
Contact:

Re: When would u put effect inserts POST-FADER? Basic mixing ?'s

Post by JLiRD808 »

NICE!!! 64bit too :mrgreen:
https://soundcloud.com/jasonkasu/sets

C8.0.2 - W7 x64 - i5 3570k 4.2Ghz OC'd - 12gb DDR3 - UH-7000 - EMU 1212M - SM7B - GAP Pre 73 - HS80 - JBL LSR305 - HD-600 - Denon AH-D2000 - NI/IK/Waves Bundles

User avatar
jditmer0
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:31 am
Contact:

Re: When would u put effect inserts POST-FADER? Basic mixing ?'s

Post by jditmer0 »

Reverb is nice on post fader if you want to automate the fader to get quiet very quickly while the long reverb continues play out (nice for transitions)
...we're slowly getting there!

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5472
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: When would u put effect inserts POST-FADER? Basic mixing ?'s

Post by svennilenni »

jditmer0 wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 11:50 pm
Reverb is nice on post fader if you want to automate the fader to get quiet very quickly while the long reverb continues play out (nice for transitions)
7 Years...
but nevertheless, a post fader insert will be silent also if the fader is automated to mute.

AliAlyousuf
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 12:43 pm
Contact:

Re: When would u put effect inserts POST-FADER? Basic mixing ?'s

Post by AliAlyousuf »

I use to use it when an artist would record and like to monitor his performance with reverb or any other effects, putting such effects in pre-fader will be entering the daw along with the audio clip, so basically its permanently recorded with reverb and your stuck with it!

While putting a reverb in post fader means, the audio was recorded and only after its recorded it get reverb on it.

Very useful but be careful since its a bit heavy on the cpu and it ruined one of my recordings where I had spikes and overloads, I ignored it and the result was having clicks and drops in the audio files permanently.
Mac Pro, 3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 Processor, Dual AMD FirePro D500-3GB VRAM, 32 GB RAM.
Cubase Pro 9, Komplete Ultimate, Heaviocity: Gravity Packs 1,2,3,4.

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5472
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: When would u put effect inserts POST-FADER? Basic mixing ?'s

Post by svennilenni »

AliAlyousuf wrote:
Fri Aug 28, 2020 6:14 pm
I use to use it when an artist would record and like to monitor his performance with reverb or any other effects, putting such effects in pre-fader will be entering the daw along with the audio clip, so basically its permanently recorded with reverb and your stuck with it!

While putting a reverb in post fader means, the audio was recorded and only after its recorded it get reverb on it.
If you´re talking about Cubase, then that is simply wrong.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests