Running SX3 on Windows 10

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
gnovah
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:39 pm
Contact:

Running SX3 on Windows 10

Post by gnovah »

Does anyone run Cubase SX3 on Windows 10? Or think that it should be possible? When I try to install it I get the message:

"There are other activated processes which disturb the installation process. Please restart the computer and repeat the installation."

I'm hoping that there are other options besides trying to do a dual boot with Windows XP, which is what I last used SX3 with. Thanks for any tips!

harrybellen11
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Running SX3 on Windows 10

Post by harrybellen11 »

I've got an issue that most of you will call it old. But it's essential for me. Till now I worked on the good old Windows XP Pro with Cubase SX3 without any problem. But with the stopping XP support I decided to get a new machine and I did. CPU AMD FX8 Core 4GHz 18MB Cahce, with 8GB RAM - runnning Windows 7 64bit. Oddly enough I can't even install Cubase SX3 on that machine. It stops right in the beginning
on a "font__.ttf" file installation! I skip installing Syncrosoft License Control in the beginning but it seems anyway that it installs it. And then after asking for Serial Number etc., it starts the Cubase installation, but soon stops on that "font__.ttf" file and "Not responding"...
Drives me mad. I spent money and effort to get that new machine and... I CAN'T use it !!
Thanks in advance Harry Bellen.

User avatar
ANeeman
Member
Posts: 355
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:30 am
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Running SX3 on Windows 10

Post by ANeeman »

I love SX3 too, but was using it last year on my very old laptop with Windows XP. I think maybe you can try to install something like VirtualHost on your new station and install there a new virtual host with Windows XP. Maybe there will be some mismatches between virtual meaning of hardware and a real one, but you will not know it while not try. It's a way like some are using Hackintosh on PC. IMHO.

I've done some compositions on SX3 and now thinking about migrate them to Cubase 9.5. Only one thing is bad. Retrologue 2 doesn't replace Monologue :( Maybe somehow we can program Retrologue to sound similar to Monologue. But it will take too much time. Not possible for now.
Cubase Pro 10.5, WaveLab Pro 10.0, Dorico Elements 3.5, HALion 6, HSO, KOMPLETE 12 U CE, Spitfire Albion ONE
UR242, MG10XU, MG12XU, CS1x, M-Audio Oxygene-25.
Windows 10 Pro, 3.4 GHz, 16 GB.
Albums: Presence (2019) | Millectrinium (2018) | Nature. Water (2017) | Oracle (2017) | Two. Midnight Talks (2015)

Kees Bouwman
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Running SX3 on Windows 10

Post by Kees Bouwman »

Hallo there, I'm working with Cubase 10 PRO with windows 10 andI have the same problem as Harrybellen has:
When I try to install SX3 or SE3 (co convert all-files to cpr-files) I got the same message:
it starts the Cubase installation, but soon stops on that "font__.ttf" file and "Not responding"... And then CUbase is not responding

Does anyone know what to do or another way to install to solve this problem?
Thanks in advance!

Codsworth
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Running SX3 on Windows 10

Post by Codsworth »

Kees Bouwman wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 9:45 pm
Hallo there, I'm working with Cubase 10 PRO with windows 10 andI have the same problem as Harrybellen has:
When I try to install SX3 or SE3 (co convert all-files to cpr-files) I got the same message:
it starts the Cubase installation, but soon stops on that "font__.ttf" file and "Not responding"... And then CUbase is not responding

Does anyone know what to do or another way to install to solve this problem?
Thanks in advance!
Hi mate, did you ever get this sorted? What did you do please?

Kind regards, Paul
Cubase Pro 10 latest build
Windows 10 64bit
Asus Z97 Pro wifi
Intel i7 4790K
16 gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400mhz
Asus Nvidia Geforce GTX 960

Codsworth
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Running SX3 on Windows 10

Post by Codsworth »

harrybellen11 wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:42 pm
I've got an issue that most of you will call it old. But it's essential for me. Till now I worked on the good old Windows XP Pro with Cubase SX3 without any problem. But with the stopping XP support I decided to get a new machine and I did. CPU AMD FX8 Core 4GHz 18MB Cahce, with 8GB RAM - runnning Windows 7 64bit. Oddly enough I can't even install Cubase SX3 on that machine. It stops right in the beginning
on a "font__.ttf" file installation! I skip installing Syncrosoft License Control in the beginning but it seems anyway that it installs it. And then after asking for Serial Number etc., it starts the Cubase installation, but soon stops on that "font__.ttf" file and "Not responding"...
Drives me mad. I spent money and effort to get that new machine and... I CAN'T use it !!
Thanks in advance Harry Bellen.
Hi there mate.

Did you ever get this sorted? What did you do please??

Regards, Paul (Codsworth)

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests